We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth its No. 1 rating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fridrik V

Fridrik V
Laugavegur 60 | Reykjavik, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
4615775
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 321 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Cuisines: Scandinavian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Worth its No. 1 rating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Justifiably the best restaurant in Reykjavik, with amazing attention to detail and sourcing of the best ingredients both locally and from across Iceland. A small and intimate restaurant that has been very attractively decorated to provide an appropriate setting for an amazing gastronomic experience. We went for the 5 course surprise menu. The water in Iceland is wonderful so didn't go for wine or beer on this occasion. We had:
1. 'The Clock' - homemade skyr mozarella & Icelandic cherry tomato, dried ham with blueberry sauce, pressed ox tongue with mustard, carrot & foie gras, smoked salmon with dill, herring with boiled (goose?) egg on rye bread, trout smoked over sheep dung (really! - an Icelandic speciality)
2. Lobster tail with salmon ravioli, organic beetroot, spinach leaves & tomato couli
3. 'Lobster capucino' - slowly prepared lobster soup
4. Fillet of beef wrapped in smoked ham with pan fried duck, roasted vegetables & fondant potatoes
5. Crème brûlée made with colostrum
6. Trio of deserts: Blueberry & raspberry ice cream with crushed meringue topping, fruit salad and chocolate soufflé
And all for less than £50 a head. Such good value for a special occasion.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    33
    10
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“It is not just dinner it is experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

What a beautiful evening we had while enjoying a dinner at this restaurant. Experience like no other! You don't know what you going to eat, but don't worry, whatever it comes it is very delicious and nicely presented. And even serving a food with a little story to explain what you are going to eat and with explanation from what part of Iceland it comes.
Atmosphere is great, friendly service, great food. Don't go there if you just want to eat quickly, go there if you want to enjoy your time and experience different style of restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Possibly the best cream of mushroom soup!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

We went to Fridrik V for a lunch today - menu was very simple with only one starter, two main and one dessert, we chose the vegetarian options with cream of mushroom soup, followed by spinach and cottage cheese ravioli with tomato and parmesan.

Many types of mushroom are used in the soup, it's very tasty. The ravioli was served with a very well-dressed and refreshing green salad. The set lunch costs less than ISK1800, which was absolutely a bargain.

If I'm not restricted by many dietary limitations, I will definitely try their surprise dinner menu!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Great food, attentive friendly and informed staff service delivered in a relaxing environment. Outstanding surprise 3 course menu served with good selection of Spanish wine and ports. Best testimonial was the number of people who were turned away because restaurant was full. Must pre-book!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quite an experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is an holistic dining experience - not like eating out in any other restaurant which I have previously come across. It certainly isn't cheap but, in my view, good value for a unique and unforgettable dining experience. The amount of effort which goes into sourcing the best produce, producing the food, pairing the wines and explaining the history and origin of the dishes is astounding. The staff are attentive and knowledgeable and the chef shows remarkable skill in crafting dishes of superior quality - truly world class. Even last minute dietary requirements are catered for though I recommend booking in advance and explain any dietary requirements you may have. We had the 5 course surprise menu with wine pairings but you can choose beer pairings (which I think I wish I had because I found out that Iceland are producing some great beers at the moment) or soft drink pairings. I won't spoil the surprise by listing the courses here but it truly is a taste of Iceland - highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fridrik V also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Fridrik V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fridrik V, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.