We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fron

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fron to your Saves list
Hotel Fron
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

A Friend and I are just back from 4 nights staying at Hotel Fron it is a lovely hotel right in the pedestrian part of Reykjavik. We had a room at the back so never heard any noise. When the Flybus drops you it is in a street 1 block down you think you have arrived in a terrible part of town with graffiti on all the walls but you walk through this square and into the pedestrial area and it is so different. We couldnt fault this hotel and the staff were all helpful with our trips.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    481
    118
    17
    18
See reviews for
127
429
102
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is a small boutique hotel in the fashionable 101 district. It certainly looked very nice on the internet site. Unfortunately when I got there, it seemed much smaller, darker and less opulent than the lobby would suggest. I was given a room at the back of an annex building, at the back of the main building. My room was tiny, with what looked like a child's bed. The curtains did not reach down to the windowsill, which meant that, being on the ground floor, folks outside on the patio could see into my room. The bathroom was ok, but disconcertingly, had 2 doors, one for me, and one for people outside on the corridoor, which I thought was weird. The breakfast was good, if modest. Overall I was disappointed in this hotel, which was rather expensive. The location was fantastic though, but you won't get much sleep at the front of this hotel on a weekend night.

Room Tip: Make sure you see the room before you accept it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was one of four hotels we stayed in on a recent Iceland vacation (July 2013). We stayed in one of the rooms that had a balcony overlooking the main street. We loved the view. The room was the largest of all the hotels we stayed at on the trip (all about the same price). The restroom was functional and clean. The room also included a couch, television, desk, coffee table, dining table and chairs, mini fridge, and kitchen area. More than we needed but it came in handy! The restaurant's breakfast was substantial but I would highly recommend eating lunch or dinner at the hotel restaurant. Very delicious!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Plain, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had a queen studio during our stay at the Fron. It was nice having a large room--esp. nice to have soap not gel and a bedside clock. The bathroom looked updated--I liked the having two shower heads one higher and stationery and the other lower and removable. There was also a stove, fridge, and sink. The room itself felt slightly outdated. The location is outstanding being located right on Laugavegur, the main shopping street of the city. This is pedestrianized during certain hours which can make pick ups by bus, tours, etc. more difficult. Most attractions are within walking distance. The one thing to be aware of however is that our room opened onto the street which is great during the week (when we were there). It could be an issue on weekends. the breakfast was probably the biggest minus. It was not as expansive as others we have seen and it was very crowded. That being said we did eat at the restaurant and found it quite good--if the frozen skyr dessert is on menu try it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is nice little hotel in excelent location in downtown Reykjavik. Room I had was quite small and when I wanted to change it I was told it was one of best they have and quite since others are overlooking street and club that played music all night long. So I stayed in it. Problem was LCD TV that was just too high and you could not watch it from bed but only while standing?! Breakfast was ok but rather modest. Staff were ok.

Room Tip: Aviod rooms overlooking street and especially one over music club which plays loud music all night l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

From the moment we landed we were very happy with our choice of hotel. We stayed for four days. We stayed in suite/apartment 125 which is round the back of th hotel in a new building. As per pictures the room was modern with leather sofa alarm clock and tv and free wifi access.

The kitchen had table and chairs, microwave coffee percolator, fridge washing liquid, wipe cloth, tea towel and all the utensils and pans that you will need.

We take a travel kettle as I drink tea rather than coffee.

The beds were very comfortable, it was very warm. This suite does not ave a view bout I would not let that put you off as being off the main street it was very quite.

The hotel itself is on a main and nice shopping area with 1 min walk to supermarket. I would recommend using bonus and not 1011 we shopped there first and it's much more expensive, search Thanet for grocery shopping in iceland nod you ill see I'm not he only one that thinks that lol.

Breakfast is continental, and fresh and plentiful, staff very friendly, I'd tun up early or after 8 as it can be busy, but there is a fast turnover so you won't wait long lol

We were picked up from hotel fron by busiceland which I highly recommend cheapest on the net and excellent for both th blue lagoon and golden circle tour see my reviews on this.

Getting from Keflavik we used flybus, easy to find head right as you exit you will see the kiosk, choose flybus plus if you want dropped of at hotel, they transfer you to smaller bus at the bus terminal

Whale watching in reykjavik I recommend elding it's 500 isk cheaper on on the tour I went on see 10 am 4th July on thir website or photos and video, we saw a humpback an other tour company's turned back this tour company stayed hole we ll watched and on that day was the biggest boat, offered weather suits anti sickness tablets for free no one was sick, has a cafe and is olds IAFW guidelines

In summary reykjavik awesome as was hotel fron

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Everything in town is near this hotel..walk to shops, restaurants, harbor, pond, etc. Front desk folks are extremely helpful..wakeup calls, umbrellas, confirmation of tours etc all handled with aplomb.

Hotel is on main street, but hotel has at least one building in the rear which is quieter and may have rooms larger than up front..so request that.

Hotel is also on the route of tour pickups, making it very convenient.

Room Tip: Choose room in back building, away from main street, for quiet and possibly more size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fron

Address: Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fron 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fron Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.