We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hot chocolate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Mezzo

Cafe Mezzo
Laekjargata 2a | 2nd floor, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
+(354)5713150
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 289 restaurants in Reykjavik
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Café, Pub, Tea Room
Restaurant details
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic hot chocolate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

The first cafe we stopped in during our trip to Iceland, on a dark, cold and windy evening. Great atmosphere, nice location above a bookshop, and the best hot chocolate we had on our trip. We returned on our last night for a second time and were not disappointed.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    24
    4
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT FOR HEALTHY SNACK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

popped in here with husband / 2 teenage boys. Had superb snacks, good quick service, very friendly spoke excellent english. I had the waiters mums home made bread - made with spelt - wish i could have taken her home with me just for this.Cost us about £40 but good sized portions all presented lovely, well worth a visit, serves pan inis, bagels, healthy salads, muffins, all home made and YUM

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Great hot chocolate and coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Endless coffee refills, lovely home baking and delicious hot chocolate.. And inside a book shop...what more could one ask for?

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Not really a cappuccino ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We were desperate to escape the icy rain & dreary cloud so took the escalators up from the tourist shop below to what looked & felt like a student coffee bar.
We asked for 2 cappuccinos but what we actually got was 2 lattes as there was no froth, chocolate or sprinkles! Just like a flat white.
Both were lukewarm and gone in 3 gulps! For the price it would have been nice to have had a small biscuit on the side.
With so much competition we were rather disappointed we chose this venue to escape the cold & murk. Oh and to use the toilet you have to ask for a key!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great Hot Chocolate/Friendly Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Popped in here on my first night in Iceland. Night is miserable and wet but Anna's friendly smile and wonderful, creamy, thick sweet hot chocolate drove it all away. Only in town for 48 hours but pretty sure I'll be back to try the coffee.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mezzo also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Cafe Mezzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Mezzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.