We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Reykjavik Centrum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Reykjavik Centrum to your Saves list
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Adalstraeti 16 | 101 Reykjavik, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Reykjavik
Witney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Excellent hotel - extremely close to the cathedral and city centre. The staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. We didn't eat in the restaurant as we were out and about most of the time, but I can confirm room service was good!! If we went back we would possibly choose a room further from the front, but the noise was not excessive. Good location for some local bars and restaurants. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front do experience some noise, but nothing excessive
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    463
    99
    24
    14
See reviews for
139
520
82
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Perfect location for exploring Reykjavik and also meeting up for tours etc. The hardwood floors made it a little bit noisy from the room overhead, but otherwise very quiet and comfortable. Minor things - no shower gel in our bathroom, although shampoo, conditioner and body lotion, and no heated mirror. These were just little things, however - the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and it was very clean and cosy. The bar was very nice and the staff there too were great. We would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great location! Walking distance to the best parts of the city. My only complaint is the room had hardwood floors, which look nice, but are noisy to walk on. I could hear all movements of the people staying above me. This was a minor though. Breakfast every morning was outstanding, the staff was helpful, and overall it was a great property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wollongong
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night and it was in a great location, right in the centre of the city and easy to walk around. We did have trouble finding it so would suggest making sure you have a good map of the city and maybe printed out map and directions - once we located it all was good but coming in when it was dark was tricky. The room was very nice with the bedroom upstairs and a nice lounge downstairs. Breakfast was great and had everything you could want.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed in the Centrum for 4 nights and were really happy! We were in room 417 and found it to be extremely quiet and ideal for us. The hotel is in a fantastic, central location and had a lovely restaurant and bar. The evening meal was quite expensive but nice and breakfast was good each morning too. Ideal for your Iceland trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel is in a perfect central location for exploring Reykjavik. However, this only takes a day or two and there is not much else to do in the hotel so in my view having a car is essential. We stayed for 7 nights in November 2012 and because we had a car we were able to drive out of the city at night time between 10pm and 2am to catch a glimpse of the northern lights. We were lucky to spot them this way on three separate occasions and it was definitely worthwhile!

The hotel itself was really clean and comfortable although our room was very small. The bathroom was modern and the shower very powerful and refreshing. The reception staff are not particularly friendly or enthusiastic but the bar staff are lovely. We spent most of our evenings in the bar where the food was really good and far less expensive than the hotel restaurant. The bar is warm and cosy with a log fire - a great place to unwind after a busy day sightseeing. We tried the breakfast buffet in the restaurant on the first morning but it was really disappointing (over-priced, luke-warm and very little choice). We had breakfast each day afterwards at the little cafe attached to the supermarket a few doors down, where the fresh pastries and coffee were perfect.

Overall we found the hotel brilliantly situated for exploring Reykjavik and jumping in the car to explore further afield, but on the whole the hotel itself and facilities are rather average and I would definitely try another hotel next time, hopefully with more of a friendly character and atmosphere. That said, if you are only looking for a basic base from which to explore and you have a car, this is the ideal hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at apartment 502. What we were not told is that a restaurant uses the store room beneath the apartment. The noise from the storeroom continues until 1am in the morning with the staff moving boxes and talking loudly to each other. You also hear the adjoining apartments shower as if it is in your apartment and the doors only close when slammed so other peoples coming and goings can keep you awake all night. Definitely not for light sleepers....only for those who can sleep through anything. Pity as it is nicely furnished in a perfect location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Reykjavik Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reykjavik Centrum

Address: Adalstraeti 16 | 101 Reykjavik, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#7 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Reykjavik Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum is a new first class hotel in the heart of the city, opened on April 1st 2005. It is located on one of Reykjavik’s oldest streets, Adalstraeti, in a newly renovated building, the oldest part of which was built in 1764. On each side of it, new buildings have been constructed in the likeness of their historic predecessors. The hotel spreads over all three buildings, and is designed in the style found in Reykjavík around 1900. During its construction, the remains of a Viking longhouse from the Settlement Period were found. Among the finds excavated at the site were Iceland’s oldest human remains, dating from approximately 870 AD.The hotel has 89 rooms, each fitted with modern amenities, such as satellite TV, telephone, Internet access, mini-bar, radio, iron and board, hair dryer, safe and tea & coffee set. All rooms have en-suite bathroom with either a shower or a bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Reykjavik Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik Centrum Hotel
Reykjavik Centrum Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Reykjavik Centrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.