We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Secret escape” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Reykjavik Lights

Save Saved
You added Reykjavik Lights to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Reykjavik Lights
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sudurlandsbraut 12, Reykjavik 108, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 46 hotels in Reykjavik
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Secret escape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I have just returned from 4 nights in Reykavik - a deal booked through Secret Escapes. My friend and I arrived at the hotel at about 1am after a late night flight and from the outset I was impressed by their efficiency in checking all the tired guests in as quickly as possible. Our room was spacious, warm and clean and even had a hair dryer. Breakfast was simple but I had no complaints as there was enough to choose from and they even had coffee available at 3:45am this morning and a packed breakfast to go. The staff were friendly and particularly helpful in their recommendations of bars to go to, food to sample, walking routes in the city and tour suggestions. The hotel is not in the centre of town - about a 30minute walk or a very short taxi. Overall I thought it was a really good deal and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    117
    20
    4
    0
See reviews for
16
154
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This hotel first opened in May 2013. I stayed there mid-November. It is beautifully decorated. The staff are friendly and will go the extra mile for you. We stayed in a superior room. It was clean, spacious and comfy. Big windows with view of the national stadium, the Atlantic and (when it wasn't too misty) the snow-capped mountains! If you're facing the other way then I think you will have a view of buildings. Unusually we had two smaller duvets for the massive bed. No tea and coffee in the rooms but this did not matter. The bar/lounge area is spacious and cosy all at the same time. Breakfast was replenished regularly.

We did walk into town, but it took about 25 minutes (it was icy which slowed us down). Bus is about 370 krona each. Taxi was about 2100 krona (late at night). That's around £11 at the exchange rate we got.

Happy hour 5-7pm = 500 krona for a (pint) beer, 700 for wine (about £2.60/£3.70)!

If you come out of the entrance and turn left there is an Icelandic deli/cafe next to the newsagents. They have a limited menu, but we ate a casual meal there and I would highly recommend it... fish soup, salmon lasagne, prawn salad etc. large portions. Locals seem to stop there on there way home to buy deli food.

I'm not sure if this is standard but one of the wonderful receptionists provided tea and coffee for those taking the 4am shuttle to the airport. What a star!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed here from the 11th nov - 15th nov. Lovely clean hotel, staff really friendly and helpful, couldn't fault it! Breakfast is continental, so something for everyone! Rooms small but modern and the shower is amazing, massive overhead shower, great after a cold day sightseeing!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Beautifully clean and classically Scandinavian hotel. Very minimal decoration and the whole hotel was very nicely designed. Staff were efficient, friendly and always on hand to help. Happy 2 hours in the bar in the evening was well received. My only criticisms are, it was about a 30 minute walk into Central Reykjavik and there were no coffee making facilities in the room. Both minor issues and they would not put me off using this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The rooms are clean and light, each one themed to a different day of the Icelandic calendar. Ours was a room with a double bed, a true double with one mattress, as opposed to two singles pushed together. As seems common in much of Europe, the comforters were only single-width (so there are two), but quite cozy and warm. Each side of the bed had a nightstand with lamp, one which also a standard 220v European outlet. The hotel is recently constructed, as is evidenced by the ample number of accessible outlets per room. In addition to the one by the side of the bed, there are a couple above the desk against the far wall, one on the wall by the heater, one in the wardrobe, and another in the bathroom by the sink.
The bathroom has a small sink with a small counter, a mirror, commode, towels, and a glorious shower. The shower contains a rainshower head above and a hand-held one on the side, run by a duel-handled controller. One knob controls water temperature, the other controls which shower-head and water pressure. There is a towel warmer at one end of the shower, which is very pleasant.
There is a TV on the wall opposite the bed, beneath which is a wide couch. Next to this is a desk with chair.
The employees at reception are pleasant and helpful, all of whom speak English with ease. If hungry, there are two restaurants in the same building as the hotel, one of them a reasonably-priced pizza place that is open fairly late. Within easy walking distance is a bus stop that will take you to city center (if the 20 min walk is too much), and the fabulous Laugardalur swimming complex.
Was this too much detail, or would other information be more useful? Let me know if you found this helpful!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We have just returned after staying for four nights. Very clean, rooms spotless and very warm with the most comfortable beds and pillows. Our room was at the front of the hotel facing the main road but we were not disturbed by any noise, the reception/bar area was always very warm and welcoming after a busy day sightseeing. Breakfast was basic but more than enough with various cereals, bread, cheese,meat. The staff were helpful with any queries we had. Although it is out of town I would recommend it as a base. There is a bus service outside that goes into Reyjkavic and the taxi we got back one evening was reasonable and very friendly and informative about his city. Right next door is a great vegetarian restaurant the food was very good and reasonably priced. Excellent value for money in a very expensive city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The lights hotel is about 20mins by foot away from the city centre, but there are bus links. Its clean, warm, and comfortable with modern fittings throughout. The breakfast is a simple continental buffet, which reminds me a bit of German hotels but with porridge and Skyr on offer too. The staff were helpful, and we were especially grateful for this when we had to take an early morning flight.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Reykjavik Lights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Lights

Address: Sudurlandsbraut 12, Reykjavik 108, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 46 hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Reykjavik Lights 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Reykjavik Lights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reykjavik Lights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.