We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fron

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fron to your Saves list
Hotel Fron
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Reykjavik
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This hotel is located at an ideal location on the main shopping street. We stayed here 6 nights and have absolutely no complaints except that the wifi was slow. The hotel was a walkable distance from all the attractions in reykjavik and all the tour organizations stop there. We used iceland horizon (highly recommend!) and of course reykjavik excursions. If i went back to iceland, I would definitely want to stay here again. Great value for the below average cost of hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    488
    120
    17
    18
See reviews for
129
437
102
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We have just returned from an excellent family trip to Reykjavik. The hotel location is first class, with shops, restaurants and sights on the doorstep. The hotel staff had been very helpful when I made the booking, this continued when we arrived, booking excursions for us. Note: we added all excursions to our hotel bill and paid in one transaction at check out - saves on the current bank costs per transaction. We ended up with a great top floor apartment, 2 twins and a single room, all in the annexe across a courtyard. The apartment was just what we needed so that our family of 7 (all adults) could meet up before we went out. Breakfast was typical continental style - great yogurt, not so great coffee. The restaurant attached to the hotel served good food at reasonable cost. The fireworks on New Years Eve did not disapoint - absolutely stunning, we had a great view around the corner from the hotel, beside the main church. We plan to return to Reykjavik in the summer time as there is still so much to see and do! Loved it!!!

Room Tip: Annexe rooms across the courtyard takes you away from the noise of the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We recently spent 3 nights in Iceland to celebrate the new year and to take in the key sights on the island.
The hotel certainly didn't disappoint, very family friendly and had the best location being central to all the shops and bars in Reykjavik. It also had a very nice Scandinavian restaurant attached which did all types of food, with dishes such as fish of the day, steak, pasta burgers etc.

The room was basic, but clean and cosy, with a en suite bathroom and self catering facilities with hobb and fridge and a small mini bar inside.

The breakfast was quite basic, toast, cereals, some cold meats, boiled eggs and fruit.

The location was particular good for celebrating the new year in as it was a very short walk around the corner from the lovely Church that overlooked the bay which had a superb array of fireworks!
We had a lovely holiday and would definitely stay again! Iceland is expensive but it's beauty is well worth seeing, and a trip for New Years would be well recommended!!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were due to stay at the start of our holiday but had to be relocated due to overbooking. We were promised a good room on our return for the last four nights of our holiday and this was certainly the case! We got an apartment with separate bathroom and bedroom and with a full size fridge and studio kitchen. This really made our holiday and it was lovely to have chilled drinks to enjoy rather that always having to go out when the prices for alcohol in Iceland is that bit more expensive. As said in other reviews the hotel could not be better located - right in the middle fo the main shopping street but since our room was at the back of the property there was no noise even at the weekend. There is a cash machine a few shops away and you are also close to Sandholt Bakery (which is fabulous and sells fresh filled rolls as well as fantastic pastries and cakes) and the Bonus supermarket if you wanted to have a cheap lunch or one to take out on an excursion. The breakfast was continental but there was lots of choice and there was plenty of it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö, Skåne Län, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Nice, clean and basic hotel located in the very center of Reykjavik, with most attractions in walking distance. Good value for the price. The staff is friendly and helpful like Icelanders seem to be in general.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We had a self catering studio, it was big enough for three adults. Good location for it's price as you can walk to most attractions. Reception was helpful and good mannered. Our studio was facing the parking yard, so no problem with the noise.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is a good place to stay. It is very close to everything - on the main street. We had a problem where we'd booked a double room and the room they gave us had twin beds but after I complained they upgraded us to an apartment style room which had a kitchen and was MUCH bigger than our original room. So thanks for that!!!

The breakfast was really good I think, bread, cereal, tea etc. Yeah it's kind of busy if you go down there at 930-10 but it opens at 630 so go down there at 7 and you'll have the pick of the tables.

The only complaint I have is that they seem to have only one person working at the reception and the line is really long to speak to someone. It seems like they should have more people working if they know they're going to be that busy.

I got them to organise my bus trip back to the airport and had no trouble.

The rooms are a bit dowdy but comfortable and suitable. It's a bargain definitely! #

Our room was at the back so had no trouble with noise.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fron

Address: Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fron 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fron Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.