We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Warm and Homey ..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hansen Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Reykjavik
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hansen Apartments
Save
You added Hansen Apartments to your Saves list
Eiriksgata 17, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Nice, Warm and Homey ..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The apartment was really well equipped with everything we needed . Mr T ( the owner) very helpful and always ready with answers, ( if not he will google and print it for you.. He takes the trouble to fill the fridge with cereal, fresh orange and always a bottle of water... I think the best testimony is the fact that after two nights away ( we drove to Hofn) and back , we were actually looking forward to our return stay because it was like home...

Location is great ... Right on eiriksgata where Erik the Red statue is and the iconic Reyjavik Church, Hallsgrimskirja is . The apartment looked like a showroom in an Ikea brochure on you . Warm and homey which is really appreciated especially in such a cold cold country like Iceland..

Also for great and reasonable Icelandic food , go to Cafe Loki just opposite the church ..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I have just returned from Iceland where we celebrated, as a family, my youngest daughter's 30th birthday.
We stayed at the Hansen apartments for a long weekend (Fri-Mon).
The place was spotless, very close to central Rekyavik and easy to find and access.
Our host was extremely helpful and friendly, helped us out with good restaurants open on easter weekends. The kitchen was full of everything we could possibly need to get us going.
I would have no problem in recommending this place to anyone.
Thankyou.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a long weekend. Really perfect place for us - family of 5 adults. It was cost effective compared to hotels and located 10-15 mins from the city centre. Some things were even closer, including sites and restaurants. The apartment was spacious, clean and perfectly prepared - many key things including some food were provided. We bought supplies at Bonus. The shower was hot and rainfall style. The owner was friendly and helpful but discrete. The phone pre-arranged to dial his mobile with any questions was a lovely touch. Easy parking for free. Great quality free wifi. Big flat screen tv with many uk channels. The sheets were lovely and soft and the place was always warm!! Really couldn't think of anything else that might have made it better. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

What a delightful place to say. Great location, great service, great amenities, great hosts. Can’t say enough about it. Tryggvi is the owner/manager and he was wonderful to work with. Responsive to our e-mails in the days leading up to our stay and just a delight to interact with while there. We told him about the various activities we had planned and when we told him about our trip for the Northern Lights, he brought us a weather forecast and update on the prospects of seeing them. The icing on the cake, he brought us a box of Icelandic chocolates on Christmas Eve.

We had the lower level or garden apartment. Very spacious. Wonderful kitchen amenities. Dine in kitchen. Everything you need to cook as much as you wish. I love to cook and had all of the utensils and appliance. They even stocked a few things like orange juice, some tea and cereal. We replaced what we used as a courtesy. Great living room space. The bedroom was fine, but the bed was a bit soft for me and I woke with a backache each morning. Minor inconvenience. Bathroom is a bit tight for two, but tub and stand-up shower combo work.

The location is perfect. Away from the hustle and bustle of downtown but easy walking distance to everything. And we walked everywhere!!!! If we were to return, we would definitely stay here and I recommend you do as well.

Room Tip: The garden apartment was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were in Reykjavik with Christmas 2013!
It was great to be there with 2 families, both families with 4 people.
Xmas @ Reykjavik is beautiful and relaxed. Every where there is lit up decoration!
To make your stay comfortable and pleasant, we do advice Hansen apartments!
The apartments are spacious, well laid out and have all the utilities you need for a great place to stay. We stayed on the 1st and 2nd floor and the apartments are identical.
Spacious living and dining rooms, two double bedrooms with more than enough room in a huge closet and space for your suitcases. The kitchen is well equipped and well thought of on what is needed.
The location of the Hansen apartment is perfect! Just a 5-minute walk from the main shopping streets, many restaurants and pubs of Reykjavik. To go from the apartment to the other side of town, going by all kinds of great shops, ranging form Iceland style clothing, jewelry and other shops, is a 20-minute walk.
The apartment is also close to the main roads of Reykjavik: day trips can be made easily (by car)
Many of the great Iceland attractions are just 40-60 minutes drive (Pingvelliir, Blue lagoon, Glymur, Selfoss & international airport). Kev & Geysir are @ least 2 hours away. All really depends on the weather conditions and the effects on the roads.
Very shopping can be done close to the apartment at a local supermarket, just a few minutes away, at the beginning of the shopping street. It is our advise to go to the larger supermarkets by cars: Iceland is not a cheap place to do shopping and the bigger stores have everything and the price is a little better than the local store.
The apartment has free Wifi, a great satellite 40" TV, comfortable couch and easy sitting chairs.
The dining table can sit 8 people easily!
The shower is spacious and has a regular showerhead and a "big stands 2 people" shower head. The heating throughout the apartment is comfortable and well set up.
We plan to go back to Iceland in summer and for sure will stay @ Hansen Apartments again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We chose this apartment based on previous reviews and we were not disappointed. The owner was extremely helpful and accommodating, ensuring that we'd got our bearings and recommending good places to eat. The apartment was spacious, light, clean and well equipped. It was well placed in a quiet area but close to shops, bars and restaurants. We would certainly stay here again and highly recommend this accommodation. The flybus and excursion buses pick up/drop off at Eric the Red, just up the road. Perfect really.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We saw reviews and decided to book. We were not disappointed. The apartment was excellent, clean, spacious, and well equipped. The owner was fantastic and the location is perfect. You are 5 mins walk from the main shopping street. We will recommend it to everyone.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hansen Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hansen Apartments

Address: Eiriksgata 17, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hansen Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.