We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fron

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fron to your Saves list
Hotel Fron
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Reykjavik
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

this hotel has excellent location being amongst great shops restaurants. hotel very clean. nice design . beds very comfy . spent 3 nights here first night in room on front of hotel and last two on back with very basic cooking facilities. we would have rated this hotel a five but certain staff we feel were quite obnoxious. Had a problem also with safe and staff did not really take on board the problem actually were quite abrupt regarding the matter, without actually listening to us. would have liked tea making facilities in room on front as well as not provided , and had to chase staff for a kettle. have to say that most staff were ok , would stay here again though

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    488
    120
    17
    18
See reviews for
129
437
102
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights as I had a layover in Iceland and decided to just stay in Iceland for a couple nights! The hotel was tricky to find as it blends in with the shops and restaurants on the street - no parking lot unless you pay, but parking on the street is free in the evenings.
The location is amazing! Right in the middle of Reykjavik! And for being downtown, it wasn't noisy at all. (Not that Reykjavik seemed noisy at night, but for being such a downtown location, I thought I'd hear something!)
The room was booked as a double room but we were upgraded to a one bedroom apartment! Soo much space and a full kitchen! Absolutely loved it! Everything was very clean and there was a huge shower! Not the best water pressure, but good enough to get the shampoo out of my very long hair.
Breakfast in the morning was good but nothing special. Toast, meats/cheeses, cereal, etc.
The receptionist was incredibly helpful in recommending restaurants and things to do! A great restaurant nearby that we loved was called Vegamot. Ask him for directions if you're looking for a good meal! About a 3 minute walk!
I would highly recommend this hotel! Great place to stay in downtown Reykjavik!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at the beginning and one night at the end of a trip we booked through Tour.Is in October 2013. Our favorite thing was the location of the hotel which is right in the middle of town and walking distance to lots of shops, restaurants, the harbor (and the famous Hot Dog stand). Staff were very helpful and friendly in answering all our questions. Breakfast was included and was a typical European breakfast with meats, cheeses, breads, fruits, and yogurt. The first night we were in the back side of the hotel, which seemed to be older but much more spacious as we had a separate living room, kitchen area, and bedroom. The last night we were in the main building and had a fantastic view of the main street, and the rooms seemed much more modern but were smaller. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. I am not sure how much we paid as it was part of a package, but I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omagh, Co Tyrone
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were in Reykjavik for one week for our daughter's wedding, along with 8 other people. The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodated us in rooms fairly close to each other. The location is perfect - just right on the main street. The beds were so comfy and the rooms really clean. Breakfast room was a bit cramped (well it was at 9.30, maybe it would have been better a bit earlier). It was such good value for money and i would highly recommend it. Thank you to all the staff at Hotel Fron :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Our first night in Iceland. The hotel was in a terrific location - right on main street. Check in was ok and friendly - no problems. Our room was on a high floor and rear facing. The room was small, but hey we had just flown/travelled for 35 hours to get there. The bathroom and shower were small and very cramped. The bed was ok! But it gave us a place to rest up before we set off on 17 days of driving ourselves around Iceland. The food option is next to the hotel with access through from the foyer. The big downer was having hump our suitcases up narrow flights of stairs to get to our room. The lift only went so far. Being an aged person this was a challenge going up and down. Notwithstanding that the hotel offers a first class position with easy access to the test of the town. Worth the money - Yes! But we only stayed one night.

Room Tip: If you have suitcases ask for a lower, rear facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We are on a one month Iceland tour, having been here two years ago for two weeks. All our arrangements were made by Nordic Visitor as part of a self drive tour, so, we don't know the specific prices for accommodation. Nordic Visitor, in their tour packages offer three types of accommodation and we booked comfort accommodation (private bathroom, "nice" hotels & guesthouses), breakfast is always included. This will be one of many reviews for this trip.

We stayed here at the end of our one month tour of Iceland and we loved this location. We had stayed here two years ago and much preferred it to the Fosshotel Baron where we stayed on our arrival in Iceland. At the end of the trip we had been booked into the Fosshotel Baron again and asked our tour agency to move us. We stayed one night at Baron and then moved, arriving at Fron at 10am. Even though we were way early and well before check in time of 2 pm, we were given a room at 11 am. The staff are helpful and friendly, the location is outstanding, on the main street in Reykjavik, breakfast was good and generous. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just back from Reykjavik after staying for four nights at the Fron hotel. A very good trip highlighted by seeing the Northern Lights on our first try! Others with us on the evening had been for three previous nights without success. Hotel was very central and convenient for walking around the main parts of the City. Close to a good selection of restaurants and bars. Remember that Iceland is pricey to on the main street you will obviously pay more. Our twin room was at the back of hotel and very quiet. We had a coffee maker in our room which was good for boiling water for our tea! Breakfast was buffet style and plentiful. The staff at breakfast were not very friendly and if you left anything on your table to get more, they usually took it away which was very wasteful. Reception staff were very helpful. We didnt eat at the hotel, but this was an option. There was also a bar. Again we didnt use. Discount cards were available in the reception area for local restaurants.

Room Tip: I would imagine the rooms at the back are quieter as there was often a constant stream of slow movin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fron

Address: Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fron 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fron Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.