We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bookstore/cafe in Reykjavík” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ida Zimsen

Ida Zimsen
Vesturgata 2a | 101 Reykjavik, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
354-551-5004
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 348 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert, Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Reykjavik, Iceland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best bookstore/cafe in Reykjavík”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

It's a must to go to this place ( center of Reykjavík ), for a cup of good coffee and a bit to eat, have a good variety of cakes and bread rolls. Their cakes are absolutely delicious and so are the various bread rolls. Great atmosphere, beautiful old renovated old building. And the bonus is that they also sell good books, they have a good variety of " different " books.
This is a " must try while in Reykjavík "

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    9
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk UK
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“A very cosy place to while away an hour.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We were wandering around the old part of town and came across this charming book store/cum gift shop/Cafe with its friendly staff, variety of cakes, muffins, cookies etc and excellent choice of coffees/hot chocolate: it was the perfect excuse to take time out, sit in one of their window chairs and chill out. Not that many tables although it appears quite a favourite place with locals and we're already looking forward to returning here for brunch on our next visit to Reykjavik - would love to have more little gems like this back home!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“The best of the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

This coffee shop...deli...dessert place is one of my favorites. And one of the few places I could get decaf cappuccinos! We shared an apple, honey, brie on bagel which was to die for. The traditional rhubarb was so good I went back the next day for more...the best oatmeal cookie...Pleasant staff and very accommodating.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Coffee and cake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Lovely place to chill out, friendly staff and the best coffee you can buy. Try the carrot cake, WOW! Lovely place to be and our choice for pre hotel wind down.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great for a coffee stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This book shop is in the heart of the old town , we stopped for a nice hot Coffee after having been on a freezing cold boat trip. My husband and I both had a large latte and a delicious muffin, he had apple I had blueberry , not to keen on muffins normally but these were amazing I am a convert if they all taste as good as these ones. They have a lovely display of homemade cakes and sandwiches . Very busy both times we went so if you go in and see a table grab it quick as it will not be there for long .

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ida Zimsen also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Ida Zimsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ida Zimsen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.