We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't get any better if you want to be in the heart of Reykjavik.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fron

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fron to your Saves list
Hotel Fron
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Reykjavik
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Can't get any better if you want to be in the heart of Reykjavik.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The American traveler might be thrown off due to the small size of the rooms, but this is standard for European hotels. Hotel is located on Laugavegur Street with bars, cafe's, restaurants, galleries and shops right on the door step of the hotel. 5 minute walk to the waterfront, government offices, Straeto bus stop, Gray Line tour bus office. Breakfast is European continental with cereals, fruit yogurt, fresh bread, meats and cheeses. There are also numerous cafes and a grocery store just a 2 minute walk from Fron. Front desk is aware of flights on Icelandair arriving from North America early in the morning and makes a small amount of rooms available for early check in. Front desk will also allow you to book and pay for tours. If you are in the hotel during a weekend and are a light sleeper, a room facing Laugavegur is not advised as the bar and club crowd will be out on the street until at least 4:00 in the morning. Other than the room size and late night partyers, the Fron is an excellent place to stay in Reykjavik.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Laugavegur Street are great for people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    518
    124
    18
    18
See reviews for
138
457
103
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton,AB
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The location is right on Laugavegur Street; lots of restaurants, stores and galleries. Parking was painful, We ended up parking right on the street at a meter. Luckily we only had to plug the meter till 6pm. Then you just need to ensure you either move your vehicle by 10am or plug the meter again. Our room overlooked the street, but we were not bothered by street noise. The curtains, though, could have been darker - did not block out enough of the bright night. The room was small, I think the bathroom was bigger! There is an elevator, but our room on the fourth floor still required we go up 2 sets of stairs - not great with suitcases!! The bed was lumpy and uncomfortable. Breakfast was average; coffee, juices, bread, cold cuts, cheese, cereal, yogurt and fruit. Good wifi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmeath
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed in Hotel Fron in Feb 2013 for 5 nights. Check in was very fast. The reception desk were always helpful with my requests. The buffet breakfast of breads, fruit, yogurt, tea, coffee etc was enough to fill me for my early starts.
I stayed in one of the blocks of rooms located at the back of the hotel. My room looked out onto the courtyard. The room itself was basic but had everything that I needed. A few English tv channels, fridge, safe & a comfortable bed. It had a double bed but I think two people might have felt a little cramped in a room that size. The room was very warm with windows that opened & black out curtains. Piping hot water and towels changed regularly. Overall I found the hotel main areas & the rooms very clean.
My only con for this hotel & it wasn't even that much of an issue but I feel I should mention it. The walls are quite thin. I could clearly hear people in the hallway, outside & the next room!. This was not an issue on weeknights but I found on Friday/Saturday night when guests stayed out late that this did wake me up. Also from my room located at the back of the hotel I could still hear noise from the street. Again this was not an issue an any other night only Saturday night.

Hotel guests get a 10% discount in the hotel restaurant so be sure to mention that you are staying in the hotel.
Location is very central on the main shopping street. Less than 10mins walk to the harbour. 5 mins to supermarket. Excellent value for money. I paid only €220 for five nights B& B
I like my comfort when I travel and I am also very conscious of cleanliness wherever I stay & I would definitely stay in Hotel Fron if I were to visit Reykjavik again.

Room Tip: stay at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

the hotel has a good central location but still the room managed to be quiet. you can walk in 15 minutes to any central point in Reykjavik. breakfast was good also. nothing special but adequate. rooms look a bit outdated. good value for money. go to blue lagoon on your way to airport!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Viva Stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

An excellent place to stay in the city. Very efficient and helpful staff. Central location in town is ideal for shopping, walking around the city and getting home at night from restaurants/bars. The rooms are quite modern and well-maintained, a problem I had with my bathroom was attended to immediately. The breakfast while simple, would cover most people's requirements. Definitely good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here for a week.
The staff were lovely and helpful, the kitchen was all working, the beds were comfy and the shower was hot!
It could not be in a better loacation and there was really nothing to complain about for the price :D

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Maine
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Right where things are going on and close walk to everything. Recommend room off the front st because of noise but we found running the stove fan at night drowned that all out. Staff were all around helpful for our needs. Breakfast was efficient and basic and the coffee was excellent.
I would stay here again but maybe get a room in the courtyard tho looking down from our balcony on the street activities was enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fron

Address: Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fron 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fron Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.