We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and facilities, helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loft Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Loft Hostel to your Saves list
Loft Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Bankastraeti 7, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save ISK250 on select meals
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Westport, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location and facilities, helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed in a 5 bed female dorm that had the bathroom ensuite and had a great stay. I was slightly worried that since its relatively new there would be kinks needing to get worked out, but quite the opposite. Everything is new and kept very clean and the staff were incredibly helpful and efficient. They'll call tour companies to book excursions for you and have numerous suggestions for eateries, cafes, museums, etc. They clearly know the city and are passionate about it. I suggest skipping the breakfast and trying the many bakeries they can suggest for icelandic pancakes and other goodies, if you're a light eater you'll actually save money this way. Only complaint is a lack of hostel-wide activities. As a solo traveler, that would have helped facilitating meeting people. Wi-fi was fairly good, kitchen adequate for needs (there is also a patio grill for use). Everything very organized and clean. Being in the city center makes nearly everything walkable. Cannot recommend it enough.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper ask for a room that is not facing the street as there are bars nearby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    31
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
20
56
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I honestly can't think of a single fault. The location is perfect - right in the centre of downtown, there are plenty of shops, bars and cafes etc right on the doorstep, but a massive help is that the offices for Grayline/Iceland Excursions is a two minute walk down the hill, which comes in very handy (they are also very good and worth booking with). The rooms are modern, spotlessly clean, very secure and as someone else mentioned, the headboard socket and light is very handy. But the best thing about the hostel is the staff. I'm pretty sure I've not stayed anywhere were they were more helpful, cheerful and just nice - really goes a long way. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Loft is a very comfortable hostel. it is new and clean and has a great upstairs area with a bar, couches, books and a terrace with a good view of Reykjavik. The location is unbeatable. Close to all the bars and restaurants and all the sights of the city.

The staff are friendly and helpful, and you can book various tours through them (as well as a bus ticket to the airport, which leaves from around the corner).

I stayed in the double room with a friend. It was quite small, but had a good bathroom with a hot shower. It was on the back side of the property, so we didn't experience much noise that the other reviewers referred to.

The only down side is that there isnt too much atmosphere in this hostel compared to others that I have stayed in. People generally keep to themselves and don't use the common area too much except for happy hour (which lasts from 5-8 every day).

Room Tip: Try get a room at the back of the hostel (away from the street) to avoid the noise on Friday and Sat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Definitely one of the best hostels I've stayed in. As it's new, the owners definitely gave some thought to what a lodger will need. All beds come with its little storage in the headboard and everyone gets an individual night light and power socket (indispensable these days when one has a tonne of devices to charge each night!). As someone else mentioned, each room also has it's own toilet and shower (which is huge to start off with) so it's really convenient. Toilets are also disabled friendly (and by that, I mean it comes with rails and all!). Another plus point is that it's smack in the middle of town and easily accessible via the Iceland Excursions airport bus (different from the FlyBus). Iceland Excursions is not only cheaper all round, but since Loft is a stone throw away from the terminal, you don't need to pay excess charges for the bus to come pick you up. Of course, this being a hostel, one can't complain about the thin walls, but the friendly staff do make up for it. And of course, there is a never ending stream of activity going on in the common area in the evenings if you are bored. Definitely a stayer in Reykjavik!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed in a private double room. Fantastic location and possibly the best hotel staff I've ever encountered. They were so helpful with every question we had. There had been a problem with our reservation before leaving for Iceland and they bent over backwards to solve this problem and gave us a discount to make up this.

The good: Very clean, BEST luxury shower I could imagine in a budget hotel, staff is so helpful in questions about the hotel as well as booking tours and trips around Iceland. 24 hour kitchen that has private storage bins so you can grocery shop and save some money by not going to restaurants. Free wifi.

The less good: 1) bring earplugs. Honestly, the for the location right on Reykjavik's main party strip, I thought it would be a lot louder. Plus, the reception area turns into a bar at night. The hotel seems to have good thick walls and I thought it would be a lot louder than it actually was. The more disruptive noise was other guests coming in the stairwell door right outside our room. Overall, not really a problem but I always put in earplugs as a precaution.

2) No shelf or hanger space. None at all. I would have loved to unpack and get organized but had to live out of my suitcase. In a private room, this wasn't a big problem, but a friend mentioned she was staying in a 6 bed dorm and the room was a mess because no one had anywhere to put their stuff. Again, because everything else about this hotel was so fantastic, this really was a minor problem.

I will without question book a private room in this hostel again. For the price, this place exceeded my expectations. I had a great stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are going to be noisy on the weekends. The rooms are on the 2nd and 3rd floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odder, Denmark
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were a group of 35, including 10 manuel wheel chair users staying at Loft Hostel for a week in September 2013. There is a great reception area/lounge area, perfect for groups to use as a common room. Despite the pace being quite full some evenings due to live music being performed there, it was still possible for the people in wheel chairs to get around.

The dorms are spacious enough for several wheel chairs at the same time. The bathrooms at the dorms are a bit small, but there are spacious disability friendly bathrooms on every floor.

The hostel is nice and clean. The staff are all very helpfull and smiling. And the location is perfect, right in the middle of Reykjavik City centre. Our students also enjoyed the visitors kitchen, when they did not want to eat out.

We can recommed to use Loft hostel for groups travelling with or without persons with disabilities.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

It's well designed new hostel, very nice staff .. cool bar /dinning area.. new kitchen, nice balcony... wifi has no problem.. it's located in the main street of Reykjavik downtown. Free blanket and linen (for 4 beds room and double room), private bathroom is a bonus.

A bit expensive but it's valued. The only complaint was our double room was overlooking the back of the building which was very bad.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Loft Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loft Hostel

Address: Bankastraeti 7, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Loft Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loft Hostel, recently voted by guests as the best HI hostel worldwide for 2014. Loft is located downtown, on city's main shopping street, next door to all the major attractions and Reykjavik's buzzing nightlife. Loft boasts one of the finest views in town with its large top floor balcony cafe overlooking the center - a great spot to people watch or catch a glimpse of the northern lights in winter. Loft Cafe & Bar offers top quality Cemex coffee, beer from local breweries as well as some homemade sweet and savory treats. The famous (often vegetarian/vegan) Coocoo's Soup is served Mon-Fri from lunch. Fast and free WiFi throughout all areas. Facilities include guest kitchen with BBQ terrace and free luggage storage during stay. Free Computer access. Board Games. Book Exchange. Children Corner. Selections of great rooms! All rooms have complementary linen. All rooms are en suite. All 4-8 bedded rooms have lockers for valuables (bring your own lock or buy at the reception). Spacious 6 - 8 bedded dormitories (mixed / female only). Private 4-5 bedded rooms. Deluxe Double or budget Twin/Double rooms. Loft is an ECO certified HI Hostel. Inspiring events every week: live music, DJ's, movie nights, markets, art collaborations and unmissable hostel events featuring the best local talents. Don't miss our foosball tournaments! Reception / Tour Desk / Cafe & Bar is open 24 hours a day. We are there to help you out with anything; give you the local scoop on bars, restaurants, music-scene, the way out of town - and more. We arrange all excursions with complimentary pickup & drop off. Loft Team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Loft Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loft Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.