We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another islandic experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kvosin Downtown Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kvosin Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kirkjutorg 4, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 47 hotels in Reykjavik
Stockholm
1 review
“Another islandic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Iceland is a country of personal experiences. Kvosin is one you should not miss. So special that will make your trip to this country complete! The staff of the hotel deserves praise for its kindness and efficient attention

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    17
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
47
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Extremely welcoming staff, gorgeous layout and fixtures, perfectly central location but wonderfully quiet, and a scrumptious breakfast every morning. Thanks to everyone at Kvosin for their warm hospitality and a perfect stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is excellent and the service was outstanding. It is located in the heart of Reykjavik and walking distance of the major attraction points of the city. The rooms are cozy, clean and well equipped. The only complaint that i would have is that the curtains let pass some light and that is a bit of a problem in June when the sun is up 24 hrs. I would recommended this hotel to any of my friends and relatives.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney Oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent hours tracking down the right place to stay and thankfully our research was spot on! This delightful hotel is in the heart of the city opposite the Cathedral (more a village church) and next door to the Parliament (more a well designed town hall). We could walk everywhere. The rooms are quite small but well equipped the only quibble being the storage space but hey you couldn't have everything. The staff are absolutely brilliant and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is in the café next door which hums from locals meeting for breakfast. Clearly they have addressed previous comments about how much food there is if you turn up late by actually plating a set cold meal which is advertised in your bedroom and then offering a choice of two hot items from an imaginative list. We stayed Sunday to Thursday so missing any of the downtown noise that apparently is a feature of the week-end but this hotel, the city and the country was more than we ever thought it could be.

Room Tip: Each room has a well equipped small kitchen and fridge draw so don't be afraid to bring your own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear blue311roll

Thank you for your superb review and your kind words. I'm glad that we lived up to your expectation and even more glad about the fact that you chose our hotel after researching so well.

We would be most honored to receive you once again!

Greetings,
Inga Auðbjörg
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'll Keep it brief. Nice Hotel, Church bell goes off right outside your windows often, Windows (small and not sound proof) need to be open because there is NO air conditioning on this property. It doesn't get really hot but with humidity in June it needs air conditioning. Service was great especially the overnight girl there on our arrival (3 am our time).

Room Tip: Ask for one of the new rooms that do not face the church. When we stayed there it was not a choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear RacineTV

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this helpful review. I'm sorry that the church bells were of bother to you, but I hope you otherwise enjoyed your stay in Iceland. And thank you for your kind remarks about Hildur, our night shift heroine. She'll appreciate it!

Greetings from Iceland,
Inga Auðbjörg
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our stay at Kvosin. Great location and really nice breakfast with excellent pain chocolates and eggs cooked to order. It was a great way to start the day. The hotel is very centrally located and did not hear any noise from the streets at night. I would like to have a curtain over the glass front door of our unit as in June it is light 24 hours per day.

Room Tip: We had room 101 with a full kitchen for those interested in eating in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear glenroy71

Thank you for your wonderful review! I'm happy that you enjoyed the hotel and the breakfast. And I totally acknowledge your words about the midnight sun. This door opens inward, unlike all the other doors, to cater to the needs of those in wheelchairs, and therefore could not be fitted with a curtain. I'm sorry to hear that the sanded windows weren't darkening enough.

Hope you visit us again some day!
Inga Auðbjörg
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Family of four - quad room (the "Bjork" room. Fantastic experience in every respect. The staff were superb, the room was lovely. Beds comfortable. Spotless. Terrific location.

We loved it there. Very expensive, though, so could only afford one night. Wished we could have stayed for a week!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear OutAndAbout234.

"Björk" also misses you! Thank you for writing this review and the positive feedback. We hope you come back soon and stay with us, 1 night, a week or for eternity!

Take care, see you soon!
Inga Auðbjörg
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kvosin Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kvosin Downtown Hotel

Address: Kirkjutorg 4, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kvosin Downtown Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kvosin is located in the heart of Reykjavík. And by heart, I mean heart, not kidney, spleen or thyroid. In less then three minutes walking distance are cafés, bars, clubs, museums, Harpa (concerts and conventions), the mayor, ducks and politicians working in the Icelandic parliament next door (nevermind).Let's see. I've got Normal rooms, Bigger rooms, Biggest rooms and Larger than life rooms but only one Tiny room. I'm inspired by my experience as a traveller: I want a good bed, I want to cook, I want to watch big TV, I want to bring my friends or kids, I want space and I want fun. So, here you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Kvosin Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kvosin Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.