We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel B47

Save Saved
You added Hostel B47 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostel B47
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Baronsstigur 47, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Very clean hostel with big rooms, great electronic check in service. Locations is walking distance from all the main sites in down town Reykjavik. No need for room keys, everything is accessed via codes, great for groups.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Roma, Italia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Very pretty place. Here everything is trendy, comfortable and very modern. I found it clean and the price is one of the best in Reykjavik. It is at a 5 minutes walking distance from the center. Free Wi-Fi

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed there for 4 nights with a friend of mine while doing some day trips to different locations around Reykjavik. This accommodation is absolutely brilliant, the decoration is very edgy with each room decorated with a different theme (ours was lords of the ring). I was really impressed by the efforts the owners did to make the place look stunning. The place has a real chilled out vibe and you feel instantly home away from home. The rooms have everything you need : comfy beds (with real duvet!!!), sink, hair dryer, good blinds to block the sun during the night. I have also really liked that there are small details that make the difference, it's not only convenient and comfy, it is also very stylish (love the jewellery tree :)) the shared bathrooms were also very clean and we never had to queue for those. The common areas are also a big plus, there is a dining room where you can take you meals and also a sort of living room with some sofa and tv if you want to chill out after a day of sightseeing. The location is also very good, it's 5 minutes walk to the Main Street where all the shops, restaurants and cafe are located
Overall, it is an absolutely brilliant place to stay and really has the feel of an edgy boutique hotel without the price tag associated. I have really enjoyed my stay in Iceland and clearly this place has contributed massively. A home away from home, I will be back!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray on Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is my first time staying at a hostel - and what a pleasant surprise that was too. The lady at reception was very welcoming and friendly. The room was such a lovely surprise - a twin room with two bunkbeds also and a sofa couch as well. There was also a basin in the room and toilets and bathrooms were just a few doors away. The whole building was kept very clean and the kitchen was adequately equipped - we were a little surprised there was no cooker, only a microwave so one needs to take this into consideration. Towels were provided in the rooms. Next time I will most certainly try another hostel again - this experience was quite a surprise. Another bonus of course you meet all kinds of travellers from many corners of the world exchanging and sharing many beautiful and interesting stories of their travels

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Near downtown, very clean, perfect staff, with very funny decoration and really good price! For me like my home! I stayed during more than a week and for me the best hostel at Reykjavik! Thanks Alina and all the staff for help me with all the things that I need!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linköping, Östergötlands Län, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stayed at Hostel B47 for seven nights and came away very impressed. The excellent location means that the nearest swimming pool is right next door and the marina is a few minutes by foot. It's also very close to the BSI bus terminal. B47 is a blend of modern-day tech and old-world charm. The keycode based entry makes it very convenient to get in and out of the hotel, without having to bother with keys. The staff were really helpful and nice and helped me with suggestions regarding day trips and the like, suggestions which proved to be very useful. The bathrooms and toilets seem adequate for its guests and the beds are really nice and comfortable. The wifi was excellent too. I'd definitely recommend B47 to my friends and would also like to stay there again, on my future visits to Reykjavik.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We are a family with 3 children. We stayed there during nights. We enjoyed this hostel. The hostel was fun for the kids with a bunk bed and nice paintings on the wall. We were a little bit worried about the shared bathroom and the lack of breakfast. We were wrong! The hotel is extremely clean and we could have a nice breakfast in the dining room of the hotel. There is a supermarket 5 minutes away on foot (Bonus, Laugavegur 59). The location is also great to visit Reykjavik.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostel B47? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel B47

Address: Baronsstigur 47, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 60 Specialty lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel B47 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This self-service hostel is a 5-minute walk from main street shops and bars. It features a heated outdoor patio, guest kitchenette and TV lounge. Wi-Fi and security lockers are free.All rooms at Hostel B47 include a sink, luggage rack and blackout blinds. Bathroom facilities are shared. Free internet computers and sitting areas are found in the lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Hostel B47 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel B47, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.