We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great older hotel in central location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fron

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fron to your Saves list
Hotel Fron
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Reykjavik
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great older hotel in central location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Everything in town is near this hotel..walk to shops, restaurants, harbor, pond, etc. Front desk folks are extremely helpful..wakeup calls, umbrellas, confirmation of tours etc all handled with aplomb.

Hotel is on main street, but hotel has at least one building in the rear which is quieter and may have rooms larger than up front..so request that.

Hotel is also on the route of tour pickups, making it very convenient.

Room Tip: Choose room in back building, away from main street, for quiet and possibly more size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    512
    124
    18
    18
See reviews for
136
453
103
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Hotel Fron is located in the heart of Reykjavik, along the main shopping district Laugavegur, which is chock full of some of the best restaurants and shopping around. This is an excellent location, unless one wants a a remote stay, without the yelling of party-goers and loud music on friday and weekend nights which can be faintly heard.

Facilities are excellent. All rooms comes with a mini bar, rooms have sufficient space to avoid being labelled claustrophobic as are some of the other hotels in this area, the toilets even have heaters for the towels(always nice to have warm towels after a shower), hairdryers are included. I booked a single room on one night, but was upgraded to a spacious double room for some reason. I spent another night in a single room, which this review is based on. Decor is new, and inviting.

All in all, for the price paid, this was value for money, compared to other more expensive hotels in the area, which offer much less, and make you pay more.

*secure luggage storage is also available. This is helpful for many of us who would like to spend a few days backpacking outside Reykjavik, and would like to leave the baggage behind.

For elderly folks and people with large items of luggage, you should request to have rooms that are at the same level as the lift landings. On my first night, I got a room on the third floor, but upon reaching the 3rd floor via lift, I still had to climb two flights of stairs to get to my room-- not too easy for older folks or those with extra needs.

Room Tip: For elderly folks and people with large items of luggage, you should request to have rooms that are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The location couldn't be better, the hotel is clean and has free wifi if that is important to you. Breakfast at the hotel is basic but satisfying, cheeses, tomato, cold hams, bread, cereals and fruit.
I recommend going to 'Bonus' which is just along the street and buying things for lunch and snacks, there is a kitchenette in your room which is great.
Eating out in Reykjavik can be expensive however portion sizes are large. The restaurant next to Hotel Fron (used as the breakfast room in the morning) is fantastic and I would definately recommend eating here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel's location is excellent, right on one of Reykjavik's shopping streets. Tour buses will pick you up close to the hotel. Otherwise this hotel is just average.

Reading other reviews, there seems to be different sized hotel rooms. Ours was extremely tiny. Seriously, this was the smallest hotel room we've ever seen. The bathroom was almost the same size as the room. The single beds were very narrow. Unfortunately, also the cleanliness wasn't the best. The carpet was stained and dirty, there was stuff (e.g. medicines) on the floor from the previous guest that hadn't been cleaned up. The bathroom had stains on the walls and shower doors. The worst thing was the window to the street. The windows were so dirty you couldn't see out properly - the huge bird droppings on the windows made it worse. They should seriously wash the property's windows asap.

Breakfast was typical continental breakfast. You might have to share your table with someone else, as the breakfast room is small. They will start serving breakfast at 4 am already, which is great if you have an early flight. On the third floor there is a business center. The free wifi worked really well throughout our stay.

Sleep quality isn't the best either. The walls are thin and you can hear everything from the neighbors, hallway and street. We didn't stay in the hotel during the weekend, so we didn't have noise issues from the night club next to the hotel.

The staff is courteous and helpful. Would probably though, stay in another hotel next time just because of the housekeeping problems.

Room Tip: Stay in a room far away from the street and the night club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here two nights during our stay in Iceland. We had a studio kitchenette. The price was very reasonable on booking.com. This was off the street quiet but dark. Not enough light or windows to see properly in our room. The fridge had a freezer - nice. We used the microwave for popcorn and there was a coffee maker but not needed because the coffee was great at the free breakfast. Gluten free great options for breakfast. Yogurt, fresh fruit, cheese toaster for my own bread. Beds were comfortable and rooms were decent. Two chairs and beds took up most of room. There were sitting areas throughout the floors for good reading. Nice lobby with 5-6 couches for waiting. Clean, front desk extremely helpful. Airport bus picks you up around the corner. Front desk will reserve for you. No need to stay in Keflavik for an early flight. Buses run all hours to get you there in plenty of time. Keflavik small and efficiently run airport. Lots of stores and eating places right outside the door. PARKING. You can use the meters free on the street before 10 am and after 6 pm. Ask the front desk. Plenty of parking sun night and through the week. We were not here on the weekend which I would guess parking would be harder.
I would stay here again. Bonus supermarket 2-3 blocks away.

Room Tip: Some rooms away from the street if you are here on weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Positives:
+ Centrally located, fairly easy to find and within walking distance of downtown Reykjavik and other sights (e.g. Hallgrimskirja)
+ Comfortable room and bathroom, very comfortable beds & pillows
+ Room has safe and refigerator
+ PC access on the floor and wifi access throughout
+ Helpful and friendly receptionist (well, one of them, the male receptionist was kind of rude)
+ Breakfast included - standard Icelandic (Continental) - cold cuts, cereal, toast, coffee, juice, etc.
+ One of the few hotels I stayed in in Iceland where the rooms could be darked adequately - important in summer when it does not get dark at night.
Negatives:
- Not much of a view (my room) but that was not really very important
- Off street parking available (a plus) but at an extra cost of 8 Euros

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

...that is the big plus of Hotel Fron. We stayed there for only one night after arriving in Reykjavik, so the distance to our car rental had been the main issue when choosing a hotel.

Our room has been in the backyard, so it was quite calm. The room was basic but ok and clean.

Breakfast was ok, but the room is quite small. So expect some kind of "traffic jam" at the buffet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fron

Address: Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fron 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fron Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.