We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bjork

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bjork to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Bjork
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brautarholt 22 - 24, Reykjavik 105, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 48 hotels in Reykjavik
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night on my way to Sweden. My flight got in at 0530, meaning that I got to the hotel, I think around 0700. I was able to check into my room, eat breakfast and get some information about how to walk to the city center. It is about a 15 minute walk (at a sight seers pace) to the center. The hotel is also pretty close to a heated pool. The hotel staff was very helpful in arranging a airport transportation. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    271
    68
    6
    3
See reviews for
60
233
50
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

stayed for 4 nights in early April 2013
i can't fault it , clean , tidy and well run all the staff were very helpful and very friendly
tours and trips can be sorted upon request with pick up and drop of at hotel via the two main tour companies ...location was great only 10 mins either way to downtown,harbour district and other sights ...good hotel in good location with good staff ....nuff said

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the mountains n harbour otherwise you'll be staring at industrial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in April. We picked this hotel as it was getting a lot of good reviews. The hotel was lovely :) 5/10 min walk to the centre. Free parking at the front for the car. We stayed in a 3 bed room with ensuite. Our shower overflowed on the second night but they were quick to deal with it. Rooms cleaned every day and had tv/ hair dryer. Lovely breakfast which was cereals, fresh bread and ham/cheese/fish and boiled eggs.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I booked this place at the last minute when my plans changed due to a freak blizzard. I was offered a special deal, 50 Euros a night for my 3 night stay. That price included free parking just outside the front door, and breakfast every morning. I've paid a lot for parking at some hotels, and in Reykjavik food is quite expensive, so this was an unbeatable deal. I crossed my fingers that it wouldn't be too good to be true.

I got a non-smoking room with a single bed (with a lovely, warm comforter). The room was right next to the elevator, often a noisy location in hotels, but it really wasn't: Hardly anyone uses the elevator in a 3 story building. There were some noisy teenagers next door, but they didn't stay up late so I didn't mind.

Why don't hotels in the US offer single rooms? All I needed was a bed, a toilet and a shower, and that's exactly what I got. I knew from previous trips that European rooms can be pretty small, and this one was too, but all I did was shower and sleep there, this wasn't a romantic getaway.

The location was great. It's about 4 blocks from the most desirable shopping street in Reykjavik, easily walkable. The main bus station is only 2 blocks away. There's even a choice of swimming pools within walking distance, one small, the other large, both inexpensive and open almost all the time.

The staff was very helpful, giving directions and advice about many things. My room was very clean and bright, everything worked perfectly. I'd stay at this hotel again for its price and location.

Room Tip: If you're lucky enough to get a room on the harbor side you'll have an awesome view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is my second visit to this hotel and the best thing to say is that it was as good as last time.
It's a base where you can return to knowing that your room will be clean and warm,the shower will give unlimited hot water and that you can get a tea or coffee.
In the morning breakfast is self service,with a small but fresh choice but the fact that it is included is a real bonus.
Free wi-fi in the room worked well- but make sure reception gives you the password as it states on the information card in room that you do not need a password- but you do.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. It gives a great first impression when you look out from the hotel window
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here recently during a trip to Iceland. The hotel while not in the centre of the city of Reykjavik, is within walking distance of the downtown area. the area itself is a bit run down and the hotel occupies a number of floors in a semi industrial building. The rooms are comfortable. however the single rooms are quite small and the views from the front are spectacular overlooking the bay and the mountains.

The reception area is functional with a very small communal area with just enough room for seating and a TV. However there is a very good restaurant attached to the hotel in which breakfast is served. I would highly recommend it for an evening meal.

Overall the hotel is basic but functional and within 15-20mins walking (uphill on the way back) distance to the city centre and the staff are helpful

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellent hotel, we were able to walk into town very easily. There are several restaurants and bars nearby. It also looked like buses stopped nearby.

The room was comfortable and big enough for 3 people and cost £60.

Breakfast was included in the price and was your normal Nordic type of food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bjork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bjork

Address: Brautarholt 22 - 24, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bjork 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bjork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bjork Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bjork, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.