We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and basic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Reykjavik Hostel Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Reykjavik Hostel Village to your Saves list
Reykjavik Hostel Village
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Flokagata 1, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Hotel Floki Guesthouse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Clean and basic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This place is a hostel, not a hotel which should set your expectation. I travelled with my nephew andn mother and we all liked the place. I asked for a quiet room and got a big - and quiet - room with a huge doublebed and a bunkbed. The two bathrooms were on the corridor and shared with two other room - no problem if you know to expect this. There was also a little kitchen. Breakfast was basic but it did the trick, and the wireless internet fast. The only slight minus point was that the walls seem a bit thin so you do hear people coming in and going - obviously not an issue if you are a deep sleeper. This place works best for people who "just" want a clean place to rest and wash during your visit in Iceland close to the city centre.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    96
    54
    14
    17
See reviews for
30
53
54
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

If you are coming from North America you need to know that there are a wide range of offerings in the "Guesthouses" in Iceland. All have shared bathroom facilities, some are private homes and are what we would call B&B's. Loki is actually 3 houses just outside of central Reykjavik that have a single mass breakfast room. It definitely has a 'hostel' feel to the place, but is otherwise very good, although the main house felt quite a bit nicer than the second (we stayed two nights but didn't see inside the third building) . Rooms have their own sinks and decent beds. the place is clean but not high-end in the conversion from a house to guesthouse. As long as you're ready for the mid-low end of the guesthouse spectrum it is well located, has helpful staff who are fluent in English (as are almost all Icelanders), and a decent value given the price of Reykjavik accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heilbronn
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Floki Inn is located just a little bit outside of the city center of Reykjavik. Basically the hotel is a typical hostel which makes it a bit over-prized (we paid > 100€ per night). Hotel rooms are pretty small and do not have any unnecessary luxury (just two beds, chair, table and a fridge).

There is no private bath or WC available, these are shared with roughly 5 other rooms. Breakfast is OK. Expect no room service during your stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Floki bills itself as a hotel, guesthouse and 'hostel village' (which is a bit confusing). It's the latter title that is the most accurate. The 'hostel village' is comprised of 3 buildings in total. Ours was on a street parallel to the main building. Our room was very clean, though we were given twin beds rather than the double bed we had booked, which was a bit annoying. The kitchen and bathroom across the way were basic and clean. Breakfast was no frills, like the rest of the Floki experience, but perfectly suitable for our needs. The price of the accommodation was VERY reasonable, especially when you consider the price of everything in Reykjavik. The location was fine - within about 10-15 minutes walk of the city centre. All in all, 'Hotel' Floki is good value, budget accommodation for anyone planning on seeing the local sights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

When reading some of these horrible reviews I was almost ready to cancel my reservations. I'm glad that I didn't! The price was very, very reasonable. The location was, in my opinion, ideal. It required walking, but nothing crazy. My room was quite small. The only complaint I had was that the curtains didn't actually come together and the fact that it didn't get dark AT ALL at night (July 1-5) was hard. The room was clean enough, as was the bathroom and shower. I only had to wait once for a shower, and it was only a matter of a few minutes. I never had to wait for the bathroom. I felt very safe there, the staff was incredibly friendly, helpful and accommodating. The breakfast was OK. I am not a big meat eater - they had big platters of meat and cheese. They also had sliced cucumbers and tomatoes. There was cereal, granola, toast and pastries. There were a few juice choices as well as coffee and tea. It was a great way to start the day. I would definitely stay they again. The bigger named hotels, which honestly didn't look that nice from the outside were not only substantially more expensive, but also were not within walking distance of the city center. There were no TV's in the room, but the WiFi worked very well. With excursions and the fact that it never gets dark and you want to see things how much time do you really spend in a room anyway? I stayed in a single room, but had friends that had 2 additional rooms in a different building. Their rooms were bigger as each was for a couple. They were equally as happy with their rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

It's really a hostel. I was in the group room for a night for about $45. It was clean enough, but don't expect any perks and bring your own things like a blanket and a towel. Pillows were included. The breakfast was very nice, and all you could eat. Considering the price and how expensive Iceland is, it's a good deal.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I had a great two stays at Flokí. It's definitely a bit hostel-y, but the rooms that I stayed in were both comfortable, private, and clean, and the staff were very helpful.

Breakfast in the mornings is fairly basic, but they make pastries from scratch that tend toward deliciousness.

You get access to laundry facilities with the price of your room--this was invaluable after I came back from a five-day backpacking trip. During the trip, I was also able to store my extra bags in a small room at Flokí.

My only complaint is that it felt a bit overpriced, but that complaint applies to many of the amenities in Iceland during the summer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Reykjavik Hostel Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Hostel Village

Address: Flokagata 1, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Hotel Floki Guesthouse)
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Reykjavik Hostel Village 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reykjavik Hostel Village is a family owned hostel in Downtown Reykjavik. It consists of 5 former residential houses and therefore contains a lot of Icelandic cultural aspects. All of the houses have a big garden that is ideal for BBQs and outdoor recreation. Play Areas for kids are in two of the gardens and a green public park can be found in the next street. Reykjavik Hostel Village is ideal for single travelers and pairs, but perfect for families and groups as it offers Triple and Quadruple Rooms. Other accommodation option are Single, Double, Twin and Dormitory Rooms, and Apartment. Breakfast Buffet is served every morning. WIFI access is free as well as parking. Bathroom facilities are shared except for in the apartments, which features a private fully equipped kitchen and a large balcony. All rooms include tea/coffee facilities, a fridge and a working desk, and some do have balcony as well. The Tour Desk is at the Reception where guest can obtain tourist information, arrange car rental, tour excursions, airport shuttle, dining reservation, etc. The Reception is open 24 hours every day of the week. Reykjavik Hostel Village is situated only 100 meters (5 min walk) from Reykjavik's main shopping street (Laugarvegur) and 300 meters away from Hallgrismkirkja Church. Opposite of the road is Sundhollin, which offers an indoor swimming pool, steam baths and typical Icelandic outdoor hot tubs. Restaurants and Supermarkets can be found in the same street and close by. BSI main bus terminal is in a 15 min walking distance and the Domestic Airport only 5 min driving distance. The Airport Shuttles take you straight to Reykjavik Hostel Village from the International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Reykjavik Hostel Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floki Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reykjavik Hostel Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.