We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MAR Restaurant

MAR Restaurant
Geirsgata 9 | Hafnarbudir, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
+354 519 5050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 289 restaurants in Reykjavik
Price range: $16 - $68
Cuisines: Seafood, Scandinavian, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Two adults had the chef's tasting menu (with wine) and two kids had regular meals. Total USD 300 or 220 Euros. We all really enjoyed what we had. I would have liked some Arctic Char, but the other fish were excellent.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at MAR Restaurant, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear kzh43323,

Thank you for taking time to post your review about your dining experience at MAR restaurant. It’s always a great pleasure to achieve our guest’s satisfaction and it makes us happy that you liked our seafood. Arctic Char is surely something we'll keep in mind when we'll revise our menu.

Kind regards,
The team at MAR restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    59
    22
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Prime location, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Prime location next to the harbor in a newly renovated building. You feel that this is aimed at tourists as there is a tourist shop adjacent to the restaurant.

Nice food (they grill a whole lamb just outside the restaurant) and setting.

The staff is a little inattentive (never seemed to get their attention) and the wine list is extremely limited but this is a nice place to come for some food after a visit to the harbor!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at MAR Restaurant, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear ON_Iceland,

Thank you for choosing MAR restaurant and taking the time to share your sincere feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the lamb and rest assured we've worked through your points with our team.

Kind regards,
The ream at MAR restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Lovely ambience at the wharf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stopped in for a coffee and were treated to a beautiful restaurant with wooden tables, dark wood walls, and especially good background music. Just a step from the various tour boats, it's a perfect place to stop for lunch. Very friendly staff

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at MAR Restaurant, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear papillon2020,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your visit to MAR restaurant. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our refreshments and the design of the place.

Kind regards,
The team at MAR restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice situated by the sea but nothing special inside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

If you lookin for a decent restaurant at the harbour it's fine but don't expect any extra out of the kitchen. They're doin ok but not more. Short wine- and beerlist.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at MAR Restaurant, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Dany R,

Thank you for taking time to post your review about your dining experience at MAR restaurant. Always aiming for the excellence we are sorry to hear that we didn't meet your expectations.

Kind regards,
The team at MAR restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A memorable meal in Reykjavik”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Mar is an Icelandic restaurant with a Latin flair. The seafood was very fresh and my husband said the lamb was the best he has tasted. Everything was exceptional- food, wine, decor, location and service. I highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at MAR Restaurant, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear robinandadam,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your dining experience at MAR restaurant. It’s always a pleasure to achieve our guest’s satisfaction and we are pleased to read that we met yours. Icelandic lamb is truly something and chef Sveinn has surely a magical touch on it.

Kind regards,
The team at MAR restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MAR Restaurant also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to MAR Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MAR Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.