We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly modern hotel with excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reykjavik Lights

Save Saved
You added Reykjavik Lights to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Reykjavik Lights
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sudurlandsbraut 12, Reykjavik 108, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Super friendly modern hotel with excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was an excellent base for our travels in Iceland. We arrived early in the morning after an overnight flight from New York and were not expecting our room to be ready until later. However the guy on reception said we there was a room available and allowed us to check in straight away, which we really appreciated!

We stayed there one night and then headed off to drive the south coast for a few days before returning to the Lights for another two nights. As we were on an extended journey en route to the UK, we had a lot of luggage with us. The hotel was very happy to store some of our bags until we came back, which was really helpful.

What makes this hotel outstanding is the staff. Without exception they were all very friendly, polite and helpful. There were several tour groups staying while we were there, but we never felt overlooked and the staff were always very attentive whenever we needed anything.

Inside the hotel it is light and airy and very bright and white. For the first night we had a room on the 3rd floor and when we returned we were given a room on the 7th floor. Both rooms were very comfortable, warm and spotlessly clean, and had great views across the city to the mountains. The breakfast buffet was nice and there was a good choice.

We were hoping they might have a guest laundry but there wasn't - none of the other hotels we stayed at in Iceland had them either, so maybe they just generally don't have them? Instead we went to the Laundromat Cafe in Austurstræti where we could do our washing and have lunch at the same time - highly recommended!

The location was great for us as we didn't mind not being in the central city. There are several eating places in the area. I would thoroughly recommend the dinner buffet at the Restaurant Askur down the road. We ate there twice and it was excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 7th floor have great views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    139
    24
    4
    0
See reviews for
26
167
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed here in February as a group of women on a sightseeing trip.

It was well situated. The staff were friendly. The hotel was clean. The food was nice.

I normally stay in 4 and 5 star hotels, but I would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Amazing holiday to Iceland.

We had a brilliant time at this hotel, we for 4 nights in February and would highly recommend it to everyone. We booked a package deal with Secret Escapes (highly recommend), which included a Northern Lights tour, Lava Tour (horseback) and tickets to the thermal baths close by and airport transfers. This package was very inexpensive and I would absolutely recommend booking through this company.

On arrival we had a lovely warm welcome, even although it was a little late at night the staff were very helpful.

The hotel was spotlessly clean, staff were extremely helpful on arrival and helped plan the itinerary for the excursions we had booked as part of the package, they were very flexible and happy to help assist with dates and confirmed the booking for us so we really didn't have to do anything.

Room - Modern and cool. We had a superior room as part of the package too, the room was spacious, lots of storage, bed very comfortable - mattress extremely comfy - both myself and partner had a great sleep. Temperature in room was great, bathroom also had everything we needed and was spotless. Every day it was cleaned perfectly. We also had a great view from room of Reykjavik, mountains and of the national stadium, really beautiful on a clear day/evening.

Location - Don't be put off by the location, it took only us around 40 mins to walk to the city centre (and this was fairly slow walking due to ice), it was a nice walk with lots to see and visit. Location is a big bonus in terms of eating out, as the restaurants near by as much cheaper than the main city centre area (although still a little more expensive that back home).

Restaurants - Eating out is fairly expensive all over Reykjavik and we knew this before we left. However around the hotel there are a lot of good restaurants which are much cheaper than the city centre - the pizza restaurant below the hotel is great, its especially good if you have been on a long trip during the day and just want something quick and handy, we went twice during our stay and our pizzas were delicious. Can be busy at times but staff are well organised and get you a table as quickly as possible. A lot of locals also appear to go which is a good sign too. There is a Japanese/oriental restaurant 2 mins walk from the hotel which was also excellent.

Breakfast was good, continental - cold selection: breads, pastries, meats, cheese, cereal etc available, fresh juices and tea/coffee, toast machine. It may be a bonus if they considered adding a small hot breakfast section (bacon, eggs, sausage etc) and would have gone a long way. However I appreciate most people have tours early and often just want something quick and so the current continental style does work very well. Nonetheless it was very tasty!

