We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for low budget travelers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Reykjavik Hostel Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Reykjavik Hostel Village to your Saves list
Reykjavik Hostel Village
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Flokagata 1, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Hotel Floki Guesthouse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for low budget travelers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I was traveling with 3 friends and stayed twice during the trip at the Floki Guesthouse. Both times, the receptionist had a hard time finding my reservation, but eventually did. The room was great for the price, and clean. The hotel is really near the city center and the bus terminal, so the location was perfect for us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    96
    54
    14
    17
See reviews for
30
53
54
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Floki Guesthouse for one night-- I was traveling through Europe with my partner, and our trip home gave us an overnight layover in Iceland-- so we decided to stay at the Hotel Floki! It was clean, the staff was very friendly, and there was even a cute breakfast in the morning behind the hotel. I felt safe and comfortable there. The rates were very reasonable and it was even within walking distance of downtown Reykjavik. I'd highly recommend visiting Iceland (which was gorgeous!) and staying at the Hotel Floki.

Room Tip: For folks not used to Iceland's long sunlight, bring a sleep mask. The shades in the rooms still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The staff was so friendly, the accommodations were so comfortable, walking distance of everywhere in Reykjavik. The price was perfect, and the room suited me very well. Had a great time during breakfast meeting people from all over the world, and got helpful tips of where to go from the desk staff. Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg, Västra Götaland, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed here for a long time and it is easily amongst the best guesthouses in the area in terms of comfort and cleanliness. It is situated in a perfect distance from the city centre and is run by very friendly and helpful people. The price rates were low but the experience was very positive.

Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont-Ferrand, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The hostel is situated five minute walk from the main Reykjavik area, has excellent breakfast, cozy rooms. Very international place you might meet people all around the globe. Easy starting point to visit many natural attractions in Iceland: the hostel itself organizes tours and provides up-to-date info about what’s going on in Iceland.. I recommend the place, I sojourned several times. Excellent rapport = quality/price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

4 of us were traveling as friends, and were put in the Hotel Floki by tour.is. I found Floki to be very comfortable, if lacking in almost any frills. Breakfast fine, beds were soft and cozy. The staff was helpful, though distant--they seemed to work odd hours and were often just running out (seemingly unattended) even if it was, say, noon. Not a bad spot to spend some nights, though we moved closer into the heart of the city on our return to Reykjavik (after a Ring Road tour).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We didn't reserve a room but just walked in and asked for a double room. We received a big, airy and clean room with 4 beds and shared bathroom. A washbasin was available in the room. We never had to wait for the bathroom and it was very clean and comfortable to use. The beds were very comfortable. Free internet was provided outside the room at one terminal. Although the room was at the busy street-site, we didn't had any disturbance from it.
Buffet breakfast was very good. All what you need. We took our time and eat a lot.
Girl at the reception was friendly and helpful (we had to go to the hospital).
Luggage storage was no problem.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Reykjavik Hostel Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Hostel Village

Address: Flokagata 1, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Hotel Floki Guesthouse)
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Reykjavik Hostel Village 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reykjavik Hostel Village is a family owned hostel in Downtown Reykjavik. It consists of 5 former residential houses and therefore contains a lot of Icelandic cultural aspects. All of the houses have a big garden that is ideal for BBQs and outdoor recreation. Play Areas for kids are in two of the gardens and a green public park can be found in the next street. Reykjavik Hostel Village is ideal for single travelers and pairs, but perfect for families and groups as it offers Triple and Quadruple Rooms. Other accommodation option are Single, Double, Twin and Dormitory Rooms, and Apartment. Breakfast Buffet is served every morning. WIFI access is free as well as parking. Bathroom facilities are shared except for in the apartments, which features a private fully equipped kitchen and a large balcony. All rooms include tea/coffee facilities, a fridge and a working desk, and some do have balcony as well. The Tour Desk is at the Reception where guest can obtain tourist information, arrange car rental, tour excursions, airport shuttle, dining reservation, etc. The Reception is open 24 hours every day of the week. Reykjavik Hostel Village is situated only 100 meters (5 min walk) from Reykjavik's main shopping street (Laugarvegur) and 300 meters away from Hallgrismkirkja Church. Opposite of the road is Sundhollin, which offers an indoor swimming pool, steam baths and typical Icelandic outdoor hot tubs. Restaurants and Supermarkets can be found in the same street and close by. BSI main bus terminal is in a 15 min walking distance and the Domestic Airport only 5 min driving distance. The Airport Shuttles take you straight to Reykjavik Hostel Village from the International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Reykjavik Hostel Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floki Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reykjavik Hostel Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.