We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cafe/bar downstairs!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hlemmur Square

Save Saved
You added Hlemmur Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hlemmur Square
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Laugavegur 105, Reykjavik 105, Iceland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Tempe, Arizona
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great cafe/bar downstairs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We (bf and I, both 25 yo) stayed here in a 16 bed for 3 nights this week. The hostel bathrooms, linens, and rooms were clean and comfortable. The kitchen was also adequate (we only used it for making a frozen pizza and ramen) but didn't have an oven (does have a microwave tho). There seemed to be plenty of showers (6 female showers I believe on our floor) and I never found them full. The drawbacks, while slight, we're the lack of mirror/counter space in the bathroom and the lockers. It would def. be helpful to have more mirrors in the bathroom as 2 people easily fill up the whole area. Also, some of the lockers under the beds were broken. We're were able to each find one, but not under our bed as others with broken lockers had already claimed those.

The best part is the bar/cafe/sitting area downstairs. It is sleek and modern and the staff is super friendly. We visited during the airwaves festivals and saw a number of great artists there every night of our stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    30
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
13
28
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Great staff, clean rooms, great price(s), conveniently on the main street (Laugavegur) in downtown Reykjavik. The walk to all the important sites downtown is very easy and manageable. Laugavegur has eateries and shops as well as a market 15 ft away from Hlemurr Square. Easy choice to go back for the next trip!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de Compostela, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The 14 bed dorm was very affordable and had comfy modern beds. There was a deem blue light by the door to help people get to their beds at night without waking up the others, which is a great idea, but quite annoying if you have to sleep by the door, though. The location was super centric (with a supermarket right in front), the staff was helpful and kind, and the whole place was really fancy for a hostel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Clean and spacious rooms with a sofa and table. I had a 10 beded room but was there all alone, great! Staff at the reception was really nice and helpful. Great location on the main street for affordable price. Really recomended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I was expecting much more from Hlemmur Square since It's a brand new hostel, but It was so disappointing. It's still under construction, with workers walking up and down with ladders and tools, there is no sense of welcome yet!
As for the facilities, room size is great and the beds very comfortable, but these are the only good remarks. Even though everything is new in the hostel the cleaning was poor and the kitchen and the shower room were always dirty. The shower room even had a broken shower hanger and a clogged drain, unbelievable for a brand new hostel! I had to go to one of Reykjavík's swimming pools to take a nice and clean shower, can you imagine that?
All in all, I believe when the works are all done, It will finally become a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

first we weren't sure if we came to the right place... it looked so nice and fancy =) the staff was really nice, the room were enormously big (we stayed at a 14 bed dorm and even had a sofa in the room =) ), linen was included in the price and it was very afforable. also the kitchen was well equipped and both kitchen and bathrooms were cleaned well every morning! I totally recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The hotel lobby is currently undergoing some remodelling work and it currently looks half finished. It's a laid back hotel for the under 35-40's so it didn't really bother us, we didn't see anyone older than us the time we spent there, if anything we were a little confused because we saw a lot of backpackers kicking around!
We worked out later on in our stay that the hotel has apartments, rooms and hostel rooms, we stayed in a room and booked it a month ahead. We chose it for the pictures of the rooms and price and we weren't disappointed!
We were VERY pleased with the room upon seeing it. Everything was brand new and beautifully decorated, mostly in a minimalist style. The bed was a double bed , huge, soft, comfortable and with extra pillows. I usually go for a harder mattress but for some reason the soft bed didn't bother me on this trip, in fact I had great nights sleep night after night!
The minibar was kitted out to perfection, chocolate, crisps, nuts, Icelandic treats and beers, soft drinks and pretzels.
The bathroom was really lovely! Walk-in shower, tiled in lovely new and expensive looking slate tiles. Two showers head, and overhead larger one and a smaller one on the side in case you don't want to get your hair wet. Hair drier was supplied and so was soap, shampoo, conditioner and a small box with complimentary goodies like a shower cap, earbuds etc. they also provide luxurious bathrobes and slippers, we felt so pampered!
The room had underfloor heating and even though the main window was very large giving you great views, it doesn't open, only the smaller one next to it does and even then, only a fraction, meaning the room got pretty warm at times. Never quite uncomfortably, however I do prefer a colder room to sleep in, I didn't mind it so much but my partner did. There's no thermostat so the only way to quickly cool the room down is by opening the door which is not the best option but it did work and we didn't need to have it open for long. We stayed mid August so this might not even be an issue come winter time however.
The 2seater sofa at the end of the room along with the writing desk and chair were very comfortable and got used for hanging out more than the downstairs lobby.
The tv was flat screen, new and mounted on the wall, slightly off centre to the bed which was strange since there was plenty of space on the wall for it to be centred. It had UK channels only but missing Chanel 4.
Breakfast and coffee were served on one side of the lobby in the morning but due to refurbishment there were no tables to eat at. This wasn't an issue since we usually prefer local cafes.
The desk people were very helpful and were happy to book and arrange whatever we needed.
Free wifi was great and a huge plus specially since most people staying in the hotel were travelling and could use it to check maps before heading out.
The hotel has a supermarket right in front, the hlemmur bus station, a taxi rank and several cafes nearby making it a perfectly located hotel in my opinion.
We did a few tours and every one of them picked us up from our doorstep.
When I come back to Reykjavik I will make sure I come back to this hotel, I was very much impressed specially considering the price and location. We also stayed at 2 other hotels during our stay and neither were as competitively priced, as well located, as new and beautifully fitted as hlemmur square hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hlemmur Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hlemmur Square

Address: Laugavegur 105, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 59 Specialty lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hlemmur Square 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel and Social Hostel with cafe, bar, restaurant and tourist information office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Expedia, Venere, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hlemmur Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hlemmur Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.