We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good mid-priced hotel to explore Reykjavik from.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bjork

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bjork to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Bjork
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brautarholt 22 - 24, Reykjavik 105, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 47 hotels in Reykjavik
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good mid-priced hotel to explore Reykjavik from.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel is slightly further away from the centre of Reykjavik than some, but is still only a five minute walk to Hlemmur bus station and ten minutes from the end of the main shopping/eating street.

The rooms are somewhat basic in decoration and aren't massive, but the beds are comfy and everything is spotlessly clean. The blackout blinds and drapes are a definite bonus in summer! We could *just* about see the bay from our window, but some guests were probably left staring at the buildings across the street. The television wasn't a flat screen, but did have E4, BBC One and Sky News on it. Though I have to say, if the TV is a big selling point to you when picking a hotel in Iceland, you're doing travel wrong. The WiFi is free and works! Which is more than I can say for some hotels who've used it as selling point in the past.

Breakfast is provided in the attached restaurant and is a fairly standard European buffet. The reception staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful.

Overall, this is a good place to stay if you aren't looking for luxury and don't mind walking or using the buses to get around. By Icelandic standards it offers good value for money and works as an excellent base to explore the city from.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    271
    66
    6
    3
See reviews for
59
232
50
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Pros: Very clean, helpful & knowledgeable front desk, decent breakfast included in the price, cheaper than other hotels in Reykjavik, good value for a basic 3 star hotel.

Cons: 20 minute walk into town center, in a boring area, no mini bar in room: you have to ask at the front desk for drinks (which is open 24 hrs).

Other: One reviewer slated the breakfast. When I stayed here it was pretty good: fresh boiled eggs, meats, fish, cheeses, fruit, juices & coffee. Included in the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The hotel is 25-30 minutes walk from the center of Reykjavík, being just a little bit beyond the distance that is comfortable to take for consecutive days, there and back. However, it offers a cost efficient solution for staying in an otherwise expensive city, and complimentary breakfast also saves a couple of bucks for the traveller. Wifi is free to use, breakfast is of acceptable quality. The rooms are basic but clean, and offer daily service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaysville, Utah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The hotel has small rooms but they are clean and comfortable.

There is a grocery store down a block which came in handy as restaurants are pricey and we didn't want to eat out.

The front desk staff was stellar and willing to help with whatever you needed!!

The wireless works great, I am using it to write this review. There is one computer in the lobby for guest use.

The breakfast buffet didn't have a huge selection but what was available was excellent.

I thought the location was fine but we never walked to downtown either.

I would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I recently read a poor review of this hotel . They must have been having a really bad day. It is extremely clean, good value, warm , comfy beds and roomy rooms. We had a three bedded room and it was great . My son is a strapping 21 year old and we had plenty of room. It is however a walk from the centre. If weather is fine it is no problem. Will take you about 25 mins to main downtown area but it was cold when we were there so we took a taxi. Cost about 2000 to 2500 krona . About £12 to £15 each way but still cheaper than paying a premium to stay at a more central hotel . tipping not necessary anywhere. They don't expect it as it is all built into their prices. Golden circle tour is a must as is the blue lagoon, good shoes needed for circle tour. Swimsuit needed for blue lagoon. You can take towel or hire one. Ladies recommend you put some hair conditioner on before you go in as if you get your hair wet it will turn it wiry. You each get a wrist band which operates your locker and you can charge any extras up on it and pay as you leave xx hope this helps anybody who is panning on going there's hope you have a fab time as we did. Check out the top restaurants on the trip advisor list as we ate in two of them , the svargrilled and Argentina , both amazing but quite expensive but only what you would expect to pay for a capital city xx enjoy Ps breakfast is continental but you can eat your fill xx

Room Tip: Ask for view if mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Clean big room for two. Breakfast not so good, notning warm such as sausages etc. Lovely beds. Good shower and enough warm water. Restaurant expensive. Bad pizza there. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: 203 nice view, not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed at Björk hotel for 2 nights in the end of November last year. We were a group of 27 people and the stay was our yearly x-mas treat. We were out every night but every time managed to get safely back. I got a single room with possibility to make a tea or a coffee on my own. A bit mountain view and a lot of silence as the room faced the backyard.

The breakfasts were served in a nice dining room, serving as a restaurant in the evening. The hotel is located in a residential area, some blocks away from the main shopping street. This gave an opportunity to see some of housing architecture of the city, which is very interesting, with large streets, cubical spacious houses and a beautiful church located just behind the hotel, on a hill.

I enjoyed the experience and I rather recommend the place, if you want to see some more residential part of the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Bjork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bjork

Address: Brautarholt 22 - 24, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bjork 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hotel Bjork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bjork Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bjork, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.