We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kvosin Downtown Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kvosin Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kirkjutorg 4, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is a great boutique type hotel (non-chain) with awesome rooms that feel like your staying in your own apartment. Staff was extremely helpful and knowledgeable and pretty much booked all my activities. Hotel comes with breakfast next door which is at a restaurant and delicious! Located right in downtown and walkable to any Reykjavik attraction and is on the list for excursion pickups as well. Doesn't get better.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Tsjo!

What an awesome review! Thank you so much for your kind words.
We are ecstatic that you liked your stay and hope you find your way back to our hotel some day.

Best regards,
The Kvosin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    22
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
25
53
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Everyone that works there is wonderful and so friendly. Great hotel. The only change they need to make is better shades , the sun shines 22 hours and it comes into the rooms. Location is perfect . What a great hotel, so modern , loved it

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Ariel

First of all, thank you for the postcard! Secondly, thank you for your nice review!

We give our best greetings to the Nordic atmosphere in Ballard! Hope you find the time to visit us again some time.

Best regards,
Inga Auðbjörg and the Kvosin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is a great boutique hotel they front desk staff Sergei Hilda and Gunnar were very accomodating professional and always willing to help with anything Gunnar even fixed my nexpresso machine.
If your room faces the street bring earplugs! Very noisy even on weeknights. The blackout blinds do a good job in this timeof endless sun I switched rooms after one night and had a large deluxe room that was very dark and quiet but it was expensive to do so.
There is not a bar attached to the hotel the spot is now vacant. There are plenty of pubs and bars a block away. The city center is 3 blocks away as is the bus station very convenient location.
Breakfast is a quaint French style bistro with great options green drinks chia pudding cold plates or eggs. And the croissants are baked in house wonderful way to start the day
The beds and bedding are very good and the warming rack for towels is great to beat the chill. I would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: At the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dearest Joanne

Thank you for staying with us. It certainly was our pleasure to host you and we'd welcome your calm, exploring energy again any time!

Take care!
The Kvosin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Iceland is a country of personal experiences. Kvosin is one you should not miss. So special that will make your trip to this country complete! The staff of the hotel deserves praise for its kindness and efficient attention

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Josephum22

It's great that you truly experienced our strive for a personal and welcoming atmosphere. We do our uttermost best to make your stay a pleasant and tailor-made one, and we hope to welcome you again in the future!

Ha det bra!
Inga Auðbjörg
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Extremely welcoming staff, gorgeous layout and fixtures, perfectly central location but wonderfully quiet, and a scrumptious breakfast every morning. Thanks to everyone at Kvosin for their warm hospitality and a perfect stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dearest PHofmann

It's fantastic to see that your experience was perfect! We give our best greetings to the other side of the planet and hope that you come and visit us again some day!

Best regards,
Inga Auðbjörg
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The hotel is excellent and the service was outstanding. It is located in the heart of Reykjavik and walking distance of the major attraction points of the city. The rooms are cozy, clean and well equipped. The only complaint that i would have is that the curtains let pass some light and that is a bit of a problem in June when the sun is up 24 hrs. I would recommended this hotel to any of my friends and relatives.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Juan Sebastian

We are thrilled that you took the time to write this nice review, and of course happy that you liked your stay. Yes, I know, the midnight sun can be bothersome for newcomers and it's hard to keep it all out. So be sure to visit us again in the wintertime when there's no sun to protect against, -only pretty northern lights!

Best regards,
Inga Auðbjörg
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney Oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We spent hours tracking down the right place to stay and thankfully our research was spot on! This delightful hotel is in the heart of the city opposite the Cathedral (more a village church) and next door to the Parliament (more a well designed town hall). We could walk everywhere. The rooms are quite small but well equipped the only quibble being the storage space but hey you couldn't have everything. The staff are absolutely brilliant and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is in the café next door which hums from locals meeting for breakfast. Clearly they have addressed previous comments about how much food there is if you turn up late by actually plating a set cold meal which is advertised in your bedroom and then offering a choice of two hot items from an imaginative list. We stayed Sunday to Thursday so missing any of the downtown noise that apparently is a feature of the week-end but this hotel, the city and the country was more than we ever thought it could be.

Room Tip: Each room has a well equipped small kitchen and fridge draw so don't be afraid to bring your own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear blue311roll

Thank you for your superb review and your kind words. I'm glad that we lived up to your expectation and even more glad about the fact that you chose our hotel after researching so well.

We would be most honored to receive you once again!

Greetings,
Inga Auðbjörg
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kvosin Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kvosin Downtown Hotel

Address: Kirkjutorg 4, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kvosin Downtown Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kvosin is located in the heart of Reykjavík. And by heart, I mean heart, not kidney, spleen or thyroid. In less then three minutes walking distance are cafés, bars, clubs, museums, Harpa (concerts and conventions), the mayor, ducks and politicians working in the Icelandic parliament next door (nevermind).Let's see. I've got Normal rooms, Bigger rooms, Biggest rooms and Larger than life rooms but only one Tiny room. I'm inspired by my experience as a traveller: I want a good bed, I want to cook, I want to watch big TV, I want to bring my friends or kids, I want space and I want fun. So, here you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Kvosin Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kvosin Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.