We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Reykjavik Centrum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Reykjavik Centrum to your Saves list
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Adalstraeti 16 | 101 Reykjavik, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Reykjavik
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Just nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

1st time in Iceland/Reykjavik and stayed for 2 nights at this hotel. Excellent location but to be honest,Reykjavik is so small(rather like a small town than a city) just about any other hotel is also well located in my opinion! Hire car and arrived on a Sunday so parking was free in a parking lot just around the corner. There are also places to park on the street nearby but not directly in front of the hotel.Parking charges Mon-Sat 10am to 6pm and 120 isk/hour so about £6 for the day which is incredibly reasonable,especially in Iceland as prices are sky high for most things!
Room on the 4th floor.Lift access.Some dirty looking carpets in the common areas when you exit the lift but the actual room clean(wooden floors) and well specified.And free Wi-fi! Nothing truly special or memorable about it but also no major criticisms either. Breakfast-good selection of hot and cold foods(not bad for Iceland as we later found out at other stays). Just a short walk from the MAIN street which goes through the centre of Reykjavik(full of shops and eateries,bars etc),and is situated at the base of this street. Also a short walk to the Icelandic National Museum 15-20 mins.Would happily say here again.

Room Tip: Room 414, which was looking over a quiet side alleyway/street which had an ok view and was still qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    422
    92
    23
    13
See reviews for
120
481
73
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I've stayed for 6 days. Excelent hotel, in a good place in downtown, close to the harbour and the main street of the capital. Clean, good and confortable room and delicious breakfast Excelent free wi-fi in the room. Definitely, it is a big option to stay in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The hotel's site says their rooms have minibars, 24h room service, and TVs with pay TV & Satellite TV. Tripadvisor says they are a four star hotel. The rooms don't have a minibar, and there is no 24h room service and the TVs are tiny with snowy picture quality. When asked, the receptionist said "we decided to remove minbars a while ago". "Can you please come down, we have wine here and I'm alone so can't bring anything up." So, no minibar and no 24h room service. The in-room information book still states they have a minibar "stocked with a selection of snacks and drinks" and about room service: "after 10:30pm the reception staff will take your order". When I came down to get a bottle of wine and saw they only had (expensive) 200ml bottles he commented "if you would have gotten to the bar before 11pm the bar would have still been open". Again, their website says 24h room service, their in-room info book says their cafe and bar open until 11:30pm. They're obviously free to make changes; but not updating marketing materials and even in-room materials is misleading and frustrating. Especially if the receptionist says "you can talk to the manager tomorrow if you want to complain" instead of acknowledging the unfortunate situation and dealing with it professionally. We prepaid this hotel (through a service which confirmed 4 stars) which adds to the frustration. Positive is that it's a clean, reasonable size room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed twice at the Centrum on our recent 16 day trip to Iceland. I expected it to have some interior charm as it does occupy historic buildings but this is not the case. On our arrival at around midnight the desk clerks told us we were not booked there. We of course had a voucher showing we were. It appeared the hotel had by error entered this booking by our travel firm also based in Reykjavik for July instead of June. While the clerk then told us he had a deluxe room available, there was no apology for what we believe was their error (travel firm booked more than a dozen other hotels and transfers without any errors). We were given a second floor room facing the street on a Saturday night. It was very noisy until at least 3 or 4 AM. The room was satisfactory but calling it deluxe is sort of an exaggeration. The breakfast buffet was fine but the dining room has limited seating in the busy tourist season. On our second arrival at the end of our trip, the more friendly and helpful desk staff told us due to being fully booked they had upgraded us to one of their apartments in a building next door and off the main street. While we did not need the kitchen, those staying in Reykjavik for several days might want to consider it. The apt has a nice sitting area which the deluxe rooms in the hotel do not have. The location of the hotel is great as you can walk to all areas in Reykjavik easily from there. On the other hand, on weekends as mentioned it can be noisy outside. Good restaurants are walking distance away as well. The good location should not be overlooked as we saw some hotels too far from areas of interest or restaurants to allow walking.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is higher up and not on the front especially if staying there on a weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I've stayed there for a week in May. The hotel is right in the city center, a few steps from the Parliament building. The room I had was quite nice, with a big bathroom and always spotless. I found the hotel to be pretty expensive for what they offer, but then that's quite normal for Iceland, in the high season.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We found this hotel to be very enjoyable. It is centrally located with lots of restaurants and interesting artisan shops within a short walk. The rooms were small, but clean and comfortable. Breakfast one day was tough, but that was due to a big tour bus full of particularly rude people - not the fault of the hotel. The breakfast was great. Lots of choices for every member of the family - but we aren't really picky eaters.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Great hotel at a perfect location. I stayed one week. One big complaint: The wifi never worked at my room. I had to go to the lobby to use it. That is unacceptable for a hotel that charges more than US $ 400 per night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Reykjavik Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reykjavik Centrum

Address: Adalstraeti 16 | 101 Reykjavik, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#7 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#7 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Reykjavik Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum is a new first class hotel in the heart of the city, opened on April 1st 2005. It is located on one of Reykjavik’s oldest streets, Adalstraeti, in a newly renovated building, the oldest part of which was built in 1764. On each side of it, new buildings have been constructed in the likeness of their historic predecessors. The hotel spreads over all three buildings, and is designed in the style found in Reykjavík around 1900. During its construction, the remains of a Viking longhouse from the Settlement Period were found. Among the finds excavated at the site were Iceland’s oldest human remains, dating from approximately 870 AD.The hotel has 89 rooms, each fitted with modern amenities, such as satellite TV, telephone, Internet access, mini-bar, radio, iron and board, hair dryer, safe and tea & coffee set. All rooms have en-suite bathroom with either a shower or a bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Reykjavik Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik Centrum Hotel
Reykjavik Centrum Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Reykjavik Centrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.