We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Reykjavik Lights

Save Saved
You added Reykjavik Lights to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Reykjavik Lights
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sudurlandsbraut 12, Reykjavik 108, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 48 hotels in Reykjavik
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed here from the 11th nov - 15th nov. Lovely clean hotel, staff really friendly and helpful, couldn't fault it! Breakfast is continental, so something for everyone! Rooms small but modern and the shower is amazing, massive overhead shower, great after a cold day sightseeing!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    131
    23
    4
    0
See reviews for
22
164
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Beautifully clean and classically Scandinavian hotel. Very minimal decoration and the whole hotel was very nicely designed. Staff were efficient, friendly and always on hand to help. Happy 2 hours in the bar in the evening was well received. My only criticisms are, it was about a 30 minute walk into Central Reykjavik and there were no coffee making facilities in the room. Both minor issues and they would not put me off using this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The rooms are clean and light, each one themed to a different day of the Icelandic calendar. Ours was a room with a double bed, a true double with one mattress, as opposed to two singles pushed together. As seems common in much of Europe, the comforters were only single-width (so there are two), but quite cozy and warm. Each side of the bed had a nightstand with lamp, one which also a standard 220v European outlet. The hotel is recently constructed, as is evidenced by the ample number of accessible outlets per room. In addition to the one by the side of the bed, there are a couple above the desk against the far wall, one on the wall by the heater, one in the wardrobe, and another in the bathroom by the sink.
The bathroom has a small sink with a small counter, a mirror, commode, towels, and a glorious shower. The shower contains a rainshower head above and a hand-held one on the side, run by a duel-handled controller. One knob controls water temperature, the other controls which shower-head and water pressure. There is a towel warmer at one end of the shower, which is very pleasant.
There is a TV on the wall opposite the bed, beneath which is a wide couch. Next to this is a desk with chair.
The employees at reception are pleasant and helpful, all of whom speak English with ease. If hungry, there are two restaurants in the same building as the hotel, one of them a reasonably-priced pizza place that is open fairly late. Within easy walking distance is a bus stop that will take you to city center (if the 20 min walk is too much), and the fabulous Laugardalur swimming complex.
Was this too much detail, or would other information be more useful? Let me know if you found this helpful!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We have just returned after staying for four nights. Very clean, rooms spotless and very warm with the most comfortable beds and pillows. Our room was at the front of the hotel facing the main road but we were not disturbed by any noise, the reception/bar area was always very warm and welcoming after a busy day sightseeing. Breakfast was basic but more than enough with various cereals, bread, cheese,meat. The staff were helpful with any queries we had. Although it is out of town I would recommend it as a base. There is a bus service outside that goes into Reyjkavic and the taxi we got back one evening was reasonable and very friendly and informative about his city. Right next door is a great vegetarian restaurant the food was very good and reasonably priced. Excellent value for money in a very expensive city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The lights hotel is about 20mins by foot away from the city centre, but there are bus links. Its clean, warm, and comfortable with modern fittings throughout. The breakfast is a simple continental buffet, which reminds me a bit of German hotels but with porridge and Skyr on offer too. The staff were helpful, and we were especially grateful for this when we had to take an early morning flight.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Great hotel, and relatively close to the city center! I'd recommend this place to anyone and everyone.
LOCATION - the hotel is located near a main road, which is not very busy most of the time. It's about a 15/20 minute walk into the town center, but don't let this put you off as there is a bus which takes you there as well for about £3, and the bus stop being located 2 minutes down the road from the hotel reception. I asked for a room with a view and got one facing the main road, but past this was a beautiful landscape constituting vast mountains and ocean. Totally worth it if you can get it.
THE ROOM - We had room 409. There is a choice of lift or stairs up to the rooms. It was a great little room, and I say 'little' but it was just enough for a couple like myself and my partner. It was extremely clean and the bedding and towels were changed everyday, as expected. The room came equipped with a hair dryer, wifi and a flat screen TV (channel 5 included!). The bathroom was even cleaner, and the shower was just pure heaven. Perfect temperature and like a waterfall effect. I'd go back just for that.
BREAKFAST - I'm a fussy eater, however, I enjoyed breakfast a lot. There was a wide choice: porridge, toast, various yoghurts, muesli, cherrios, cornflakes, boiled egg, bell pepper, cucumber, ham, salami, cheese, some sort of fish (which doesn't smell!!!!) and various types of breads too. The drinks were also great, which a selection of about 10 different teas (Earl grey included, so I was very pleased), coffee, fresh orange, water and apple juice.
STAFF - Staff were brilliant and couldn't be more helpful. Most of our trips got cancelled and the hotel were happy to rearrange them and suggest alternatives and then book these for us. The bar workers were also very helpful and polite with a refreshing humor, which also suggested good places to eat. Speaking of the bar, when we went they had a happy hour. Need I say more?
I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone, probably not a family hotel but maybe that's something they could look into in the future. The only improvements I could make is putting a kettle with condiments in the rooms because the last thing you want to be doing before going to bed is walking down to the bar for a hot drink. Call me lazy, but hey, I'm on holiday.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in November and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel stuff was very helpful and friendly, even provided small breakfast at 4am the last morning, which was much appreciated. The breakfast was a continental style buffet, room was relatively small but with a nice view, clean and comfortable. The hotel is some 20-25min walk from the city centre, which is not at all bad after a full Icelandic meal downtown. Alternatively, there is a good bus connection which we also tried once. Will be happy to visit again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Reykjavik Lights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Lights

Address: Sudurlandsbraut 12, Reykjavik 108, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 48 hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Reykjavik Lights 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Reykjavik Lights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reykjavik Lights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.