We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast in town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bistro

Le Bistro
Laugavegur 12, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
+354 551 5979
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #92 of 348 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Le Bistro is a small authentic French bistro and wine bar on Laugavegur, Reykjavik's main shopping street. Serving moderately-priced (for Iceland), classic and contemporary French food along with a great selection of wine and beer. As you step into this casual, lively and bohemic place, the French atmosphere is unavoidable. We serve slow food, with mostly local Icelandic ingredients. This is likely the only the place in the centre with a walk in policy, so you will probably only have to wait a few minutes for a table. Groups of six and more are welcome to book ahead. Bienvenue et bon appetit...
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We trudged in the door on a cold and snowy day. Immediately you feel at home. The decor is unforgivingly chintzy and comforting. The smell of fresh baked croissants and bacon fills the air. We had the bug breakfast followed by a shot of omega 3 to neutralise the cholesterol!
Washed down with proper hot chocolate. Yum yum

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    118
    37
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Small restaurant that was not as expensive as others in the area. Waitresses were friendly and helpful, the food was excellent and a decent quantity. There was even a guy playing an accordion type instrument.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Brunch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Ate here twice during our vacation. Brunch was really good. They brought a huge plate with small portions of different foods like pate, soft boiled egg and fruit served with bread. Dinner was good also. I had the fish in pastry and my husband had the BBQ chicken. I was pleasantly surprised. Staff was excellent and the room was cozy. Great place for a relaxed meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“excellent food and friendly restraurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Three old friends met for a dinner out, The meet platter was good with the house vine. I had the lamb casserole which was well balanced. The atmosphere was as we were in Paris. Not bad although the whether was colder.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Average food, but great staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Had lunch here, and opted for a hamburger with Camembert and Icelandic ham, as the croque monsieur was unavailable for some reason. Anyway, the cheese and ham tasted very good, but the bread tasted like something from the supermarket. It didn't taste bad, but I thought it was dry and rather bland. The burger meat was rather tasteless too. The french fries were good. The staff on the other hand were very friendly and attentive, and the prices were quite alright.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistro also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Le Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.