We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fron

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fron to your Saves list
Hotel Fron
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights. The hotel is perfectly placed for exploring Reykjavik by foot and all the tour operators pick up from here. The room was spotlessly clean and beds were comfy. Our room was at the front of the hotel and there was a little street noise but we were so shattered after our days out that it really made no difference to us at all. No kettle in the room but that's quite normal for Europe anyway. We took our own travel kettle.
Breakfast was continental and there was as much as you wanted although the breakfast room was quite crowded at times. The staff were all very polite and helpful and all spoke English.
An ideal location at a very reasonable price. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    486
    120
    17
    18
See reviews for
129
434
102
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

we spent sadly only 3 nights at the fron but will return .every thing was well organised ,our studio apartment was good and staff always to hand and friendly.good location ,food good cannot fault it at all .brill time ,and will return .thanks to all who made our stay very happy.

Room Tip: we had studio apartment no 206 hope to have the same next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Just got back from four nights at Fron Hotel. Brilliant location for exploring Reykjavik, easy to walk to all main attractions and local tour operators drop off & pick up at this location also.
Check in was easy and the reception staff speak fluent english, two electronic room keys were issued as well as the wifi code and a discount card for the adjacent bar. We booked one of the studio rooms and for a few pounds extra it was well worth it. Albeit there was only two of us there was plenty of room, a separate bedroom (bed was really comfy) with ample storage for clothes & bags etc, a spacious lounge with kitchen area, a small dining table & chairs as well as a sofa and chair - the electronic safe is a nice feature and saves carrying everything with you every time you go out. A microwave & hotplate were present (albeit we didn't use these but they would be ideal to cook your own snacks from the local s/market) and a fridge was stocked with soft & alcoholic drinks that weren't too badly priced - just over £3 for a bottle of beer. Our room was located in the rear of the building and as others have mentioned we had no disturbances from the high street.
The central heating in the room is plentiful and easily adjusted and the shower was great - as hot as you like with a choice of shower heads. Again as mentioned by others, yes there's an initial smell of sulphur but nothing we found offensive. The reception on the TV in the room wasn't too good but we didn't go all the way to Iceland to watch TV!
Breakfast is continental style and was plentiful, far more than we expected, there's enough to last you most of the day if you want - we found we didn't need to eat again until the evening.
We would definitely use this hotel again in preference to others in Reykjavik (some others seemed quite a distance away from the main high street when making other drops after tours etc), some of the decor may be a little tired in places but given the location and comfort we found it provides excellent value for money.
Recommended without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

a party of five of us spent a long weekend at the Fron Hotel recently. It is an ideally placed hotel on the main shopping street of Reykjavik close to the harbour area and other attractions. The hotel is small but comfortable. The rooms were in the rear block and therefore away from any noise from the street. Although previous reviewers had noticed noise from the Saturday night revellers we did not have any problem. The breakfast was buffet style in a small restaurant. There was always sufficient seating for our party, and the food was of a good standard. Fresh fruit was readily available and the fruit juice was found on the adjacent bar. The restaurant for an evening meal was not expensive and again the food was good. The reception staff were very helpful and booking trips through them was easy..
We used Gray Line for the tours and the Golden Circle Tour taking in the geysers and waterfalls was of excellent value. Pick up was from the hotel and drop off nearby within easy walking distance.
On departure we had pre booked coach travel to the airport. The departure was for 1230 and we were there on time only to find that we should have been available 30 minutes before the stated departure time and had therefore missed our bus. Another bus left an hour later and got us to the airport with sufficient time, This is a point to bear in mind. On the whole a very good trip and very good value for money.
We flew with WOW Air. The flight was excellent. The staff were delightful and friendly and there was plenty of leg room. If only other airlines were as good as this. Full marks to Wow Air.

Room Tip: Rear of hotel to avoid noise (although we heard none)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Had a great time in Reykjavik. The hotel was clean and central. The staff were very helpful and spoke excellent English. The breakfast was continental and plentiful. We went mid week and had a room at the back of the hotel so experienced no real noise. I booked via a Groupon voucher so the whole trip was really reasonable. The shower does initially smell a little of sulphur (but so does anywhere in Iceland!) but that fades. I would defiantly stay here again.....

Room Tip: Room at back, maybe second floor if you want a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Recently stayed at Hotel Fron on a trip to Reykjavik to celebrate my 30th birthday with my partner.

The best thing about the hotel was the location. Smack bang in the middle of the city with shops, restaurants, and bars all around. The reception staff were a great help to book excursions, and a shuttle back to the airport (also spoke very good English, much of Iceland did). The rooms are very basic, but no problem for a couple of nights. One issue is the smell of the water in Iceland due to the sulphur, so having a shower was not the best experience. Breakfast was poor unless you are a fan of a continental breakfast.

Overall it was a pleasant stay for 2 nights.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I stayed at Hotel Fron with my boyfriend during January. We were upgraded upon arrival and had a suite overlooking the courtyard. The room had everything we needed. The breakfast was good. It consisted of Scandinavian-style breads, sliced meat, sliced cheese, salad, cereal and yoghurt. There was also coffee and a range of teas. It was very tasty and much better than other complimentary breakfasts I have had.

On two nights' of our stay, we ate dinner in the restaurant. The portions were large and the options very basic. The price was a little more expensive than nearby restaurants, and the food was of a lower quality. But saying that, after a long day exploring, it was nice to have the option of eating at the hotel rather than having to find somewhere new. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we are glad we chose to stay here!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fron

Address: Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fron 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fron Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.