We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Floki - Reykjavik” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reykjavik Hostel Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Reykjavik Hostel Village to your Saves list
Reykjavik Hostel Village
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Flokagata 1, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Hotel Floki Guesthouse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Inverness
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Floki - Reykjavik”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

A very good hostel-style hotel, very reasonably priced. Walking distance from main street, the beautiful church, and the bay. I had a single room which had tea/coffee making facilities, hand basin and fridge, and the most deliciously comfortable bed; the shared bathroom was close by. Staff were very helpful and well-informed, and breakfast was excellent.

Overall Reykjavik and Iceland are very well-organised for tourism. Buses pick up and deliver from tours and the airport - it was such a relief (as a sole traveller) to know that someone would pick me up at 4am for my flight and that I wouldn't have to try to arrange it myself. Tour guides and others are experts on the culture, history and geology of Iceland, and justifiably proud of their country.
I had a wonderful 5 days, helped by my stay at Hotel Floki, and hope to go back

Room Tip: My room was in the Flokgata buliding, rather than the one on Storrabraut where reception is, and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    96
    54
    14
    17
See reviews for
30
53
54
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gooik, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel with a good location in the centre. We staid for one night. The room was big and clean. The bathroom was not clean. The host was friendly and the breakfast ok.
There were a lot of noisy gasts.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Hotel Floki has a great location, reasonable prices and a very helpful staff. It was a pleasant walk to downtown from our room. In addition, it was a great value to have a complimentary breakfast each morning. I would highly recommend the Hotel Floki to people who want to see Iceland but can't afford to spend a fortune.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Start with the staff: my son and I arrived early, as north americans do, groggy from the flight, and me without one of my bags (someone took it by mistake from the airport shuttle). the Floki staff were warm, friendly and extremely helpful at making calls to get bag returned, calling for a cab to get us to the pool and making us feel welcome in our first ever minutes in Reykjavik. this helpfullness never waned in the several days we spent at the hotel.
the rooms are clean, simple but comfortable. noise was never ever a problem and it really is easy walking distance to the center of the city.
breakfast is also simple but tasty, pretty much par for the course in Iceland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Basic and comfortable rooms, only a short walk from local amenities. The breakfast was a continental buffet which was simple but well-stocked and staff were very friendly and helpful. All in all, I'd definitely recommend as budget accommodation!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodø, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good and helpful service. basic, clean rooms. nice breakfast. though I would recommend more toilets. we came at the beginning of the season so there was some construction going on in the building and yard which wasn't so nice, but when they are finished there will be a pleasant patio. The big church and the shopping streets are about a 10 minute walk away. there is an american type diner near the hotel that was good priced and good food. it is close to the main road which is a bit of a minus with traffic noise.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Reykjavik Hostel Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Hostel Village

Address: Flokagata 1, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Hotel Floki Guesthouse)
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Reykjavik Hostel Village 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reykjavik Hostel Village is a family owned hostel in Downtown Reykjavik. It consists of 5 former residential houses and therefore contains a lot of Icelandic cultural aspects. All of the houses have a big garden that is ideal for BBQs and outdoor recreation. Play Areas for kids are in two of the gardens and a green public park can be found in the next street. Reykjavik Hostel Village is ideal for single travelers and pairs, but perfect for families and groups as it offers Triple and Quadruple Rooms. Other accommodation option are Single, Double, Twin and Dormitory Rooms, and Apartment. Breakfast Buffet is served every morning. WIFI access is free as well as parking. Bathroom facilities are shared except for in the apartments, which features a private fully equipped kitchen and a large balcony. All rooms include tea/coffee facilities, a fridge and a working desk, and some do have balcony as well. The Tour Desk is at the Reception where guest can obtain tourist information, arrange car rental, tour excursions, airport shuttle, dining reservation, etc. The Reception is open 24 hours every day of the week. Reykjavik Hostel Village is situated only 100 meters (5 min walk) from Reykjavik's main shopping street (Laugarvegur) and 300 meters away from Hallgrismkirkja Church. Opposite of the road is Sundhollin, which offers an indoor swimming pool, steam baths and typical Icelandic outdoor hot tubs. Restaurants and Supermarkets can be found in the same street and close by. BSI main bus terminal is in a 15 min walking distance and the Domestic Airport only 5 min driving distance. The Airport Shuttles take you straight to Reykjavik Hostel Village from the International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Reykjavik Hostel Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floki Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reykjavik Hostel Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.