We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Reykjavik Centrum

Save Saved
You added Hotel Reykjavik Centrum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Adalstraeti 16 | 101 Reykjavik, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 48 hotels in Reykjavik
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Centrum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Great hotel at a perfect location. I stayed one week. One big complaint: The wifi never worked at my room. I had to go to the lobby to use it. That is unacceptable for a hotel that charges more than US $ 400 per night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    334
    371
    86
    22
    11
See reviews for
108
434
62
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We were guests at the Centrum for five nights in June. Although the rooms are a bit on the small side and lack any flat surfaces suitable for placing luggage, the beds are comfortable, and the bathroom well stocked with toiletries. Housekeeping staff kept our room immaculate. The only complaints we have is that the room got very warm and the window opened only a little bit. A fan would have been helpful. Also, we were unable to make calls from our room using a calling card. Instead we walked to a hostel a few blocks away to make our calls. The breakfast buffet doesn't begin until 7 am. The selection of food wasgood, but I would have liked a bit more fresh fruit and hotter water for tea! The bacon was always crispy and the dining room staff very cheerful. Since the dining room is a bit small, if you have places to go in the morning, get there a bit before 7:00! Because the two small chairs in our room were occupied with our bags we often sat in the comfortable lounge area on the second floor to read. Two computers were available on the first floor for checking email and printing boarding passes. The front desk staff was pleasant, but not everyone was able to answer our questions. A tourist information center is just doors away, as is a small market. The harbour area, banks, movies, grocery stores, museums, and a wide variety of excellent restaurants are all nearby. This really is a great location for exploring the city!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor have small stall showers. Try to avoid the corner room facing the street to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

carpets thruout filthy. beyond that rooms small but certainly acceptable. avoid front rooms if there's some events in the center of the city. don't try and eat quickly if there's a tour group ahead of you. it looked to me that most of the tours book here (including ours) breakfast very very ordinary and unexciting. they seem to have an aversion to getting a large enough coffee maker to take care of large groups of people. (constantly running out) coffee and tea in rooms, sugar, tea/coffee water pot. (nice) bathrooms large enough and enough hot water in the showers at any hour. like most icelandic hotels...way way too hot. be prepared. location excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed at the Centrum at the end of April 2014. We mostly only saw the night staff because we were out exploring during the day - they were very helpful and friendly and we got a lot of suggestions and general knowledge answers from them (where the laundromat is and where to get an electric converter). The Centrum is actually three buildings that were renovated and joined into one building inside with the lobby, elevator and stairs in the center building.

We did not encounter a single Icelander that did not speak understandable English.

Yes, it was hot in the room but that is to be expected of a location that heats its structures with thermal heating - so we opened the window. Our room was not overlooking the square so the nightlife noises did not keep us awake. Even at 2:00 am there were kids out in the square still skateboarding but in a country that can get 24 hour daylight in the summer and 24 hour nightime in the winter, I suppose bedtimes based on lighting would not be practical.

The do not use Euros in Iceland - they use the Icelandic Kroner - so if you don't use credit cards, you better get a hold of a lot of their cash.

If you are getting tired of the tourist souvenirs available in the historic center of Reykjavik, a five minute cab ride from the hotel is a shopping mall (Kringlan) that feels just like any other mall with a large anchor store on the end, and a food court on the other end. We never noticed any other tourists at the mall so I dont think it is something that gets pointed out - we went mostly so I could go to the Pandora store.

Our room was in the 'yellow' portion. By European standards our room was large, by North American standards it was okay. I loved the natural wood floor. The bathroom is tiny with no counter space to put your neccesities. Towels were changed daily.

I really liked the way the bedding arrangement is. We had a queen size bed with queen size fitted sheets but on top were two twin size duvets. I have never seen this before and am planning to do this at home. It is great because when 'he' rolled over, the covers did not get pulled off of me, which usually wakes me up!! Best sleep I have had in years. Awesome!

The breakfast buffet is one of the best 'european' buffets I have ever had. I definately did not walk away hungry. I will try to add buffet photos later.

