We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fridrik V

Fridrik V
Laugavegur 60 | Reykjavik, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
4615775
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 323 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Cuisines: Scandinavian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014 NEW

Fridrik V was a fantastic experience. The exceptional cooking is just a part of it. The family that run it are very friendly and eager to engage with you about their food, the source of their ingredients, discover your likes and preferences and try to incorporate them in your meal and generally make you feel like a very valued guest.
We went for the five course wine paired menu (and a beer to start off with).
The dad who manages the kitchen is a genius. Each dish is presented innovatively and tastes just scrumptious. The beer suggestion (Einstok - DO have when in Iceland) was brilliant. The wine pairings were great, but could have been better. The mum & daughter (and her bf) who were looking after us told us about how each of the local ingredients had been sourced and even helped us with recommendations for what to do after. At no point during our 3.5 hour dinner did we feel rushed. The individual attention was great - e.g. we had initially booked a very early 3-course dinner to go on a Aurora tour after, but they called us without knowing (but having guessed) this and asked if we wanted to come at a better hour for a longer while given all tours had been cancelled that evening.
A double thumbs up.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    33
    10
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014 NEW

On our last night in Reykjavik we came across the Fridrik V with it's "Surprise" menus! The restaurant only serves locally produced fresh food and the menu changes daily. If you like food and are willing to try different dishes we would thoroughly recommend this restaurant. We had the three course surprise menu which was supplemented by a number of amuse bouche dishes. Each dish is explained in detail including the location of all components - really interesting! My fiancee is allergic to shell fish and the staff dealt with this in a very friendly and helpful manner. The service was friendly and very professiional. TRY IT!

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

My friend and I had a lovely night at this restaurant savouring the 3 course menu with accompanying wines. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. The service was friendly and informative and the ambience was cosy and welcoming. All up a great night out.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsburg, Missouri
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Dinner Full of Delicious Surprises”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

My wife and I made reservations for our dinner and it's a good thing we did - people coming in off the street were turned away the whole time we were there. We each ordered the three course surprise menu and a glass of the house red wine, not opting for the beer/wine pairing with each course - much cheaper and the house wine was great. Our first, and second, surprises were not one of the courses - a couple of taste treats from the kitchen. Course one, the appetizer, actually had a part A and a part B - lobster, cod, and something else (can't remember). The main course was a slice of pork - sort of surprising - but very well cooked and delicious. Desert was a plate with four different desserts on it from ice cream to chocolate. The service was excellent. This is a small intimate restaurant - seemed about 50/50 tourists and Icelanders. Plenty of food with the three course - don't know what we would have done with the five course. This was a great dining experience.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

Small, family-run restaurant serving only what they call a 'surprise' menu. You choose whether you have 3 or 5 courses, and they bring the dishes to you. The staff are really friendly, and they are very proud of their restaurant and their country. Each dish comes with a full explanation of where the ingredients are sourced from, and how they are cooked. Definitely worth a try if you're in the area - it's like a culinary tour of Iceland!
Overall and very lovely evening, in the company of the lovely staff!

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fridrik V also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Fridrik V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fridrik V, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.