We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect base for a trip to Reykjavik.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Reykjavik Residence Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Reykjavik Residence Suites to your Saves list
Reykjavik Residence Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hverfisgata 21, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Reykjavik
Switzerland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A perfect base for a trip to Reykjavik.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I stayed here twice over a seven day period at either end of a recent climbing trip in Iceland. The hotel is perfectly located just a couple of minutes walk from the main shopping / restaurant areas. There is an excellent fine dining Indian restaurant just 100 metres up the road. See reviews for Austur India.

Both suites allocated to me were spotless, very well appointed and the WiFi is fast and included in the room rate. For me, it was ideal to have a well stocked fridge and the ability to enjoy a light breakfast in my room before heading out to explore this fantastic country. The ground floor room opposite the reception desk is particularly spacious and is accessible for wheel chair users but it does suffer a little from the noise from the street during the 'lively' Icelandic weekend.

All the staff I met were friendly, professional and couldn't have been more helpful. They all speak excellent English. This property is managed in partnership with the Residence Hotel at no 45 on the same street. I asked the hotel to arrange transfers to and from the airport which is a little expensive but worked absolutely smoothly and avoids the hassle of waiting for the airport bus and then transferring to local taxi when you arrive in Reykjavik.

All in all, I really enjoyed the facilities provided at the hotel and particularly the friendliness and professionalism of the team. I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel but my preference would be for a room on an upper floor. I look forward to a return visit with my partner later in the year.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors, facing away from the main street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    18
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
46
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel aviv
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful small building in the heart of Reykjavik , great warm and cozy hotel with beautiful and very comfortable rooms and all what you need in the room.
After a week in Iceland staying at what consider to be the best hotel in each area, this hotel is high high above the standards of other hotels.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment as my husband and I had been travelling for seven months and were meeting my parents here and staying for a few days.

They organised taxis to and from the airport for us. Delivered more than enough food every morning which was amazing (although it would of been nice to have a little more fruit). The place itself was very nice and homely. We felt very comfortable here.

Amazing location! Lots of little extras like shampoo, conditioner,soap, iron, hair dryer, washing mashing....everything you could need! Even a dish washer! Beds were so so comfortable. The only thing I would say is that we did have a small problem with light coming in through the window above the bed, but we had eye masks with us so wasn't too much of an issue.

Although we had the heating off and it was bitter outside, the apartment was very warm (we even had hue windows open).

Would defiantly recommend and can't wait to come back and stay again! Really loved it here, thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed at the Reykjavik suites for 4 nights and it was the perfect base for our time in Iceland. The hotel is nice and centrally located. We had our 8 month old baby with us and it was great to have the clean, carpeted space for him to crawl around on and also to have a separate room to put him down at night and for naps. Although there was about 18 hours of daylight when we were there, the blinds and drapes in the rooms block it out with no problem. The pack and play crib provided by the hotel was clean and safe. The hotel also helped us arrange a babysitter, a local university student who was lovely, responsible, and very good with our son.

There isn't any parking as the reviewers below mentioned, which is a bit of a hassle, but you can either pay for the lot across the street or search around for free public parking, which is what we did.

The noise from the club across the street is significant, as the other reviewers noted. And it definitely goes on until about 4:30/5:00 in the morning on weekends. I would still stay there again and our baby slept through it but light sleepers will likely have a problem with this, so it is worth noting.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California, Usa
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This was a former Government official house. Nicely redone suites. Bathrooms are large with new fixtures. Livingroom is large with bar/kitchen/TV area. Bedroom is very large and comfortable. Staff was very helpful setting up tours, reservations for dinning, directions, etc. All tour operators come to the hotel to pick you up for your adventure. Very clean and inviting.

Room Tip: Street side rooms can be a little noisy. If you have large suitcases you might want lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The perfect place for our family of four so the kids were able to have their own room. The room had a mini kitchen and refrigerator to store some food (since it can be quite pricey to eat out in Iceland). The room was very modern and the bathroom was HUGE. The beds were very comfortable and the wool blankets were a warm touch. The suites are very close to everything we needed in Reykjavik...the church, shops, restaurants, pubs, the port, etc... We walked everywhere and were not even tired afterwards. We thought it might be loud, since it is across the street from a couple bars, but that was not the case....possibly because we were not there on the weekend. A wonderful place to stay, right in the heart of Reykjavik, especially if you need separate rooms.


The service and staff were super friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I stayed at the both the Residence Hotel and the Residence Suites. Both were fantastic but I particularly liked this hotel because I stayed in the suite on the top floor and it was an amazing room! The staff was so kind and helped me carry my luggage up all three floors. It's bright, airy, has great amenities, good beds, and stocked with milk, cereal, and juice along with the tea and coffee. Super clean and conveniently located one block away from all the action (although there is a bar across the street). Would absolutely recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Reykjavik Residence Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Residence Suites

Address: Hverfisgata 21, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Reykjavik Residence Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Reykjavik Residence Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reykjavik Residence Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.