We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the job....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ugly Duckling Guesthouse

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Reykjavik
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ugly Duckling Guesthouse
Save
You added The Ugly Duckling Guesthouse to your Saves list
Laekjargata 6B, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 102 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Does the job....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2005

Reykjavik is expensive but a very special place. The northern lights is one of my highlight. We stayed at this place few years ago. Loved... A real does the job place. Recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2003
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2005

This inn has a great location! The price was reasonable and the room was clean. It's a no-frills guesthouse: shard baths, sparse rooms, no breakfast included. There are no phones in the rooms, but the owners gladly took messages for us. The proprietors are incredibly friendly and helpful and the atmosphere is pleasant. We didn't try the all-you-can-eat buffet at the restaurant, but it did seem like a nice place to eat.

Overall this guesthouse was a great bargain considering the location.

NB: they accept cash only.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2005

We stayed there in May & it was brilliant. The location couldn't have been better, it's slam in the centre. The room was a great size, clean, the bed was comfy.

The man who owns it is the friendliest chap. He was so helpful! We were knackered and asked if were we could book any trips. He kindly offered to do it for us. We picked, he booked it & pickup whilst we were resting.

The breakfast isn't the most fancy but it's good & plenty of it.

& for that price & all that - WOW.

We would certainly stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2005

This is not the most luxurious place, but considering the location (excellent!) and the lovely hosts, it's more than worth the money that you pay.

My friend and I stayed in a double with a shared bathroom (we had a sink in the room). The room was comfortable and clean, but required a bit of shifting around to use the armoire. No breakfast was included, but again, for $7500 ISK a night, we certainly got what we paid for.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2004

i was a guest there for eleven nights in may of 2003. reykjavik is expensive but the andarunginn is not. it is smack dab in the heart of town, it is clean and quiet. everything is within walking distance. fyi!_sandholt bakery is not to be missed. the husband and wife team that owns and runs the andarunginn and the restaurant there were so warm and welcoming that i felt like i stayed with family from the get go. i will go back and visit them again now that iceland air will start flying out of san francisco in 2005.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2004

The Ugly Duckling is set above a bar/restaurant also owned by the same couple. The rooms were very nice and perfect for the bargain hunting traveler. I stayed in a comfortable one bed room and enjoyed the comfort and privacy. The food at the restaurant below was very good also.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2004

The Ugly Duckling Guesthouse was one of the few bargains we found in Iceland. The rooms were above average size for European hotels/b&b's
Five rooms share two washrooms but the rooms have washbasins in them. The rooms were clean and surprisingly quiet. The landlord was very friendly and accommodating. The best thing about this guesthouse though was its location. For anyone doing the Reykjavik Marathon the start line was just outside the front door--saves having to use the portapotties! This was right in the heart of downtown so you could walk everywhere and definitely saved bus and taxi fare. If you are visiting Reykjavik do so around the 21 of August for their Cultural Day--activities everywhere all day long. The best value we found for food was at the Ugly Duckling's resaurant where an all you can eat fish buffet was 1990 ISK.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ugly Duckling Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ugly Duckling Guesthouse

Address: Laekjargata 6B, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the center of Reykjavík, in the heart of the old town, our guesthouse offers a unique location to explore this vibrant city. The most important sites, such as the Reykjavík Lake, the main square, the Cathedral, the Parliament, the National Gallery are within a distance of only 20 to 50 meters. This is an area with interesting restaurants, cafés, shops and galleries so you will definitely save yourself the price of a few buses or taxis by staying here. We take great pride in our friendly and personal service. The house is old and has a lot of character, but has been thoroughly renovated in the last years. Downstairs we also have a cosy restaurant where you can have breakfast, meals or just a cup of coffee. In summers, from May to October, we have our famous fish-buffet with a great assortment of delicacies from the clean waters around Iceland. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ugly Duckling Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.