We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Reykjavik Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borg Restaurant

Borg Restaurant
Posthusstraeti 9-11, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
+(354)578-2020
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #121 of 323 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Cuisines: Seafood, Scandinavian, International, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: With an unyielding passion for Icelandic ingredients chef Volundur Volundarson has created not only his books but also his hit TV show Delicious Iceland which has aired all over the world – including the BBC Lifestyle channel.Chef Volundur is known for his creativity and is valiant in his quest of trying new things. He cooked on hot lava when the volcano Hekla erupted back in 2000 and has made amazing ice sculptures at Breiðamerkurlón from icebergs from Vatnajökull glacier. His innovative vision and talent have earned him many national and international awards of recognition for culinary excellence. His latest project and probably his most ambitious so far is Borg Restaurant. Located on the ground floor of the monumental Hotel Borg – in the heart of the city, Borg Restaurant is the place for people across all hours. Open for breakfast, lunch, afternoon drinks, dinners and weekend brunch, Borg Restaurant is a bustling and breathtaking space in one of Iceland´s landmark buildings.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A Reykjavik Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had read reviews and hiked into town in order to experience some of the best cuisine in the area. Besides, we are a Star Trek family and the name, alone, made us smile. We took a few wrong turns, arriving only 15 minutes before midday closure, but the staff welcomed us-- most appreciated. My husband's wolf fish was seasoned to perfection. I chose the four tastings in order to sample a variety of foods--each was outstanding, especially the wok beef. We were more than happy we took the time to visit Hotel Borg's excellent restaurant. We bet you'll agree!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    10
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The best meal we had in Iceland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely splendid meal. My wife had salmon with ling and I had the lamb. Both meals excellent. Good standard of service and pleasantly surprised with the cost. Would definitely recommend compared with other restaurants we went to.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely fish and superb coctails!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Borg is one of my favorite places to go for a drink or late lunch. Their happy hour is on of the best in Reykjavík and is from 17-19 every day.

If you want to go out for a dinner then I am a huge fan of their fish dishes but if you are in to meat - then their lamb is to die for! The design of the place is very stylish and the staff is wonderful. The hostess Gulla is one of a kind! This place is more than just "something" to eat. It is an experience.

Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Great fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were a little weary walking in. First, we came here because we couldn't get a reservation on short notice at the most highly rated place. Here, it was no problem. Then, around 7:00 the dining room was empty, and the room is just off the lobby of the Hotel and there is a bar in the middle of the room. BUT, it was a great meal. First the place filled up by 8:00 and had a lively atmosphere. Second, the food was excellent. We split a bento box for an appetizer, which gave you four different tastes of food. My wife then had the fish sampler, which gave her four of the five fish dishes on the menu. All were good. I had the arctic char, which was the best piece of fish I had in Iceland. So, if you can't get into one of the hotter rated place, this is a great option for a seafood meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LadyGreen76, Manager at Borg Restaurant, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear JJO,

Thank you so much for your review on Borg Restaurant. We are truly happy that you enjoyed the experience.

All the best,
Thora Sigurdardottir
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Meal at a Fair Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had the tasting menu wich was, as the title says, a really good meal for a fair prize. I'd say overall this would be the third best restaurant we ate at Reykjavik, surpased only by the Grillmarket and The Fish Company, and our only minor complain would be that they bring you the courses toguether, 4 by 4 (first 4, then 4, then the dessert), wich made the last of the second round of courses a bit cold, but other than that the food was really good and a couple of courses memorable

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LadyGreen76, Manager at Borg Restaurant, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Thorrgal,

thank you so much for your review of Borg Restaurant. We greatly appreciate it!

All the best,
Thora Sigurdardottir
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borg Restaurant also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Borg Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borg Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.