There were two complimentary computers available and one printer. Unfortunately, they were still using XP so surfing is not really an option anymore with so many websites no longer supporting XP, but we were still able to print our boarding passes (after long waits for connections to finish loading)

Under the hotel is the 871+2 Settlement Museum. The site was carbon dated to the year 871, plus or minus 2 years - hence the strange name. There is a glass observation/sun roof just outside the entrance door with a view down into the dig site. The entrance is in the 'yellow' part of the building. It was an interesting little interactive display. Took us about 45 minutes to complete so it was a good little filler while we waited for one of our excursion pickups at the hotel.

Speaking of excursions - there are two larger excursion companies in Reykjavik. One is Greyline and I cant remember the name of the other one. The Greyline office is only 3 or 4 blocks away from the hotel so we used them more often because we could simply walk to the office to wait for our bus. There is nothing to buy nor any amenities at the Greyline office, just 5 or 6 plastic chairs to sit on. The other company has a store at their location where you can get hot food, snacks, water, etc.

The best excursion in my opinion is the Geysir/Gullfoss Waterfall excursion. The Geysir is fascinating to watch as it builds up a big bulge before it blows and your anticipation builds with it. The food at the Geysir restaurant was like a nice home cooked meal. The waterfall is a short 10 or 15 minute drive from the Geysir. The waterfall is very impressive and my husband and I had a lively discussion whether it is more impressive than Niagara or not - I think it is.

Our next trip to Europe with a stay in Iceland will include another stay at the Centrum.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not facing the square since Icelanders stay up all hours of the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed a week back end of May/early June. Hotel is very conveniently situated just off the main square. It combines new and old architecture very well. Our room was very good but the old TV seemed rather out of place (not that there is anything to watch!!). Staff were very pleasant and extremely helpful.
There is just one reason I would not book this hotel again, they serve whale meat in the restaurant. The only way we can stop this barbaric killing is to boycott all establishments that promote it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I was a bit put off by the name as Central Hotels in other cities do not always have the best location or reputation. This was different. Lovely looking hotel inside and out. I was concerned by the Salvation Army building across the street. Don't be...no sign of anyone for two nites. Great location for walking the city, dining and nightlife. Very accommodating staff who did all possible to find us reservations at recommended restaurants. Checking checkout was quick and easy. Room was very comfortable and had everything we needed,
..wifi, TV with satellite, hair dryer, coffee maker, fridge, iron. Tour pickups well organized. Bathroom may have been a tad small but I enjoyed size of room. Definitely noy the Hotel Centrum I thought, and yes, would go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

You are right in the middle of the town. Rooms are of average size and amenities what can be expected, nothing fancy but quite ok. There is a coffee/tea cooker. The tv is on the small side and the number of channels inferior. Sky news was the only one I could enjoy. The rooms are very warm and I could not find any regulator. Breakfast was good including both salmon and herring. The bacon was over-fried in my taste. There is a fairly large bar which never was crowded. Service was good and you could also have a meal there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Reykjavik Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reykjavik Centrum

Address: Adalstraeti 16 | 101 Reykjavik, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#7 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Reykjavik Centrum 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum is a new first class hotel in the heart of the city, opened on April 1st 2005. It is located on one of Reykjavik’s oldest streets, Adalstraeti, in a newly renovated building, the oldest part of which was built in 1764. On each side of it, new buildings have been constructed in the likeness of their historic predecessors. The hotel spreads over all three buildings, and is designed in the style found in Reykjavík around 1900. During its construction, the remains of a Viking longhouse from the Settlement Period were found. Among the finds excavated at the site were Iceland’s oldest human remains, dating from approximately 870 AD.The hotel has 89 rooms, each fitted with modern amenities, such as satellite TV, telephone, Internet access, mini-bar, radio, iron and board, hair dryer, safe and tea & coffee set. All rooms have en-suite bathroom with either a shower or a bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Reykjavik Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik Centrum Hotel
Reykjavik Centrum Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Reykjavik Centrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.