We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One more rave review!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments to your Saves list
Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tryggvagata, 18 / 18C, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“One more rave review!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed at the Black Pearl after a NatGeo hike around the country. It was by far the best hotel of the trip. Carla and her staff are wonderful - even arriving early our last morning to make sure that our trip back to the airport went flawlessly. The hotel is in a great location, is bright, with large rooms that are completely set up for a longer stay than we were able to manage. Restaurant suggestions were spot-on, with directions on how to get to them. We loved it! And, as others have noted, be sure to have the in-room breakfast at least once! Thank you, Carla, for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Any room will be good here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
31
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Black Pearl's serviced apartments are furnished down to the last pin, with state-of-the-art fittings, excellent breakfasts served in suite, and customized tours (that we opted for) ably organized by Mr. Johannes. Take a bow, Ms Carla and Messrs. Marco and Francisco!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Mass
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

After 10 days circumnavigating the Ring Road, we parked our mud-spattered LandCruiser in the parking garage and ensconced ourselves in the luxury of the Black Pearl for a three-day stay. The expansive suite of rooms included a full kitchen (which we used only minimally, but could easily support a long-term stay), wonderful views, and an ultra-modern bath which incorporated a (much welcome) washer and dryer.

Everything about the place spoke of luxury - electronic controls for lighting and HVAC, a private elevator stop with card-key control, high-end appliances throughout. The staff was incredibly helpful, seeing to our various needs (including an extensive breakfast served en suite).

We found it convenient to shopping, sight-seeing, restaurants and museums. As for value, half the suite would easily cost eight times as much in New York (yes, I know, NYC, but still...). I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
142 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
272 helpful votes 272 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

As avid travelers we have stayed in many different hotels all over the world, so we have seen it all.
With Black Pearl hotel we were impressed from the minute we walked in. Centrally located. Parking spot is complimentary if you drive a car. The lobby was small but bright. The staff was smiling and ready to introduce you to the city.

Easy check-in and check-out. Our suite is the smallest in the building; It was spotless clean and came with a bedroom, a modern bathroom with plenty of amenities, a dinning area, and a kitchen with Nespresso machine, microwaves, oven, stoves and cook wares and utensils. Marble floor through out with electronic switch control lightning. Our room include laundry service package and our clean folded clothes were returned in a day, Very impressive.

Besides, the attention to details was what we had enjoyed the most, from borrowing umbrellas, getting boarding passes printed, to restaurant recommendations, the staff was always ready to assisted. They even carried our luggage to our room which not too many staff would want to do this in this part of the world.

There is no restaurant in the hotel, however breakfast can be sent to your room for a charge. A small market 24 (hr)) is within 5 minutes walk and there were tons of eateries in the area. Wifi is complimentary
.
The staff in this hotel are very well-trained and it shows in their customer services. A wonderful experience we look forward to coming again very soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The apartment exceeded our expectations! It was spacious for our family of four. Very new, impeccably clean, and wonderfully comfortable. The proximity to shops, restaurants, and the harbor is awesome. The views are beautiful and the balcony very peaceful. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. One evening while at a nearby restaurant I had a tray full of drinks spilled on me (and my white outfit!). I walked back to the hotel to quickly change. Since the staff had just seen me walk out to dinner not too long before i explained what had happened. She immediately offered to wash my clothes and had them ready for me upon our return that night. Thank you again for that and for adding to our terrific memories of Iceland!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago area, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We were a family of 16 ranging in age from 5 to 79 and all loved the hotel. We worked with them to secure our rooms and were put in one wing so we could be near each other. The hotel staff was courteous and helpful bent over backwards to accommodate our needs. The apartments are fully equipped and modern, quiet too. The hotel helped arrange breakfast for our group and upgraded our parents to lovely penthouse rooms. Everything is new and clean. The showers are amazing. The hotel is located walking distance from absolutely everything, just perfect. I highly recommend the Black Pearl!
Helene

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Black Pearl is a superb property located in the heart of Reykjavik.... Full marks to Carla, Marco, Inga and Anna for catering to all our requirements and queries with a smile and a desire to please. The rooms are outstanding, the furniture and fixtures modern, the attention to detail noteworthy. We travelled as a group and stayed for 4 days.... Would have loved to stay longer! The apartments have a superb location with the wharf on one side, the port in front and the city to the right.... During the summer the city actually "never sleeps"! The Icelanders are warm people and love to enjoy life! A great night life, superb restaurants and gorgeous natural beauty to explore makes Iceland today a dream destination for a holiday.... You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments

Address: Tryggvagata, 18 / 18C, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel serviced apartments - Your home away from home in Iceland!Black Pearl Reykjavik boasts guest rooms with King sized premier bedding, luxury toiletries from "Azzaro", fresh linen and fluffy white towels. The Deluxe Suites measures 115 square meters and the Standard Suites 75 square meters. All kitchens are fully equipped with cutlery, porcelain and glassware for 8 people, oven, microwave, dishwasher, toaster, kettle and Nespresso coffee maker (with a complete selection of complimentary coffee capsules).Situated in the most central area of downtown Reykjavik, we are within walking distance to landmarks, museums, shops and restaurants. Enjoy a perfect stay in the heart of Reykjavik with Black Pearl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.