We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good all rounder.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bjork

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bjork to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Bjork
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brautarholt 22 - 24, Reykjavik 105, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 47 hotels in Reykjavik
Stoke on Trent
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Pretty good all rounder.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Walkable distance from the city centre. Clean modern rooms. Good service. Food is ok. Could do with bigger tv in the room (portable in the 21st century?), more teas/coffees if you fancy more than 2 drinks. But overall I'd be happy to stay here again for the price.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    288
    66
    7
    4
See reviews for
58
232
50
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel Bjork is located a 10 minutes walk from the main shopping street of Reykavijk. The buildings surrounding it are either empty awaiting some kind of refurbishment or hosting small companies. The area is not the fancy part of Reykavijk, Check in was no problem but the girl in the reception was far from polite or nice. We felt more like a pain to her when checkin in than new guests making her have a salary. Came to our room on third floor, a room with 3 meds and a small toilet with shower. A smell of old wet "something" was the first thing we felt when we opened the door. Somehow, having seen the standard of the room did we decide not to complain and stay with this room for the 4 nights we had ahead of us. The beds are okay but not very special, the water pressure in the shower is very low, the toilet is kind of small (and I am not so big), towels very thin but the place is clean and breakfast okay but far from fantastic. If you have a room with street view will you also see the mountains and parts of the bay. If you do not fancy a high class hotel but can accept a room with a little bit better standard than a hostel then this hotel is he place for you. But there is is one "aber", the price! Price is to high for such standard.
The girl in the reception.. She did not even look at people passing her on their way to breakfast. Not a word, not a smile. She was just sitting there surfing the internet. Not a very nice host.

Room Tip: A room on the corner brings nicer view than the other ones but room 325 has a smell included in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Don't be fooled by the exterior or neighborhood, Hotel Bjork is a lovely hotel with a terrific breakfast. Nice rooms, helpful staff, good wi-fi. Restaurant attached is outstanding. One of the best bargains in a pricey city.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Friendly hotel with great breakfast. Complimentary drink on arrival was a nice touch. Clean room with all the essentials. Able to walk into the city centre in 15 minutes, the Phallus museum is en route and not to be missed. Very helpful reception staff! Gave useful advice & reassurance with car hire in snow and generally made us feel very welcome so thankyou. Also plenty of parking nearby.

Notes about exploring in a long weekend:
Download the free tripso app so you can plan walks & use as a free map when driving (very detailed even for all the minor roads). Also free walking map at the hotel. We like walking and most of the city centre attractions can be done in half a day. Though tripso attraction details sometimes inaccurate so for example check hot pool opening times direct via the websites. Definitely visit at least one of the local hot pools, very cheap, clean & great after long days. Note there are also natural hot pools out of the city too so do your research.
We then decided to hire a car as trips very expensive- drove 1000k on a full tank of diesel in 3 days. Even though it was snowing it was fine; we went for a mid range car which was a Kia ceed with heated steering wheel (fab for frozen fingers! Now want one in my next car!) but plenty of people were in small cars as you are fine if you go slow. We spent the next 3 days driving the golden circle, Vik and then the peninsula round by the airport via the Blue Spa lagoon as bus links not good from the spa to airport.
We basically drove at 30mph the whole way around the golden circle (full day) due to snow. They had just started charging for the geysers but only 600kr.
The next day we drove south with plenty of stops en route to Vik. The 2 main water falls were spectacular- take waterproofs so you can walk under skogafoss. The black volcanic sand beach was a great contrast to the blowing blizzards but there is not much else in Vik.
The final day we went the scenic route to Reykajanes, a must to see the light house & eerie hot springs with thick steam. The scenic route is number 42 out of the city with spectacular views around the lake, though some hairy driving due to a slightly off road track but it was still suitable for a car if taken slowly. The blue lagoon spa was amazing, just go! It was then a 20 minute drive to the airport. There is a petrol station on the right in a sort of shopping complex before you get to the airport. The car rental drop off point is quite difficult to locate in the airport! You drive towards the employee parking & drop off point and ignore the 'no entry' signs as that's where you need to be! Each company has a small board beside a few parking spaces, so again you can't see this when driving about the general airport vicinity- do not go near the car rental offices as they are at the wrong end. You then drop the keys inside the companies drop box in the airport.
Did not see the northern lights as too lazy to go out in the middle of the night but there was so much else to see!
Eating:
Food & drinks are expensive everywhere due to importation costs. Take packed lunches & fill up empty water bottles so you can eat on the go. We ate at tapas barinn and the amazing Kex hostel. The tapas menu was expensive yet tasty but felt like it was a conveyor belt- you need to pre book otherwise only get a table for an hour. Go to Kex Hostel for a drink & food. Great food & quirky bar & live music. It is a kind of hidden treasure - the name is printed on a door near the petrol station & it does not look like a pub/hostel from the exterior.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Bjōrk for seven nights in May, 2014. It is in a great location ... a five to 10 minute walk from the main shopping area on Laugavegur and many good restaurants. Keeping in mind that Iceland is quite pricey when it comes to eating out, Noatun grocery store being on the next block was VERY convenient and a big money saver (Bonus grocery store is not very far either but is more of a walk and has more restrictive business hours).

The hotel was clean and quiet, the breakfast, though simple, was good, and the staff was helpful. The room was a nice size (especially by European standards) and had good clothes-hanging and suitcase space. The free Wi-Fi made a HUGE difference!!!!!! It was great being able to backup all our photos right away and post what a great time we were having in Iceland (and the nice oceanview from our hotel room).

A very nice hotel for one of the best prices we found in all of our hotel research. We were very happy at Hotel Björk.

Room Tip: Ask for a 3rd or 4th floor, north-facing room for a view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here in May 2014 and had a nice stay. The hotel is about 10-15 minutes walk from the city centre. There was a large supermarket 3 min away.
We rented a car and could park the car for free just outside the hotel.
The breakfast was good and the staff friendly. They offer free WiFi (good connection in our room).
The building is a bit old and gray but overall we where happy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Bjork. The room was clean and quiet, the hotel is on a side street in a very quiet area. The adjoining restaurant serves a typical European breakfast for the hotel guests. We also ate dinner there one night and had a good meal. The hotel lobby is small, however it has enough room if you are waiting for a taxi or tour bus. It is not far from the busy shopping street, an easy walk despite the ongoing building and road work going on all around. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We needed an ice pack refrozen and they were happy to put it in the freezer for us.

Room Tip: Some rooms look out on a courtyard/alley, but it was not noisy when we were there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Bjork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bjork

Address: Brautarholt 22 - 24, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bjork 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Bjork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bjork Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bjork, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.