We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious studio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fron

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fron to your Saves list
Hotel Fron
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Stony Plain, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Spacious studio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had a queen studio during our stay at the Fron. It was nice having a large room--esp. nice to have soap not gel and a bedside clock. The bathroom looked updated--I liked the having two shower heads one higher and stationery and the other lower and removable. There was also a stove, fridge, and sink. The room itself felt slightly outdated. The location is outstanding being located right on Laugavegur, the main shopping street of the city. This is pedestrianized during certain hours which can make pick ups by bus, tours, etc. more difficult. Most attractions are within walking distance. The one thing to be aware of however is that our room opened onto the street which is great during the week (when we were there). It could be an issue on weekends. the breakfast was probably the biggest minus. It was not as expansive as others we have seen and it was very crowded. That being said we did eat at the restaurant and found it quite good--if the frozen skyr dessert is on menu try it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    604
    139
    20
    20
See reviews for
151
545
113
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is nice little hotel in excelent location in downtown Reykjavik. Room I had was quite small and when I wanted to change it I was told it was one of best they have and quite since others are overlooking street and club that played music all night long. So I stayed in it. Problem was LCD TV that was just too high and you could not watch it from bed but only while standing?! Breakfast was ok but rather modest. Staff were ok.

Room Tip: Aviod rooms overlooking street and especially one over music club which plays loud music all night l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

From the moment we landed we were very happy with our choice of hotel. We stayed for four days. We stayed in suite/apartment 125 which is round the back of th hotel in a new building. As per pictures the room was modern with leather sofa alarm clock and tv and free wifi access.

The kitchen had table and chairs, microwave coffee percolator, fridge washing liquid, wipe cloth, tea towel and all the utensils and pans that you will need.

We take a travel kettle as I drink tea rather than coffee.

The beds were very comfortable, it was very warm. This suite does not ave a view bout I would not let that put you off as being off the main street it was very quite.

The hotel itself is on a main and nice shopping area with 1 min walk to supermarket. I would recommend using bonus and not 1011 we shopped there first and it's much more expensive, search Thanet for grocery shopping in iceland nod you ill see I'm not he only one that thinks that lol.

Breakfast is continental, and fresh and plentiful, staff very friendly, I'd tun up early or after 8 as it can be busy, but there is a fast turnover so you won't wait long lol

We were picked up from hotel fron by busiceland which I highly recommend cheapest on the net and excellent for both th blue lagoon and golden circle tour see my reviews on this.

Getting from Keflavik we used flybus, easy to find head right as you exit you will see the kiosk, choose flybus plus if you want dropped of at hotel, they transfer you to smaller bus at the bus terminal

Whale watching in reykjavik I recommend elding it's 500 isk cheaper on on the tour I went on see 10 am 4th July on thir website or photos and video, we saw a humpback an other tour company's turned back this tour company stayed hole we ll watched and on that day was the biggest boat, offered weather suits anti sickness tablets for free no one was sick, has a cafe and is olds IAFW guidelines

In summary reykjavik awesome as was hotel fron

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Everything in town is near this hotel..walk to shops, restaurants, harbor, pond, etc. Front desk folks are extremely helpful..wakeup calls, umbrellas, confirmation of tours etc all handled with aplomb.

Hotel is on main street, but hotel has at least one building in the rear which is quieter and may have rooms larger than up front..so request that.

Hotel is also on the route of tour pickups, making it very convenient.

Room Tip: Choose room in back building, away from main street, for quiet and possibly more size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Hotel Fron is located in the heart of Reykjavik, along the main shopping district Laugavegur, which is chock full of some of the best restaurants and shopping around. This is an excellent location, unless one wants a a remote stay, without the yelling of party-goers and loud music on friday and weekend nights which can be faintly heard.

Facilities are excellent. All rooms comes with a mini bar, rooms have sufficient space to avoid being labelled claustrophobic as are some of the other hotels in this area, the toilets even have heaters for the towels(always nice to have warm towels after a shower), hairdryers are included. I booked a single room on one night, but was upgraded to a spacious double room for some reason. I spent another night in a single room, which this review is based on. Decor is new, and inviting.

All in all, for the price paid, this was value for money, compared to other more expensive hotels in the area, which offer much less, and make you pay more.

*secure luggage storage is also available. This is helpful for many of us who would like to spend a few days backpacking outside Reykjavik, and would like to leave the baggage behind.

For elderly folks and people with large items of luggage, you should request to have rooms that are at the same level as the lift landings. On my first night, I got a room on the third floor, but upon reaching the 3rd floor via lift, I still had to climb two flights of stairs to get to my room-- not too easy for older folks or those with extra needs.

Room Tip: For elderly folks and people with large items of luggage, you should request to have rooms that are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The location couldn't be better, the hotel is clean and has free wifi if that is important to you. Breakfast at the hotel is basic but satisfying, cheeses, tomato, cold hams, bread, cereals and fruit.
I recommend going to 'Bonus' which is just along the street and buying things for lunch and snacks, there is a kitchenette in your room which is great.
Eating out in Reykjavik can be expensive however portion sizes are large. The restaurant next to Hotel Fron (used as the breakfast room in the morning) is fantastic and I would definately recommend eating here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel's location is excellent, right on one of Reykjavik's shopping streets. Tour buses will pick you up close to the hotel. Otherwise this hotel is just average.

Reading other reviews, there seems to be different sized hotel rooms. Ours was extremely tiny. Seriously, this was the smallest hotel room we've ever seen. The bathroom was almost the same size as the room. The single beds were very narrow. Unfortunately, also the cleanliness wasn't the best. The carpet was stained and dirty, there was stuff (e.g. medicines) on the floor from the previous guest that hadn't been cleaned up. The bathroom had stains on the walls and shower doors. The worst thing was the window to the street. The windows were so dirty you couldn't see out properly - the huge bird droppings on the windows made it worse. They should seriously wash the property's windows asap.

Breakfast was typical continental breakfast. You might have to share your table with someone else, as the breakfast room is small. They will start serving breakfast at 4 am already, which is great if you have an early flight. On the third floor there is a business center. The free wifi worked really well throughout our stay.

Sleep quality isn't the best either. The walls are thin and you can hear everything from the neighbors, hallway and street. We didn't stay in the hotel during the weekend, so we didn't have noise issues from the night club next to the hotel.

The staff is courteous and helpful. Would probably though, stay in another hotel next time just because of the housekeeping problems.

Room Tip: Stay in a room far away from the street and the night club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Fron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fron

Address: Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Reykjavik
#17 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fron 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Fron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fron Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.