We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal we had in Iceland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MAR Restaurant

MAR Restaurant
Geirsgata 9 | Hafnarbudir, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
+354 519 5050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #105 of 323 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Price range: $15 - $61
Cuisines: Seafood, Scandinavian, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Iceland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had dinner in MAR, and by far was the best dining experience we had on the whole trip.
After a while looking at the menu, we decided to take both the tasting menu. As with most tasting menus, we had to order it both so we did. It is expensive as some reviewers have said, but food in Iceland is very very expensive, so its something you have to take on account.

The menu included a rissotto with lobster (incredible), scallops, salmon, bacalao (don't remember the translation), lamb (we preferred lamb over meat and they had no problem with it) and 3 desserts.

Everything was amazing and will visit again when in Reykjavik.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at MAR Restaurant, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Sergei P,

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your dining experience at MAR restaurant. It is always a pleasure to read about our guests satisfaction and we are proud that you consider our tasting menu the best meal you had in Iceland.

Kind regards,
The team at MAR restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    30
    12
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Tasty. Good food. Expensive but tasting menu worth it. Hope they update menu. Would visit for lunch again not dinner gaim yet

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at MAR Restaurant, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Steinnlogo,

We are very happy to hear that you appreciated your dining experience at MAR restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you again, whether its for lunch or dinner.

Kind regards,
The team at MAR restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A satisfying twist on the usual lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We visited this restaurant at about 16:45 and we received a warm welcome and was offered the lunch menu, which proved good value (particularly as it was happy hour on drinks) and truly satisfying. We too had the lobster piadina along with sweet potato fries which were both delicious and a great twist on your usual lunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at MAR Restaurant, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Simon B,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your dining experience at MAR restaurant. It’s always a pleasure to achieve our guest’s satisfaction and we are pleased to read that we met yours.

Kind regards,
The team at MAR restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Two adults had the chef's tasting menu (with wine) and two kids had regular meals. Total USD 300 or 220 Euros. We all really enjoyed what we had. I would have liked some Arctic Char, but the other fish were excellent.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at MAR Restaurant, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear kzh43323,

Thank you for taking time to post your review about your dining experience at MAR restaurant. It’s always a great pleasure to achieve our guest’s satisfaction and it makes us happy that you liked our seafood. Arctic Char is surely something we'll keep in mind when we'll revise our menu.

Kind regards,
The team at MAR restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Prime location, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Prime location next to the harbor in a newly renovated building. You feel that this is aimed at tourists as there is a tourist shop adjacent to the restaurant.

Nice food (they grill a whole lamb just outside the restaurant) and setting.

The staff is a little inattentive (never seemed to get their attention) and the wine list is extremely limited but this is a nice place to come for some food after a visit to the harbor!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at MAR Restaurant, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear ON_Iceland,

Thank you for choosing MAR restaurant and taking the time to share your sincere feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the lamb and rest assured we've worked through your points with our team.

Kind regards,
The ream at MAR restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MAR Restaurant also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to MAR Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MAR Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.