We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great indoor and outdoor thermal pools and spas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laugardalur Park

Laugardalur Park
Engjavegur, Reykjavik, Iceland
Improve this listing
Visit Laugardalur Park like an insider
Top Rated
$27*
and up
City Sightseeing Reykjavik Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #27 of 151 things to do in Reykjavik
Attraction details
Colorado Springs
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great indoor and outdoor thermal pools and spas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We only went to the pool portion of the park one morning. It is nice to have lockers controlled by wristbands so you don't have to bring a lock. We swam in the outdoor pools and hot tub-hopped and enjoyed listening to 'Of Monsters and Men' recordings playing during a exer-swim class in the pool next to us. It may have been 32F outside, but we were comfortable walking from place to place outdoors, and the walking surface is rubberized and non-slippery so that helped too. Very inexpensive, too.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    44
    12
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

A lovely place with nice staff and giant play park! We visited in October, which probably wasn't the best time to see the botanical garden to be completely honest, but it was a lovely walk anyway and I'm sure it will be beautiful in Spring/Summer. The animal 'zoo' was quite basic, but also very cute, they had seals which was a lovely surprise and we got to see them being fed. They also had reindeer and Arctic Foxes which were beautiful. However the best thing had to be the play area which is fantastic, it was completely quiet when we were there so as two grown adults we couldn't resist having a play on the fantastic pirate ship! Kids will love it!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A great way to start the day.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

£2.50 to access the pool. You must shower naked before entering the pool. Lying in the 38 degree pool, in the pitch black morning -12 air temp watching the steam cross over the moon, is just a great way to start your day.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Queensferry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Juxtaposition of Ice with Heat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Absolute must visit. My friend wasn't so keen on this idea, initially. Having seen articles many, many years ago in the national geographic, this was one of the main reasons I have always wanted to visit Iceland. I was not disappointed. I only wish I had the time to be able to return again. This really made my holiday.
Arriving by taxi, initially we went in to the wrong place as there are many complexes in the same area. While World Class spa offers a fantastic option of Spa, fitness, and other services, it only has access to the thermal pools via a couple of stairways. Their charge is based on the full width of facilities at 4900 Kr each. This does include a towel and robe but all we wanted was the pool experience so back out and round to the correct entrance.
550 Kr with a further 450 Kr for towel hire if you don't have one. Big difference.
This was an eye opening experience in many ways. Wrist band access for lockers and pool area. Large open locker and shower rooms with very specific wash instructions. Don't be shy. The rules are there to protect everyone so you will be under the watchful eye of an attendant! No footwear in locker room or outside.
Having showered and dressed in your swimwear you take a walkway out to the poolside.
It is freezing, minus 4 degrees, ice and snow lying, toes curling as you gingerly make your way out, wondering what possessed you to come? You can feel the nobbles of ice on the metal hand rails as you take your first step in to the pool.
WOW! Hot bath! Steam rising, the far edges of the pool disappearing into a mist, fogging up in the predawn. Yes, it is only after 8am and the sun is not due to rise till around 11 am. Temperature and time displays showed that although -4 degrees we were enjoying +31-34 degrees.
There are several options. A children's pool with slides, which I suspect may be better suited to warmer weather, a large fun pool, paddling pool, hot tub, a large lap pool with spectator stand. The piece de resistance; the salt water hot tub, so warm. We particularly liked this. It provided a wonderful place to converse with locals who were only too happy that we were interested in their island life, culture and history.
Free hairdryers ensure you leave without wet hair. A drink and a wee bite afterwards.
This visit truly made our holiday. I hope I will have the opportunity to revisit in the near future.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“go for the sites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had booked it with a tour that went many places. yes you have to just go there,..but with a tour. You don't want to miss some of the wonders of Iceland. You would regret it.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laugardalur Park also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Laugardalur Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laugardalur Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.