We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for accomodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loft Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Loft Hostel to your Saves list
Loft Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Bankastraeti 7, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good place for accomodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The hostel is at the city center. It has bar and cafe at 4th floor, so it is good to spend time with friends. Staff is kind and helpful. The hostel was also clean. The breakfast is not included in the price and I do not recommend to have breakfast at the hostel. You can have cheaper and more delicious at outside. I highly recommend to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    32
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
21
60
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Lovely little hostel in the heart of down town reykjavik, the facilities are great, nice kitchen, free wifi, the staff are really friendly and helpful, the bar has Happy hour between 4 and 8 and serves great coffee all day. Can't fault them at all!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Excellent locale in the center of Reykjavik - easy to access attractions, shopping, restaurants, cafes, and the municipal swimming pool with its outdoor hot tubs. Great new facility that's clean, has comfortable beds, a great loft common area with bar, and a communal kitchen. Super easy and convenient. Much more affordable than a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Had the pleasure of staying here with my wife, 5 yr old son and twin 1 yr old daughters at the end of our Iceland Road Trip. After 10 days on the road I think we experienced just about every type of Hostel in the country. This was a welcome finish to our trip.

Pros: Fun & energetic atmosphere. Private toilet and shower. Clean. Friendly. Centrally located. Upstairs bar/lounge area is super fun, great breakfast selection + a kitchen and a great outdoor sitting area.

Cons: Right in the heart of the city and with 24 hours of daylight it can be pretty noisy on the street below. They were nice enough to provide a bowl of earplugs though, so it wasn't that bad.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Loft hostel is the friendliest place I have ever stayed at so far. Me and my wife stayed there a couple of nights in a 2 bed private room. which was basic but absilutely clean and cosy. The "loft" terrace is an amazing place to hang out and meet people. The reception staff (actaully everyone) is super helpful... all the help you need planning (and booking) tours, excursions etc is available right here. A brilliant place during airwaves as well (a good venue for off-venue gigs)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

During my trip in October, My stay was easy and hassle free, a little hard to find at first because of the inner city traffic and foot traffic for the shopping district, but once found, it was simple to remember. The Staff was warm and friendly, helped me book my Blue Lagoon trip w/ bus trip round fare. (ps: not far from BSI terminal) Great location for food, shopping, sights and more. Rooming was simple, i stayed in a bunk style room with four bunks which slept 2 people. had my own safe storage (bring a lock) while you go out on the town. I enjoyed the ease of use to charge my electronics/ batteries, the headboard had its own little light, with switch, and plug in outlet. (dont forget your conversions/adapters!)

I confidently recommend this hostel, whether your flying Solo, or with a small group.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed in a 5 bed female dorm that had the bathroom ensuite and had a great stay. I was slightly worried that since its relatively new there would be kinks needing to get worked out, but quite the opposite. Everything is new and kept very clean and the staff were incredibly helpful and efficient. They'll call tour companies to book excursions for you and have numerous suggestions for eateries, cafes, museums, etc. They clearly know the city and are passionate about it. I suggest skipping the breakfast and trying the many bakeries they can suggest for icelandic pancakes and other goodies, if you're a light eater you'll actually save money this way. Only complaint is a lack of hostel-wide activities. As a solo traveler, that would have helped facilitating meeting people. Wi-fi was fairly good, kitchen adequate for needs (there is also a patio grill for use). Everything very organized and clean. Being in the city center makes nearly everything walkable. Cannot recommend it enough.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper ask for a room that is not facing the street as there are bars nearby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Loft Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loft Hostel

Address: Bankastraeti 7, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Loft Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loft Hostel, recently voted by guests as the best HI hostel worldwide for 2014. Loft is located downtown Reykjavik, on city's main shopping street, next door to all the major attractions and buzzing nightlife. Loft boasts one of the finest views in town with its large top floor balcony cafe overlooking the center - a great spot to people watch or catch a glimpse of the northern lights in winter. Loft Cafe & Bar offers top quality Cemex coffee, beer from local breweries as well as some homemade sweet and savory treats. The famous (often vegetarian/vegan) Coocoo's Soup is served Mon-Fri from lunch. Fast and free WiFi throughout all areas. Facilities include guest kitchen with BBQ terrace and free luggage storage during stay. Free Computer access. Board Games. Book Exchange. Children Corner. Selections of great rooms! All rooms have complementary linen. All rooms are en suite. All 4-8 bedded rooms have lockers for valuables (bring your own lock or buy at the reception). Spacious 6 - 8 bedded dormitories (mixed / female only). Private 4-5 bedded rooms. Deluxe Double or budget Twin/Double rooms. Loft is an ECO certified HI Hostel. Inspiring events every week: live music, DJ's, movie nights, markets, art collaborations and unmissable hostel events featuring the best local talents. Foosball tournaments. Reception / Tour Desk / Cafe & Bar is open 24 hours a day. We are there to help you out with anything; give you the local scoop on bars, restaurants, music-scene, the way out of town - and more. We arrange all excursions with complimentary pickup & drop off. Loft Team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers and Despegar.com so you can book your Loft Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loft Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.