We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel fron” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fron

Save Saved
You added Hotel Fron to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fron
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 47 hotels in Reykjavik
Kelso, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“hotel fron”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The location couldn't be better, the hotel is clean and has free wifi if that is important to you. Breakfast at the hotel is basic but satisfying, cheeses, tomato, cold hams, bread, cereals and fruit.
I recommend going to 'Bonus' which is just along the street and buying things for lunch and snacks, there is a kitchenette in your room which is great.
Eating out in Reykjavik can be expensive however portion sizes are large. The restaurant next to Hotel Fron (used as the breakfast room in the morning) is fantastic and I would definately recommend eating here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    260
    403
    94
    13
    15
See reviews for
106
345
86
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel's location is excellent, right on one of Reykjavik's shopping streets. Tour buses will pick you up close to the hotel. Otherwise this hotel is just average.

Reading other reviews, there seems to be different sized hotel rooms. Ours was extremely tiny. Seriously, this was the smallest hotel room we've ever seen. The bathroom was almost the same size as the room. The single beds were very narrow. Unfortunately, also the cleanliness wasn't the best. The carpet was stained and dirty, there was stuff (e.g. medicines) on the floor from the previous guest that hadn't been cleaned up. The bathroom had stains on the walls and shower doors. The worst thing was the window to the street. The windows were so dirty you couldn't see out properly - the huge bird droppings on the windows made it worse. They should seriously wash the property's windows asap.

Breakfast was typical continental breakfast. You might have to share your table with someone else, as the breakfast room is small. They will start serving breakfast at 4 am already, which is great if you have an early flight. On the third floor there is a business center. The free wifi worked really well throughout our stay.

Sleep quality isn't the best either. The walls are thin and you can hear everything from the neighbors, hallway and street. We didn't stay in the hotel during the weekend, so we didn't have noise issues from the night club next to the hotel.

The staff is courteous and helpful. Would probably though, stay in another hotel next time just because of the housekeeping problems.

Room Tip: Stay in a room far away from the street and the night club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
148 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here two nights during our stay in Iceland. We had a studio kitchenette. The price was very reasonable on booking.com. This was off the street quiet but dark. Not enough light or windows to see properly in our room. The fridge had a freezer - nice. We used the microwave for popcorn and there was a coffee maker but not needed because the coffee was great at the free breakfast. Gluten free great options for breakfast. Yogurt, fresh fruit, cheese toaster for my own bread. Beds were comfortable and rooms were decent. Two chairs and beds took up most of room. There were sitting areas throughout the floors for good reading. Nice lobby with 5-6 couches for waiting. Clean, front desk extremely helpful. Airport bus picks you up around the corner. Front desk will reserve for you. No need to stay in Keflavik for an early flight. Buses run all hours to get you there in plenty of time. Keflavik small and efficiently run airport. Lots of stores and eating places right outside the door. PARKING. You can use the meters free on the street before 10 am and after 6 pm. Ask the front desk. Plenty of parking sun night and through the week. We were not here on the weekend which I would guess parking would be harder.
I would stay here again. Bonus supermarket 2-3 blocks away.

Room Tip: Some rooms away from the street if you are here on weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Positives:
+ Centrally located, fairly easy to find and within walking distance of downtown Reykjavik and other sights (e.g. Hallgrimskirja)
+ Comfortable room and bathroom, very comfortable beds & pillows
+ Room has safe and refigerator
+ PC access on the floor and wifi access throughout
+ Helpful and friendly receptionist (well, one of them, the male receptionist was kind of rude)
+ Breakfast included - standard Icelandic (Continental) - cold cuts, cereal, toast, coffee, juice, etc.
+ One of the few hotels I stayed in in Iceland where the rooms could be darked adequately - important in summer when it does not get dark at night.
Negatives:
- Not much of a view (my room) but that was not really very important
- Off street parking available (a plus) but at an extra cost of 8 Euros

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

...that is the big plus of Hotel Fron. We stayed there for only one night after arriving in Reykjavik, so the distance to our car rental had been the main issue when choosing a hotel.

Our room has been in the backyard, so it was quite calm. The room was basic but ok and clean.

Breakfast was ok, but the room is quite small. So expect some kind of "traffic jam" at the buffet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed one night at the hotel in the beginning of our Iceland tour and paid 160 eur for a night. It was quite expensive but we wanted to stay in the middle of Reykjavik. The hotel is on the main road Laugavegur and in the most popular part of it. Our big room was in the annex building in a peaceful courtyard. The room was clean and cozy. The breakfast was simple but enough for us. Free wifi was needed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillehammer, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a very central location. The rooms are OK and the service adequate. The breakfast was however quite lousy. Nice bakery close by. Cleanliness of hotel is good, but carpets on the floors is not preferrable.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Fron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fron

Address: Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fron 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Fron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fron Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.