We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lebowski bar

Lebowski bar
Laugarvegur 20a, Reykjavik, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Improve this listing
Ranked #103 of 321 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Pub
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We ate at the Lebowski Bar one evening last week. We are big fans of the film so we were highly amused by all the Lebowski touches - the bowling lane on the wall, the rug sided bar and the TIME mirrors in the bathrooms. Although it was more like the owner just really likes the film, rather than a themed bar.
My husband has the Lebowski burger and fries with a White Russian and I had the Walter burger and fries with a Gull beer. The food was delicious and greasy. The beer was good too, and the White Russian also delicious I'm told, although pretty expensive, which is common in Iceland. Having said that, I don't really drink cocktails, but people have told me they cost that much in London too! And the food was pretty cheap.
It was a nice atmosphere, we sat and watched local football on the big screen and had a really nice time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    110
    32
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington Township, New Jersey
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“This place is pretty bad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

It was dirty. The service was surly and slow. It was dark and dank. I did order a white Russia. It was pretty good but you can't really mess that up. Wouldn't eat there. Too filthy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Cheapest, yummiest food in Reykjavik”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

It's not fine dining, but if you're tired of the generally high cost of food in Reykjavik, then head to the Lebowski bar for a yummy, filling, bargainous burger and milkshake. A definite must - even if just so that you can afford something fancier another night.

The atmosphere was fun and relaxed, and it was nice feeling that you could afford more than one drink!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Poor drinks in happy hour”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stopped in for a beer during happy hour. 2-4-1 offer. I had a very poor quality, standard lager and my wife had a warm glass of disgusting white wine. Tacky decor. Each to their own, but I prefer somewhere to feel real and genuine - not a fan of this Disneyland-esque, faux 50s diner theme.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Milkshake heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Nothing special about the burgers and chips but fresh and hot. It's the milkshakes, thick and creamy ( try the chocolate and peanut butter) that make this place special as well as the decor.Worth going for happy hour to get 2 beers for the price of one and they have screens showing English football matches and films.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lebowski bar also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Lebowski bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lebowski bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.