We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked it a lot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MAR Restaurant

MAR Restaurant
Geirsgata 9 | Hafnarbudir, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
+354 519 5050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 322 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $56
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Contemporary, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Liked it a lot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Beautiful restaurant and very good service, loved the waiters and got a wonderful service from Haldor. (Iceland is very open about homosexuality. Should be like that in more countries) Wonderful interior and very good dishes, pricey but worth it.

Plus go to Slippbarinn after and get brilliant cocktails in a very unique like MAR and simular Icelandic vintage style.

We went whale watching before and everything is close downtown.
Love Reykjavik.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at MAR Restaurant, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear 42139Laura_M,

Thank you for taking time to post your kind review about your dining experience at MAR restaurant. We appreciate your kind comments regarding the location, the staff and all the services. It’s always a pleasure to achieve our guest’s satisfaction.

Kind Regards,
The team at MAR restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    37
    17
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great for any occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I had lunch there a couple of days after it opened for a business meeting and I loved the chicken salad! Really outstanding.
Then I took my wife out a couple of weeks ago and it was equally impressive. We had the chef taster menu and it was really something. I think I remember 8 courses, most of them absolutely delicious. The ones I loved most, my wife liked less and vice versa so it was really something for everyone. I especially enjoyed the salted cod and the rib eye. The playful presentation of the smaller courses was delightful and of course they topped off the whole meal with a dessert buffet on a plate to share that blew us away. Sorbets, ice cream, créme bruleé, fruits and more. It´s always nice to go out on a very high note. Top marks for the food.

As always with a new restaurant, we had a few hiccups with the service as they are still being trained and didn´t know every part of the menu but everybody gave service with a smile and a sincere willingness to take great care of us.

We will definitely be back soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at MAR Restaurant, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Valsson,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your dining experiences at MAR restaurant. We really appreciate those. It’s always a pleasure to achieve our guest’s satisfaction and we are pleased to read that we met your expectations.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our restaurant.

Kind regards,
The team at MAR restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I highly recommend this place right by the harbour. I had a quick lunch here during my visit and had the lobster piadina, fried lobster, zucchini, tomato jam and ruccola salad combined with a glass of white wine it was absolutely wonderful.
MAR in Icelandic means ocean and the interior/decor is modern, light and open with an ocean theme to it.
I would recommend you a visit to this new spot in Reykjavik.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at MAR Restaurant, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear TheTrueGreatDane,

Thank you for choosing MAR restaurant and for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read about your positive dining experience with us and we’re looking forward to welcoming you back if you return to Reykjavík!

Kind regards,
The team at MAR restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, delicious food, and terrific service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I've been to iceland several times and MAR is by far my favorite place to eat. Delicious food with choices for everyone. Reasonably priced, terrific service, a must visit!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at MAR Restaurant, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Captain_J_1977,

Thank you for taking time to post your kind review about your dining experience at MAR restaurant. We highly appreciate it and look forward to welcoming you to our restaurant again.

Kind Regards,
The team at MAR restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Holistic icelandic/latino experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The food here was amazing, really fresh and the combinations that really surprised us. You can feel the chefs are really ambitious in focused in doing something unique, I think for instance the smoke their own salt and salt the cod themselves etc. The atmosphere was laid back and service was really good. Had a proper Italian Negroni before the dinner, you cant get that in to many bars in Reykjavik. Had both lobster risotto and chimichurri rib eye steak and both courses were exceptionally good. I would recommend MAR to anybody it is truly a fresh input into the Reykjavik restaurant flora.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at MAR Restaurant, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Hafsteinn189970,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It’s always a pleasure to achieve our guest’s satisfaction and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards,
The team at MAR restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MAR Restaurant also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to MAR Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MAR Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.