We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect hotel in Iceland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Reykjavik Centrum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Reykjavik Centrum to your Saves list
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Adalstraeti 16 | 101 Reykjavik, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Murfreesboro, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The perfect hotel in Iceland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had a wonderful two-week stay at the Centrum in September 2012. The hotel was 21st-century modern inside a old historic building that's been added on to over the years. The Centrum was spotless, the room was large and the bathroom has a heated floor! Only nit is that the shower stall was a bit small, but the bathroom overall was very nice. The hotel staff was excellent. Very nice and patient with all our questions, and even helped us with the online work needed to change a day tour. Hotel is located next to lots of good restaurants and bars; you won't need a car. The breakfast buffet is very good, but also very expensive at about $22 per person (US). Try it a couple times, then go for breakfast at the cool little supermarket four doors down; it sells coffee, doughnuts and great little sandwiches. We plan to stay at Centrum on our next trip to Iceland.

Room Tip: It seems all the rooms are good. We were in the newer extension of the building, over the Reykjavik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    489
    106
    26
    14
See reviews for
149
565
85
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
clackamas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Close to everything, it's all within a short walking distance in the center of Reyjkjavic. The room was not large, but enough for lighter travel. The corridor carpets were in need of replacing but otherwise, not complaints. The breakfast there was the best of the 7 hotels we stayed in on the tour we were on. Best part was the desk staff! we were able to check in at 9:30 am since our arrival in Iceland was early morning. Others were able to check in also.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
327 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

As far as convenience to downtown Reykjavik, there's no hotel in the area that gives you better access to the city (several others are equally good). The hotel actually spreads out into several adjoining buildings. It is modern and nicely furnished. The staff were polite and helpful -- not overly friendly but I don't require that. Rooms were nicely appointed but for the price surprisingly small. We appreciated that our room was ready in the morning when we arrived after our red-eye flight, which allowed us to securely drop off our bags before heading into the city for some exploration. I'm allergic to feathers and appreciate that our room was specially made ready for us without feather pillows or blankets. Many hotels wouldn't be so accommodating, so my thanks for this kindness. Breakfast, at an extra cost, was excellent and very recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

The location is great for exploring this fascinating city.

The hotel is close enough to walk down to the main Street, the best restaurants are on the door step- some nice cafe's are close by.

My only minor gripe was noise from outside.

Rooms facing onto the main square could do with a little more sound insulation from the outside as everynight about 5am you could hear the late night drinkers stumbling home.

It wouldn't put me off the hotel but maybe ask for a room not looking onto the square.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishpon, Israel
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We (a family of four, parents and two adults), spent two nights in the Hotel Reykjavik Centrum. It is indeed located right in the center of Reykjavik, at the square, with 2 min. walking distance from the harbor, and from the main shopping and entertainment streets of the city. Some of the best restaurants of the city are within 1-2 min. walking distance, too. The building is a piece of architecture by itself, beautifully decorated, with pleasant lobby, and spacious, and very clean rooms, en-suite and other amenities. Certainly a very good place to stay in Reykjavik. Tips: (A) Prices greatly vary, not only due to season, but to events in the city, so check in advance. (B) The hotel is fully booked in dates when Fairs, holydays, festival are held, so book well in advance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

it's a really nice hotel, center to the action. the rooms have modern amenities and the staff was extremely helpful. will come to stay here again when in town. one of the main dropoff points from the airport, so no lugging your suitcase around! the night scene is just right outside, but it's quiet enough where you can get some quality sleep. also right outside your doorstep: fiskmarkaðurinn (fish market), by far one of the best restaurants in reykjavik. i loved it there. also, as a new yorker, these icelanders really know how to drink. bars are open later than nyc, which is rare to find anywhere. try 530am!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The Centrum is close to everything that tourists might want for their vacation. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and unless people let their doors slam they are super quiet. You have to keep the windows closed at night on the weekends because of the party people but even in this area it is not much of a concern. We were on the third floor and had a room in an alcove of three rooms that were facing the street The hotel restaurants are very pricey which is the only downside, a buffet breakfast for two cost $50 Canadian (2500 ISK each) but if you are smart and load up it will last for the day and you can have a small dinner. There are grocery stores half a block up the street and within a two block radius so you can buy fruit and Skyr (yogurt?) plus muffins for an in your room breakfast. Food is very pricey everywhere in Iceland but generally well prepared. The hotel staff are not overly friendly, they don't make eye contact as you walk by the desk but if you ask them something they are quick to help and are quite polite. I highly recommend that you stay here or use it as a location guide for choosing another hotel. There is an iron and ironing board, mini fridge and safe in the room.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back would be quieter if you have concerns. Just remember that on a holiday you mostly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
CenterHotel Thingholt
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 1,033 reviews
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#2 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 stars 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#12 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 2,110 reviews
Miõborg
First Hotel Alda
First Hotel Alda
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Hotel Borg
#25 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reykjavik Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reykjavik Centrum

Address: Adalstraeti 16 | 101 Reykjavik, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#7 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#7 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Reykjavik Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum is a new first class hotel in the heart of the city, opened on April 1st 2005. It is located on one of Reykjavik’s oldest streets, Adalstraeti, in a newly renovated building, the oldest part of which was built in 1764. On each side of it, new buildings have been constructed in the likeness of their historic predecessors. The hotel spreads over all three buildings, and is designed in the style found in Reykjavík around 1900. During its construction, the remains of a Viking longhouse from the Settlement Period were found. Among the finds excavated at the site were Iceland’s oldest human remains, dating from approximately 870 AD.The hotel has 89 rooms, each fitted with modern amenities, such as satellite TV, telephone, Internet access, mini-bar, radio, iron and board, hair dryer, safe and tea & coffee set. All rooms have en-suite bathroom with either a shower or a bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Reykjavik Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik Centrum Hotel
Reykjavik Centrum Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Reykjavik Centrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.