In terms of excursions/trips we went on the Northern Lights Tour, Lava Tour (Horseback), Thermal Baths (nearby), Blue Lagoon, Sunset Dog Sledding Tour, Golden Circle and City Tour (on our own). We tried to fit in as much as possible over our stay to make the most of things.

The sunset dog sledding tour was out of this world - it is a must do, yes it was very expensive but a once in a life time experience, it was just incredible and extremely beautiful. Dogsledding IS and Eskimo tours we used for this. Email the hotel before you arrive in Iceland to book this around 1-2months before or more as it is very popular.

We booked the full day Golden Circle tour with Reykjavik excursions to see gullfoss waterfall, geyser, national park etc - in hindsight we probably would have booked the afternoon Golden Circle tour as they still visit the same places but spend less time at each. The only criticism we would say of the full day excursion is that every stop you spent maybe a 1.5 hrs which was too much time for us, although the sights were very beautiful, you could have seen everything, read everything, take lots of pictures (which I certainly did) within 30-45 mins. The only other thing to do was have a wonder round the overpriced tourist shops/cafes on site. Nevertheless it was a great tour, we just feel they maybe could have fitted in more stops elsewhere and reduced the time spent at the other stops.

We got to see the Northern Lights! We went out with Reykjavik excursions twice and seen them on the second night, the company is really great and allows you to go out as many times as you wish until you see the lights.

Lava tour on horseback was great, the horses were very tame and needed little prompting, I have a little experience but my partner had none - they have both beginners and advanced options.

If we had an extra day we would have loved to go to the South of Iceland which too looked very beautiful.

With all of the tours the hotel was fab in helping plan and book these. Highly recommend it has everything you would need and ideal location. We would visit again and stay at this hotel without hesitation!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view in advance - staff are very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We spent 1 week at the Reykavik Lights hotel. The hotel has a modern Scandinavian feel in design - hotel card holder in the room to turn on electricity, clean efficient design. The staff were uniformly helpful in making reservations and offering suggestions for dining and trips. There are several nice restaurants on the same street frequented by Icelanders including Askurs that had an excellent fish dinner special and Nings. Although a bit from center city (plan on 40 minute walk) it is close to the large swimming pool facility and sculpture garden. The breakfast was excellent and a great way to begin one's touring activities. Happy hour (beer 500k), espresso bar and small store were very convenient.

Room Tip: rooms were quiet even with the large 3 day concert down the hill we had no noise (7th floor) and an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We may be biased just because we had such a fantastic visit to Iceland but I think this place is wonderful. Big hotel with beautiful views of the mountains and sea. It was so modern and there was wifi everywhere (everywhere in Iceland too! Buses, shops, cafés...) the room was comfortable with a lovely double bed and plush bathroom. The reception staff were super helpful and they ran some great excursions. Breakfast was sublime and Viking beer is great!
We'll coming back here as soon as we can afford it!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Molton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Myself and my partner stayed here in May after booking a package trip. We arrived to a clean, calm and friendly hotel.
The room was modern and clean.
Breakfast was fairly simple but fresh and just what we wanted.
Staff were very helpful giving advice on where to eat and visit and also helping with booking buses/taxis.
Some would say the location isn't too great as it's not in the centre of town but this didn't bother us at all. We walked to the old harbour and various restaurants with no trouble.
We can't really fault this hotel, especially the bars hot chocolate!!
Lovely weekend away, thank you very much!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed for two nights at Reykjavik Lights- completely unexpectedly as there was a problem with our booking at another hotel. From the outset the staff were so welcoming and friendly, going out of their way to help us out. It didn't feel like the over the top fake 'customer service' that you get at some of the bigger chains. This was genuine and I really feel like they treated us as friends. Eric, Thora and Arna (and one guy with glasses I'm sorry I forgot your name) were literally so nice I would actually have them all to stay at my own home. The hotel itself was clean, contemporary and comfortable. The breakfast was OK but it would be great to have a cooked option and and it would also be great if they had a better selection of food. Other than that I have absolutely no complaints and would most certainly stay there again. Thank you guys!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Reykjavik Lights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Lights

Address: Sudurlandsbraut 12, Reykjavik 108, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Reykjavik Lights 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Tingo, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Reykjavik Lights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reykjavik Lights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.