We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean,great location ,would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fron

Save Saved
You added Hotel Fron to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Fron
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 48 hotels in Reykjavik
Chippenham UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Clean,great location ,would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The hotel is perfectly situated on a vibrant shopping street which leads down to the harbour. I was most impressed with the room which was a studio at the front of the building. It was very clean and really well presented. The breakfast is adequate and the restaurant has a fantastic soup each evening which was lovely to have coming in from the cold after a few drinks. I recommend trying a glass of stroh served in hot water. It will warm your cockles and help you sleep like a baby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    236
    361
    93
    13
    13
See reviews for
92
316
74
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East kilbride,Scotland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights with my 14 year old daughter, Booked through Touris, great location, right in centre of town could walk to everywhere, twin room at front of hotel,had read reviews about the noise at weekends so bought earplugs. However didn't need them, yes it was a bit noisy but was so tired after out late hunting northern lights didn't wake me up. And yes did see them on second night. Good size room, beds really comfy, couldn't get my daughter out of bed in morning!. clean smart bathroom with great power shower. Only complaint was no kettle in room . Mini bar big enough to put own drinks in. Breakfast usual cold meats, cheese yoghurts etc, long queue for one toaster. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Our flight didn't leave until very late so booked a late checkout until 6pm for only 3000 kroner which was a godsend as on the last day the weather was very wet and windy and didn't have to wander about in the wet. Would recommend definitely. also ate in restaurant one night, gave 20% discount on alcohol befor 6pm. good choice of fish and seafood at normal ocelandic prices.

Room Tip: there are self catering studios and apartments which could help keep cost down, if concerned about n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Flew in on a Sunday morning, and arrived at 6AM, 8 hours before their check-in time of 2PM. We were told our room was still occupied but we could wait until they vacated. We waited around an hour and finally got into our room, very nice. The front desk was very helpful in regards to any questions and particularly in the booking of Excursions around Reykjavik. The free breakfast is rather lacking, not too much to feast on other than some breads, cheeses, and coffee. Something a little more hearty would be nice. The rooms are very spacious, we chose the Standard Apartment. The rooms themselves are not very well insulated, making them very noisy. Even as I am writing this, I can hear the upstairs tenants shuffling around in high heels, and doors slamming throughout the Hotel all during the night.

All in all, I think we would stay here again, given it's location. But perhaps in a different room, maybe a top floor if you can suggest it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Laugavegur, perhaps a top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Calder, Scotland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

In the very heart of the city with everything close by, it can be a little noisy during weekend nights. We had a very spacious apartment, with 2 bedrooms and a third sleeping area, as well as a dining table and small kitchenette. It was warm, spotlessly clean and very flexible - a useful refuge from the storm we had one day!. Breakfast room comes under pressure at times but staff do a great job clearing tables and maintaining turnover. Reception were very helpful with any queries or issues.

Room Tip: As two couples, we found the apartment very useful as there is no public lounge area apart from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I was initially concerned as our Groupon package had filled their quota at the Radisson and as overflow we stayed at Hotel Fron. The room was clean and spacious equipped with free wifi and a functional kitchen (not that we used it). The front desk were always helpful with enquiries about tours and timings.

The hotel is situated on a popular street with plenty of shops, bars, cafes and restaurants, and as a first time visitor to Iceland, we were right in the mix, able to walk to most Reykjavik's main sites within minutes.

The complimentary Breakfast was decent, although consisted of a very European style array of cereals and cold-cuts.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We really liked this hotel right in the center of the shopping area. The staff were always very helpful and accommodating. The room was a bit tight but clean and comfortable. The breakfast which are included are in the adjoining restaurant offers a lot of variety. This is a good place to stay and we will stay here when we return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed at this property for 9 days at the end of october/november. I went for iceland airwaves. Location was perfect!!! Couldn't ask for anything more. Its a short 10 minute walk to downtown and the harbour and its on Laugavegur, the main shopping street and countless bars! I asked for a single room and was rewarded with a twin that had a small kitchen area and fridge. It had a safe in the room also! The beds were super comfy and had no problem getting to sleep. Only minor quibbles was 1, i had a ground floor room which meant i could hear the sound of peoples suitcases going across the ground but bothered..... not me. 2, it could of had a better selection of tv channels but hey....im on holiday to see iceland, not watch tv so again not bothered. I plan to go to airwaves next year and this hotel will 100% be my first port of call to stay at!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors so you dont hear the new arrival of people or people leaving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Fron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fron

Also Known As:
Fron Hotel Reykjavík
Address: Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fron 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Venere and Fastbooking so you can book your Hotel Fron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.