We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in Iceland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bjork

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bjork to your Saves list
Hotel Bjork
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brautarholt 22 - 24, Reykjavik 105, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Reykjavik
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in Iceland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Rooms are good size, clean and quiet, (although the view isn't great over a car park). A small price to pay however for everything else that this hotel offers. The location to downtown is very good being able to walk within 10 mins. The best thing about this hotel is the service from all the guys at the front desk, (Cristen , Iyer and another very helpful man- sorry didn't get his name). They have a lot of patience and will book taxis, advise about tours and communicate with the tour company. We only realised that you can get an airport express bus to the hotel from the airport for 2,200 ISK - approx £11.00 vs 14,000 ISK for a taxi approx £70.00. Look for it when you get to arrivals and the hotel will book it for your return. If you have a later flight, you might consider booking a Blue Lagoon excusion as they can drop you off at the airport as it is only 20 mintues away. This is a great way to spend a few hours before flying home.
The breakfast at the hotel is very good with meat, cheese, eggs, different types of bread, juices etc. We didn;t eat in the restaurant there preferring the amazing Prira Frakkar where we ate 2 nights out of 3.
If and when I return to lovely Iceland I would be very happy to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    303
    73
    7
    3
See reviews for
65
260
56
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chard, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We booked this hotel as being a comfortable start to our Iceland trip. The airport shuttle drops you off there as well. The rooms were very comfortable of a high quality. Breakfast was excellent and the attached restaurant (where one eats breakfast) served a very good meal. What lifted the experience was the effort the receptionist made to secure us a room elsewhere in Reykjavik the following night - he really went the extra mile! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a great little hotel just outside the centre of Reykjavik, a short walk into the centre maybe 10 mins to the heart. Very quiet and the service was second to none. The 2 men on the front desk were so helpful, booking tours, checking everything was okay, calling people to check things for us. Everything was very comfortable, the room very clean, breakfast was very nice, the one downside if I had to say one was that the rooms are so hot, the Icelandic's love heating but it's nothing that an open window doesn't solve. Overall I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely come back for another stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed only one night but enjoyed the hotel. Large, clean room and wonderful breakfast. Staff was friendly and helpful. Wonderful walk to dinner which allowed us to see some of Reykjavik. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights at this hotel. Our room was clean & the beds were comfortable & warm. Breakfast is ok but nothing special. The walls of the room are very thin & we could hear the person in the next door room coughing & snoring.The hotel is about a 10/15 minute walk to the centre of Reykjavik, if I were going again I would stay nearer to the centre. We had a wonderful trip to the Blue Lagoon & did the Golden Circle tour all orgainised through Reykjavik Excursions. We went to the top of Hallgrimskirkja (Church) for wonderful views of Reykjavik, which cost 600Kr each. Sadly we did not see the Northern Lights due to the weather but we still really enjoyed our Iceland experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at hotel Bjork for four nights in late August and felt that the hotel was cozy and exactly what we expected.

Johan at the front desk was amazing, he helped us book tours and had a wonderful sense of humor. We ate at the restaurant on site thee times! It was really good, and reasonable for Icelandic prices. The breakfast buffet was also great.

The hotel is about a 10 minute walk into the real heart of Reykjavik but it's nice walk that lets you see the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the city and not the parking lot/restaurant like we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on the 20th feb, here until the 24th. Lovely twin bedded room next to a noisy road but we're so tired at night after being out all day that we don't care. Not the largest of rooms but it has all you need. The beds are supremely comfortable. Very clean hotel and staff all very friendly. Excellent English spoken throughout.
Eaten twice in the hotel restaurant and food is lovely and plentiful,
Don't be put off by appearance of outside of hotel, as inside its immaculate.
No bar on the premises but you can buy all you need in the restaurant .
Recommend hiring a car and no need to book trips before you come as easy to do here. Great driving over here, although top speed 90k per hour. I've been caught out twice!!'
Weather has been wet and cloudy so no chance of Northern lights this visit but we'll be back!!!
Done the Golden circle trip today, and the South shore trip yesterday . Whale watching tomorrow. Hiring a car has meant we can stop where we want when we want as we're keen photographers and love the scenery.
Iceland is absolutely beautiful and unspoilt by macdonalds, Costas , and all the usual big stores you see in Europe. It really is worth a visit and this Hotel is as good a place as any to base yourself in. :))
From Gayle and Rayner

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bjork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bjork

Address: Brautarholt 22 - 24, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bjork 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bjork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bjork Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bjork, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.