We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night in Bus Hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bus Hostel Reykjavik

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bus Hostel Reykjavik to your Saves list
Bus Hostel Reykjavik
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Skogarhlid 10, Reykjavik 105, Iceland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
D
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One night in Bus Hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed there only one night before leaving iceland. We were allowed to store our luggage for 2 days there and still could use the kitchen and common room after checking out and dry our clothes. Everyone was very friendly, the rooms new and clean -full recommendation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristinolafs, Manager at Bus Hostel Reykjavik, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
We only happen to receive friendly guests and this helps us in being friendly:) Thank you so much for your review. The Bus Hostel peops.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    23
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
22
27
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Nice and clean and spacious. Very helpful and friendly staff. Good location for the airport for internal flights and it didnt take long to walk into the city either, about 15 or 20 mins.
Nice and clean and spacious. Very helpful and friendly staff. Good location for the airport for internal flights and it didnt take long to walk into the city either, about 15 or 20 mins.
Nice and clean and spacious. Very helpful and friendly staff. Good location for the airport for internal flights and it didnt take long to walk into the city either, about 15 or 20 mins.
Nice and clean and spacious. Very helpful and friendly staff. Good location for the airport for internal flights and it didnt take long to walk into the city either, about 15 or 20 mins.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristinolafs, Manager at Bus Hostel Reykjavik, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Million thanks for re-instating your wonderful views so many times:) Love from us all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Even though it is not in the center it is within easy walking distance to the city high street. The building looks a bit run down but once you step inside it is like stepping into another world! The decor is simply amazing. Very vintage, warm, quirky and odd in the nicest way possible. The beds are the best hostel beds I have ever slept in. The staff are simply 5 star. They really do everything they can in order to assist you and make your stay pleasant.

The only downside is that their bar is not up and running and the kitchen is small.

Room Tip: Dorms 14 and 15 are tucked away in a corner and have dressers in them and mirrors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristinolafs, Manager at Bus Hostel Reykjavik, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you, thank you, thank you. We like you. x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Bus Hostel has only been open for a couple of months, and you can tell. I stayed in a 14 bed dorm, which was clean and crisp, with a high ceiling and plenty of floor space. For a fully refundable key deposit I was able to use a generously sized locker inside the room. The toilets and showers were always clean, as was the well-equipped kitchen and spacious common room. Unfortunately there was only one power outlet in the dorm (thankfully it had an 8 socket board plugged in to it), but there were plenty of connections available in the lounge area so this wasn't really a problem. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the lounge had plenty of gorgeous couches, a cabinet full of books, and a turntable accompanied by a rather eclectic selection of vinyl - perfect! As for location - it's a quick walk to/from the airport bus terminal, a 15 minute walk in to the town centre, and right next door to a budget car rental business.
Oh, and there's a free geothermal pool on the beach about a twenty minute walk away! Don't hesitate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristinolafs, Manager at Bus Hostel Reykjavik, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you so, so, ever so much for your wonderful review. Much appreciated and very helpful. Stay cool and happy. The Bus people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, Aquitaine, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

staff are nice and friendly in the hostel. they are very helpful with tour booking and all room arrangements.
hostel is clean and new, with a large common area for guests to chill.
not very centerally-located though, around 15 mins bike to city center.
but everything is great!

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristinolafs, Manager at Bus Hostel Reykjavik, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Many thanks to you for writing about us in such a nice manner. We like you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Loved this place! So cozy and felt like home. Huge bathrooms and everything sparkling clean. Loved that I could wake up to my alarm, walk to the kitchen in my pajamas, turn on the coffee maker and by the time I was done getting ready, there was a fresh pot made- felt like the comforts of home in a hostel. Free bike rentals, comfy beds, fantastic staff, welcoming vintage chic common area, fully equipped kitchen, great location. WiFi was fast and always worked. Staff was always smiling and extremely helpful at all hours of the night. Couldn't recommend this place more.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristinolafs, Manager at Bus Hostel Reykjavik, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Million and one thanks to you for your wonderful description and words. Welcome back whenever. Honestly, we just love people like you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Bus Hostel was my first hostel in a long time and as someone used to staying in hotels or self-catering apartments, I was a little sceptical. I shouldn't have been. A warm welcome, comfortable rooms (we stayed in a 4 bed dorm) and a well equipped kitchen made us feel at home very soon and we loved the vintage feel of the large common room/lounge downstairs. The hostel was VERY clean, all the time and the bathrooms are huge. The wifi worked ALL the time, the beers were cheap and we also hired a great car from the SAD Cars that run from there. The walk into town is a quick 15 minutes and you're about 6 mins from the Bus Terminal. I appreciate what other reviews are saying about the kitchen - it isn't massive - but we never had a problem sharing the space and there was always a great atmosphere (and almost always replenished free food shelf!). As for the noise, we stayed three doors away from the kitchen and once our door was closed we couldn't hear anything. The doors are very secure and also lockers are provided in rooms.

The staff are the Bus Hostel's greatest asset. They're friendly, helpful and always had a smile for us - even in the middle of the night! Kristin, the manager, is also very keen to meet and chat to guests to understand how they can improve the hostel for the wide variety of travellers they welcome.

This is one of the best value for money options in Reykjavik and I know where I'll stay when I go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristinolafs, Manager at Bus Hostel Reykjavik, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Many thanks to a Hostel skeptic from another:) We do appreciate you taking the time to write about us and for the wonderful pictures. Many thanks again and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bus Hostel Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bus Hostel Reykjavik

Address: Skogarhlid 10, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bus Hostel Reykjavik 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bus Hostel Reykjavik is a brand, spanking new hostel located within 15 min walking distance from the Reykjavik city high-street. We aim to be "cheap and cheerful", catering to all kinds of travelers, in addition to being Eco-friendly. Our goal is to be fully "green" and only use fair trade goods. We have been super styling the hostel building and offer cozy rooms and hip and cool social spaces. We are a budget hostel and social to a great extent, both "adventure travel" oriented and "leisure travel" oriented, loving all, even the more venturesome crowd. We have 4, 6, 8, 10 and 16 bed dorms, both mixed and a few only for the gals or for the lads. We also offer more private facilities for the single traveller preferring more "me time" or for the couples who are happy to share a bed. And we do of course provide rooms accessible by wheel-chairs. Drop us a line if you are looking for accommodation for your group or if there is anything you need to discuss! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Despegar.com so you can book your Bus Hostel Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bus Hostel Reykjavik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.