We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fron

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fron to your Saves list
Hotel Fron
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Superb central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had a studio apartment at the rear of the hotel, lovely and quiet. Adequate kitchenette, sofa and easy chairs, plus dining table and chairs. Would have preferred a kettle to coffee percolator, we used the microwave to heat water instead. Well stocked continental breakfast included in attached restaurant. The restaurant is a separate business to the hotel so meals cannot be billed to your room. Most sights within easy walking distance; the main street stays clear of snow and ice due to underground heating.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    591
    139
    19
    20
See reviews for
146
530
113
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Thank you Helga and all the staff at the Fron for making our trip very enjoyable. We paid before we left UK an upgrade to a studio in a quiet apartment at the rear and it was well worth it in our experience. The staff were fantastic and acted as a tour guide also, letting us know also when a trip was confirmed and generally being as helpful as possible. I travelled with my mother 83 and the location was superb.

Room Tip: Quiet blue building at back, book if possible, studio bedroom with living area (includes small kitch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I was able to get a great rate for a 'studio apartment' -- really, a North Amerian-sized hotel room with a kitchenette but it worked for my purposes. The hotel is located on the main street and is close to pretty much everything. (The Reykjavik city centre is relatively small so most sights are within walking distance.) With the exception of one individual, I found all the hotel staff quite friendly and hotel. Some reviews complain about the breakfast but it's just fine -- standard Northern European cold spread, with yogurt, cereal, bread, cheese, etc. It's true that the decor in the rooms is a little dated but everything is clean, functional and comfortable so this didn't bother me terribly.

Overall, I'd say my experience here was fine. No real problems to speak of, good value for the money and truly an excellent location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

A very nice hotel in a busy shopping street with a pleasant walk to the harbor and many places of interest. Nice, clean, well-appointed, the staff are friendly and always ready to help fretful tourists out. My room was a reasonable size, the bed was twin, but comfortable, and since my window overlooked the courtyard, it was quiet, too. It also overlooked an outside staircase, but I just didn’t care much. I came there to see Iceland, not to be cooped up in a hotel room, so I closed the blinds and paid no attention to people passing by my window.
I would imagine that for older people, opening and closing the windows to let in some fresh air might be somewhat difficult because they are quite high up, though. Maybe I missed an easy way of operating them.
Their breakfast is a selection of breads, cold cuts, cereals, and fruits, and the space is a bit too tight for the large number of hotel guests, but the cold breakfast and the small space are my two gripes, and they didn’t spoil the overall impression. In the evenings, the same space serves as a restaurant, and a wonderful restaurant it is, too. Their lamb is out of this world, truly. All in all, I found Fron a very nice place to stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Great hotel in a great location. Close to everything you could need - shops, restaurants etc. Friendly and helpful staff who could not have tried harder to help. Breakfast was good, with a great selection of food and drink.

Room Tip: Had a room at the front of the hotel. Although a 'main' road there was very little noise, no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Amazing location - right on the main street in REYK
The room wasnt that great looking, old bathroom, old kitchen, old couhces, old bed, but hey it did the job for our one night stay here.

It was good enough but i would probably stay somewhere nicer for $10-50 more.

The breakfast was the worst of the three hotels we stayed at in Iceland, so we ended up eating one egg toast and jam and then buying some subway sandwiches afterward. Based on the cost of food alone in iceland i would stay at a more expensive hotel so you can get filled up and avoid having to eat out at least one time in the day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

stayed November 2013 with son and his wife. We had our own entrance to two rooms 103/104 at the rear of the Hotel and had to go through a small courtyard to the breakfast room. Room 104 was slightly larger with a small seating area which we shared, their room was more up to date than ours.better bathroom and .décor. our room lacked a bathroom shelf or hooks (small criticism) The beds were comfortable the water was red hot and the rooms were very warm in fact we had to turn down the heating at times. The breakfast was included and consisted of cereals ,yogurts, boiled eggs, cheese fruit bread or toast and jam. this was always fresh and the coffee was hot. Breakfast room was a little small and could get crowded if everyone was going out on tours at the same time. We found the staff to be pleasant and helpful .The Hotel is situated on the main street where there are many restaurants bars and shops (If only they weren't so EXPENSIVE) it is possible to eat in the Hotel in the evening which we did twice when we were going out to search for the NORTHERN LlGHTS But as we only had soup I cannot really comment. I have rated the Hotel 4 stars because I thought it was better than a three for location and comfort but if you want swish décor and style then this is not for you this is definitely a cosy comfort place.

,

Room Tip: weekends can get noisy so ask for a room at the rear of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fron

Address: Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Reykjavik
#17 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fron 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Fron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fron Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.