We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cool modern hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel B47

Save Saved
You added Hostel B47 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostel B47
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Baronsstigur 47, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“cool modern hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Great location- within walking distance of central Reykjavik. I liked that you access the building and your room by codes instead of keys and loved the cinematic art around the doors of the main hallway. I was frustrated a bit by there not being a front desk person 100% of the time because there were no towels in the room when we got there but it got figured out just the same. Bathrooms were big, shower heads had great pressure and the bed was super cozy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The B47 hostel seems to be located in an old hospital building which gives character to the interior and rooms that are quite white and spacious. But if this doesn't bother you, and it's fine that there are no toilet and shower in the room, then I can highly recommend the B47 hostel.

The hostel is located about 10 minutes walk from the small city center of Reykjavik and both the room and the shower/toilet was really clean and nice. A plus for the decorations in the lobby and hallway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We traveled to Iceland at the end of July for 4 days. I enjoyed very much staying at Hostel B47. The staff was friendly including allowing us to check in early after getting no sleep on the flight from the US. I did tons of research on hotel as we stayed in 6 over the course of our trip. My favorite was this one-my family is still skeptical of the shared bathroom, but I loved that with 4 of us there as no waiting for showers or toilets. The room was clean and the beds where by far the most comfortable we stayed in for the whole trip. We were in room 101 which was by far big enough for my husband and to teen children, with and a bunk bed and 2 singles and a corner room with a corner window facing the church. The wifi was strong enough to facetime back home, although we were also lucky enough to be there during the week when there were few people stay at the hostel. My only complaint, which we let the front desk know was we were locked in our room 2x, luckily right behind the front desk so they could let us out and the last day the spring on the door broke altogether not a hard fix though. Location was phenomenal, price was a bit high-but that is Iceland. I would highly recommend. BTW there is an Icelandic swimming pool right next door for use at about $2.

Room Tip: We staying in room 101 which was a corner room with 2 full windows with a beautiful view of the chur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This quirky hostel's self-service system worked flawlessly. I was emailed the PIN codes for the front door and my room two days before as promised upon booking. From the outside (like a lot of buildings in Iceland) it didn't look like much, but once inside it felt homely, safe and warm. The room was clean and spacious enough for two of us and the keyless door seemed secure enough for peace of mind. Bathroom facilities were clean and the shower was powerful! Kitchen facilities seemed good enough although only used them for tea and coffee. Overall, I can't complain, considering the price and location (a 5min walk from the centre of town). Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Too expensive to sleep in a dorm with another 5 people.
The hostel is about 15 minutes from the center of Reykjavik
Although there is a kitchen, there aren't Stoves.
Everything is clean, and rooms are normal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Very clean hostel with big rooms, great electronic check in service. Locations is walking distance from all the main sites in down town Reykjavik. No need for room keys, everything is accessed via codes, great for groups.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma, Italia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Very pretty place. Here everything is trendy, comfortable and very modern. I found it clean and the price is one of the best in Reykjavik. It is at a 5 minutes walking distance from the center. Free Wi-Fi

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostel B47? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel B47

Address: Baronsstigur 47, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 58 Specialty lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel B47 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This self-service hostel is a 5-minute walk from main street shops and bars. It features a heated outdoor patio, guest kitchenette and TV lounge. Wi-Fi and security lockers are free.All rooms at Hostel B47 include a sink, luggage rack and blackout blinds. Bathroom facilities are shared. Free internet computers and sitting areas are found in the lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Hostel B47 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel B47, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.