We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Borg Restaurant Perfect dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borg Restaurant

Borg Restaurant
Posthusstraeti 9-11, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
+(354)578-2020
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #131 of 320 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, International, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: With an unyielding passion for Icelandic ingredients chef Volundur Volundarson has created not only his books but also his hit TV show Delicious Iceland which has aired all over the world – including the BBC Lifestyle channel.Chef Volundur is known for his creativity and is valiant in his quest of trying new things. He cooked on hot lava when the volcano Hekla erupted back in 2000 and has made amazing ice sculptures at Breiðamerkurlón from icebergs from Vatnajökull glacier. His innovative vision and talent have earned him many national and international awards of recognition for culinary excellence. His latest project and probably his most ambitious so far is Borg Restaurant. Located on the ground floor of the monumental Hotel Borg – in the heart of the city, Borg Restaurant is the place for people across all hours. Open for breakfast, lunch, afternoon drinks, dinners and weekend brunch, Borg Restaurant is a bustling and breathtaking space in one of Iceland´s landmark buildings.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Borg Restaurant Perfect dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

What a wonderful dinner experience! For four people with different tastes, the chef truly came through. Both our boys enjoyed the lamb and I was quite pleased with my fish dish pleasantly spiced but not overwhelming the pleasant fish taste. The true measure of the chef, however, was his on the spot response to my husband’s request for a vegetarian dish. This was not on the menu but was a wonderful mixture of vegetables, our thanks for this accommodation. The meal ended with four outstanding deserts.

Excellent personal service made the entire experience one to remember! I highly recommend Borg for your next Icelandic adventure..

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    10
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Place to Eat In Iceland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Five star service! Very professional, friendly, and welcoming. Knowledgeable, smart, not over-whelming or in your face. Probably the most hospitable place I've ever eaten on a trip abroad. The food was great too and I loved the way the chef played with the Icelandic ingredients. It's exactly the kind of dining experience I was looking for during my first (ant not last) trip to Iceland Very approachable and by far my best dining experience in Reykjavik. I'd encourage you to enjoy a wonderful evening and meal at this amazing restaurant!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food, service and ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had a wonderful meal in this restaurant. The room was very nice, with a
beautiful Art Deco flair and some cool charm to it. The service was excellent,
knowledgeable, and professional. And the food was fascinating, very elaborate
and presented beautifully.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Must try harder”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Had the tasting menu, food was excellent but the poor chef was being let down by the clumsy front of house staff. After being offered a cocktail to start, we were left without a drink whilst the table next to us who arrived later were being poured wine. After a tantalising thirsty 20min wait we were delivered our cocktails (delishious) and we asked the waitress to give us a little time to enjoy them before the first courses came. Ok she said, then proceeded to deliver the bento box whilst we were less than half way through the cocktail! I asked if there was a wine flight to match the food, and waitress went off to ask(!) then never came back! There was not so we went for a reisling, and it arrived at the same time as the bento box, so we were a little overwhelmed with drinks. The wine was a little warm, and the waiter poured it anyway after telling us so! it didnt cool down enough until the final glass.

Apart from the inexperienced staff, these few faults did not spoil our meal. the chef is talented, if a little overzealous with the fruit, and chilli at times. The meat courses were my favourite, the smoked lamb and beef were the starring roles.

Desert was very dissapointing. A strange orange jelly like granular carrot cake with a tastless icecream. Had to ask exactly what it was, because it was so strange.

Must try harder.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best location and chill atmosphere and great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Borg is the grand old Reykjavik hotel and restaurant. It's been smartly redecorated. We had brunch on a Saturday morning. Very chilled atmosphere and great food, egg benedict, spicy beef and pancakes. Well done!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borg Restaurant also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Borg Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borg Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.