We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Black Pearl” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments to your Saves list
Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tryggvagata, 18 / 18C, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Reykjavik
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Black Pearl”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed at the Black Pearl for three nights, and our family of five enjoyed an incredible experience. The place was spotless, beautiful and comfortable, and the owners, Carla and Marco, were amazing. Each morning they brought a sumptuous breakfast to our room at the time of our choice, and they always made themselves available for whatever we might request, including a ride to the gym with no advance notice. You couldn't possibly find a superior hotel or location in all of Reyjavik.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmmatias, Manager at Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Nemofamily,

Thank you so much for such a beautiful review.
We feel honoured to have hosted your family at our hotel, and more than happy to know that you are coming back soon. We really look forward to welcoming you, hoping to offer you the same excellent experience.

All the best
Carla & the Black Pearl team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
43
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights at Black Pearl Apartments in Reykjavik with our family. This is the most luxurious apartment we ever stayed at. It is very spacious, furnished with top quality fittings, very bright and an outstanding customer service. We arrived at 1:30 AM and the owners Carla and Marco were waiting for us. They are very customer oriented and pay attention to every detail. Our daughters loved the 90" LCD TV in the apartment and watched their favorite programsa using Apple TV.

It is located in the city center close to all nice restaurants. We used this apartment as our base for taking daily sightseeing trips.

We can't wait to return to this super luxurious place. We would highly recommend this to anyone who is looking for Four Seasons class luxury, in a very large apartment.

They serve hot breakfast in the suite which was very delicious.

Thanks Carla & Marco for the incredible experience and your outstanding customer service!

Ravi & Sunanda Agarwal

Room Tip: For a family, stay in the 2 bedroom pent house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmmatias, Manager at Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Anandatraveller,
We feel flattered for such a nice review. Thank you so much for taking your time. We feel lucky for hosting such a wonderful guests like you and your family.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Warm Regards
Carla/ Marco & all the Black Pearl team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed with child 3 y. o. during second part of February-beginning of March. Liked it weary much! Perfect cleanness, weary good rooms, enough space, very very nice equipped, good breakfasts. Cannot recognize anything we disliked. Carla and Marco are doing their best! We will return! ) Thank You!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmmatias, Manager at Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Mr.Dyachenko,

We look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you for making such a nice review.
All the best for the three of you.
Carla/ Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown,PA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is by far the best place to stay in the city. The apartments are wonderfully decorated, all are very up to date, clean and in a great location. I literally cried tears of joy when Carla showed us the place - I was so happy to be here after our long drive from Vik. We felt right at home. Carla and Mark are wonderful hosts. The price was right for our family (as staying in a hotel with two rooms would have been about the same price but we would not have been able to be together). We will never stay anywhere else when visiting Reykjavik.

Room Tip: We stayed in 301 and were very happy with this apartment/suite...could not have asked for anything b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmmatias, Manager at Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Scashner,
Thank you so much for your review. We feel happy to know that you found the Black Pearl a home away from home, as this is one of our main goals.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Warm Regards
Carla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmount, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Carla's guidance was priceless. More than just a hotel manager, she was an incredible host, and made us feel at home not just at the Black Pearl, but in the entire Reykjavik region.

We arrived early in the morning after taking a redeye flight to Reykjavik from Boston. Carla offered us an early check-in, and recommended some great restaurants within walking distance of the Black Pearl for breakfast. Later that morning, she made arrangements for us to go on a snorkelling and caving tour the next day (it's nice to go through someone with connections and knowledge of "who's good").

Before our tour, Carla arranged for an amazing breakfast assortment to be delivered to our room - cereals, fruits, juices, pasteries, meats, cheeses, vegetables, hardboiled eggs, etc. My wife and I were very impressed, and it was actually enough to last through 3 meals! Carla was extremely thoughtful, and took great pride in ensuring that our trip was as good as it could be. As this was our first trip to Iceland, her assistance and hospitality was especially appreciated.

Note that the prices of everything - breakfast, accommodations, activities - were reasonable and offered great value.

The Black Pearl itself was everything you could want from a home away from home. It was spacious, immaculate, modern, and in a great location. This is one of the best places I have ever stayed. I would very highly recommend the Black Pearl to anyone visiting Reykjavik.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmmatias, Manager at Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you for such a nice review. We look forward to welcoming you back.
All the best
Carla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Black Pearl for our six night Reykjavik based vacation. Our Hotel/Apartment was beautiful, clean, spacious and very well appointed to the smallest detail. The property management team during our visit were Carla and Marco. Their hospitality and helpfulness were exceptional. I cannot over emphasize how beautiful and comfortable this Hotel-Apartment Suite is. Finally, I consider that the price is an excellent value especially compared to the price of other things in Iceland. We had a terrific time and the Black Pearl played a big part in our pleasure. I cannot recommend this property more highly. Jeff and Marci

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmmatias, Manager at Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Jeffry and Marci,
Thank you so much for your positive comments and useful feedback regarding your stay at the Black Pearl.
We really appreciate you have taken the time to make this review and we hope to see you back soon.
Best Greetings from Iceland!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Imagine the most chic and stylish hotel room you've ever stayed in... then add a sumptuous living/dining area, a balcony, and fully fitted kitchen with everything (and I mean everything) you could ever need.... place it in the most central location and you've got an idea of just how amazing Black Pearl is!
It was sheer heaven returning back to the Black Pearl after a busy and often quite exhausting day's sightseeing, to pour a glass of chilled wine from the fridge and sink into the comfy sofa. We could sit at the table and plan our next day's agenda and when our helicopter flight was delayed by an hour due to the weather it was great to have our own apartment to chill in and wait to hear if the flight was going ahead.
It's been a lifelong ambition to visit Iceland, and I have to say it was just amazing. Thank you Carla for making everything about our stay perfect.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmmatias, Manager at Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Dawnzini,

Thank you for your ‘to the point’ review of what you liked about our hotel and your stay at the Black Pearl.
It is an honour for us to know that you really enjoyed staying here and we do hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments

Address: Tryggvagata, 18 / 18C, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel serviced apartments - Your home away from home in Iceland!Black Pearl Reykjavik boasts guest rooms with King sized premier bedding, luxury toiletries from "Azzaro", fresh linen and fluffy white towels. The Deluxe Suites measures 115 square meters and the Standard Suites 75 square meters. All kitchens are fully equipped with cutlery, porcelain and glassware for 8 people, oven, microwave, dishwasher, toaster, kettle and Nespresso coffee maker (with a complete selection of complimentary coffee capsules).Situated in the most central area of downtown Reykjavik, we are within walking distance to landmarks, museums, shops and restaurants. Enjoy a perfect stay in the heart of Reykjavik with Black Pearl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.