We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland or over salty and overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Satt

Satt
Nautholsvegi 52 | Icelandair Hotel Natura, Reykjavik, Iceland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #151 of 320 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
wilmington
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Bland or over salty and overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Typical hotel mediocre food for way too much money.
Vegetables were so salty, fish stew was so bland.
Skip it if you can.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    65
    28
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

I'd heard a lot about this restaurant before we came so was eager to try it, but was very disappointed. As we were staying at the Hotel Natura, the first night we ate dinner there. Service was painfully slow. We're talking a 3 hour dinner here. Thankfully we didn't have anywhere to be like some of the other very frustrated patrons near us. I enjoyed the asparagus soup, but my entree was flavorless. My husband's lamb was pungent like mutton, and I felt tasted very gamey, but he enjoyed it. We gave up on trying dessert as by 10, we were more than ready for bed.

The next morning we thought we would give their breakfast a shot as we had no idea yet where anything was or what we would find. Unless the buffet is included in your stay, just skip Satt. It was 3400 krona each, the food was very much buffet. Bread so dried out it was difficult to cut with the bread knife, rubbery scrambled eggs and food that just looked unappetizing. If you're staying at the hotel, skip Satt. You're a 10 minute walk from a convenience store with plenty of options, or a 20-30 minute walk into town.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food & Fun turned to Food & Farce”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Sad for the Food & Fun festival, this place managed to turn the whole experience into Food (much later) & Farce. Staff was completely clueless, restaurant kept running out of cutlery, it took us full three hours to go through the five tiny portions and a large party of six that came much later endedup finishing and getting their bills before us. No apologies from the staff. Highly recommend going somewhere else.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food, satisfactory service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Food was good, very busy so service was poor but they kept uo with the meals. Was a long dinner though.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bergen county, nj
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Terrible service and inattentive waitstaff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I sat down at 8:15 and did not get to leave until 10:15.
I ordered a soup and salad, my friend a 3 course meal of char, fish, and dessert.
It was over 1 hour before we got the first course/appetizer (and only after we asked 3 times what the holdup was). We never got asked how everything was or if we wanted anything else. Our waiter appeared to get scared of us as he handed our table off to another waiter. I confronted him about his terrible service and he told me "It was busy".
The manager never came over to apologize, and we got a measly "15% off" for our troubles.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Satt also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Satt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Satt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.